December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Top Heavy

by 302_Dave - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Top Heavy is a rhythm action game where you only get one button featuring our titular hero, the mobster with a top for legs!

Top Heavy receives a message from his boss that a group of lousy mugs has stolen four of his briefcases full of money. He needs to go get the briefcases back and, teach a lesson to dose lousy mugs what crossed him.

During the game, Top Heavy is constantly spinning, but the player can control him by tapping different rhythms with the enter key. One tap during a beat makes him move in the direction he faces during that beat. Two taps changes the direction he is spinning, and 3 taps makes him punch in the direction he is facing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#24Innovation4.04
#79Audio3.52
#140Humor3.26
#364Theme3.13
#366Overall3.17
#368Mood2.94
#478Fun2.88
#598Graphics2.74
#998Coolness48%

Comments

ossah says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:25am

Really cool concept! Like the use of the theme.
The sound is really cool! Rich sound and great quality.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:51am

Wow, much more difficult (in a chess sort of way) than it first appears. Great use of the theme and music to create a new type of gameplay!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:52am

This idea is pretty unique. It's always good to see people trying alternative control schemes. I liked it!

jayemjee says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:40am

I liked the music. Not sure about the voices.

loggs2 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:43am

I like that you tried a new way to control the character, though attacking was hard and I often ran away on accident. :)

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:48am

Wow, very creative game! Moving him around was a bit slow, but I enjoyed figuring out the puzzle of combat. Very cool vibe and humor.

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:16am

Really cool idea. A bit difficult, but definitely something worth exploring.

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:38am

I don't know why, but this game reminds me a little of Paragon (an old game) with its quirky mechanics and unique style. Good job.

nikev says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Its a fun and innovative game. Different than anything I've played before.

acp_ld says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Great sound and music, functional graphics and really original idea.

danbo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:55am

Nice concept. It might just be my sense of timing, but I think the detection for 1 tap - 2 tap - 3 taps is a little off.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Didn't run under linux for me, seemed to complain that LWJGL was not linked correctly.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:09pm

The error: http://pastie.org/8569567

302_Dave says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:35pm

@Binary Gambit,

Thanks for reporting the error. I think the problem is that you are running the jar directly, when I had intended for you to run it using the shell script included in the folder. I should have made that more clear. If it still doesn't work for you, please let me know.

302_Dave says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:56pm

I have rearranged the files and added a README to the Linux version to try make it a little bit more intuitive. Now, just run the "TopHeavy" file to play the game. On Windows, it is still Game.jar.

caranha says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:25pm

(Ran on Linux without problem)

Wow, Ludum Dare needs more Rhythm games! Nice idea. I also laughed at "Top Heavy" :-)

I love Rhythm games, and this one was quite fun! Triple pressing for punch was a bit hard, though.

Cheers, and congratulations on a fun first Ludum Dare game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]