December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

BlocknBalls

by Zenkerdus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Green balls are evil.
Move with arrow keys!
Red balls are stamina potions, so drink!
When stamina gets to zero, you die, or disappear, whatever you prefer. Oh, and do not touch these green balls and blocks cuz that's bad, you know.

Check points? Forget it. Beat the one and only screen in one playthrough! There is only one. You can do it!
Made in Flash. Used sfxr for creating sounds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#564Fun2.77
#725Humor1.72
#737Audio1.68
#778Innovation2.45
#779Overall2.65
#828Mood2.24
#909Theme2.00
#968Graphics1.70

Comments

the says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Fun minimalistic thing, unfortunately, without checkpoints it is too long to complete it.

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Super super hard, and I agree, checkpoints would be a great addition. It is a great idea, and fun.

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:12pm

It's interesting, similar to one of those endlessly looping gif things... at any rate however, it is much too long and difficult to complete in one playthrough. Still, it is an enjoyable experience.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Agree with the posters so far, fun and simple game, but maddening without checkpoints. Good job regardless!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Checkpoints! But fun!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Super super hard. I struggled a bit to want to get further. Maybe drip feeding some content, music, art or something as an incentive?

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:15pm

This was actually strangely compelling and I really felt the need to beat those evil greens! but.... it was way too hard for me ;) I felt my stamina ebbing but got really excited when I made it to the first checkpoint - this might not be so tough I though, but WHAM not a checkpoint, back to the start I goes :/ Liked the puzzle aspect very much though ;)

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:18pm

A fun game, though I agree with others, it's very difficult. Nice work!

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:08pm

this game is sooo hard! It is a good challenge. The graphics are not very good but it does not matter

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:09pm

good chalenging game with simple but deadly level design.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:09pm

I'll echo the sentiment that its unreasonably hard without checkpoints. Beyond that, its kind of bland. Technically sound though.

voidqk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:15am

frustrating! i nearly got to the end and died!!!

kbake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:51am

Pretty intense, let's just say I didn't get very far! The loop could've been a little tighter: it was a bit jarring to see the obstacles jump around like they did. Add some crazy music and this will be even more intense!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:37pm

This is tougher than playing Jet Set Willy on the ZX! :D Very addictive though, I like a challenge.

drnick says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Nice, but incredibly hard. Hardest I have seen on LD.

nyytroh says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:13am

It's hard but it's not unfair

csanyk says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:57am

Yeahhhh that is way too hard for me!

Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:05pm

This reminded me of one of those "world hardest puzzles" Well done! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) youtu.be/O9M3TIYW4UU

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]