December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pyramid Quest

by lapayo - Jam Entry

In Pyramid Quest you play as an adventurer who delves deep into the corridors of ancient pyramids. His quest is to amass as much tresures as he can, while not running out of power. He only gets one chance to exit the pyramid alive.

If you fail, the game will end and you will have to start over, since you only have one life.

(Web version currently not working due to some weird bugs. :( )

Controls:
Move: WASD / Arrow Keys
Interact: E / ENTER / X / ALT LEFT

Awesome Soundtrack by Nekron: https://soundcloud.com/NekronOfficial

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#311Fun(Jam)2.74
#323Audio(Jam)2.67
#380Mood(Jam)2.59
#430Overall(Jam)2.68
#496Graphics(Jam)2.16
#501Innovation(Jam)2.11
#519Theme(Jam)1.88
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:21am

This was a fun game with some interesting level design, however I don't really see how it fits this Ludum Dare's theme.

lapayo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:33pm

@Lolshouse That is quite funny, since the you only have one life mechanic is close to the one you have in your game (which is fun to play btw.) just that we do not have a checkpoint :)

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Interesting game, I love puzzle-doors mechanics and top view. With good graphics, the game would be amazing, good job!

Jerre says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:52pm

I got stuck in a place after going through two holes where there were no keys, and only locked doors. Music is nice tho

pusheax says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Like your hand drawn style, music has this nice egyptian vibe. Criticism: too much space for such puzzles, you could reduce this game into 8x8 grid and set maximum amount of turns to finish.

Nelien says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Not bad! Great level design, and great to see an online high-score :). The camera felt like it fell behind a bit at times and, well, the art could've been better, but hey, nice work!

Thalikoth says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:55pm

The music is gorgeous!

pele says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:21am

Interesting. Music is cool, graphics not so much. Oh, I think you could try to generate the maze procedurally! By the way, if it's your first game congratulations! Keep up the good work! :)

Nichii says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Good game, but it doesn't make a fun game. I was not motivated to do anything in the game... It's just collect gold and get score, like in the traditional Atari games...

Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:15am

Great job with the camera! I can't place what makes it different than usual but for some reason it was just more pleasant than most.

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:29am

I don't see how it fits the theme. Camera is really weird -- if it was intended (for player's confusion) it works but don't do this ever again :D.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]