December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only Takes One

by gmfk07 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An army of robots is invading the park, and you must stop them with only an empty wallet and a single piece of ammo.

Even if you do manage to get enough money to buy more ammo, your weapon still holds only one piece of ammunition at a time - and the robots won't leave until you destroy their mothership.

But if you'll ever want to succeed, you'll need upgrades - and lots of them. Should you save up money to be safe if you miss, or upgrade to not miss? Saving up money is hard - robots only drop 11 coins at the start, and ammo is worth 10 coins!

And remember - if at any point you have no more ammo left and can't afford more, you might as well just give up!

Instructions: (Didn't have time to make a tutorial)
>>W/A/S/D to move
>>Left mouse to shoot (If you have ammo)
>>Left mouse over buttons to upgrade (You must already have ammo in order to upgrade, just to prevent spending so much you automatically lose)
>>Left mouse over ammo button to buy one piece of ammo (And you can only carry one at a time)
>>Hmm... what is behind the locked option?

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#254Theme3.32
#423Humor2.40
#497Audio2.52
#660Innovation2.65
#728Fun2.52
#762Overall2.68
#881Mood2.10
#903Graphics2.04

Comments

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:48am

Nice concept, though I was expecting the robots to explode when shot...
Music control would be nice...

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:21pm

It was nice, though it took quite a time to understand what was going on.

Nik Sudan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Really confused with this - how do I actually progress?. Seems like a fun little arena shooter though!

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Yeah, a tutorial would've made this easier... at any rate, to progress, you need to shoot robots, then use the money you gained to buy more ammo, and repeat until you can buy upgrades. It gets easier after a few upgrades, but at the start missing a shot usually means a game over.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Haha, it is a bit confusing at the beginning, but I understood the concept pretty easily. It's complicated thought, really complicated. I liked it!

barkergames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:23am

The music got annoying really fast.
It would have been nice to have a hot-key to buy ammo, it was difficult to shoot, then move your mouse to the bottom right of the screen, then aim again and shoot.

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:01am

As per the music getting annoying: Yes I know, I didn't have time to make a mute button, sorry. I tried to make a way to get ammo simpler, but players could game the system (keep shooting at a stunned robot continually while buying ammo and he couldn't move). But thanks for your input ;)

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:27am

Pretty cool game. I enjoyed the retro style music.

magicdweedoo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:44am

god damn this game rules. best song of LD28

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:33am

I officially have the most mixed reviews ever.

michail says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:49pm

The idea is good, but moving the mouse to the corner after each shot to buy 1 piece of ammo was a little annoying. This action really needs a hotkey.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]