December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

adventure crab mountain method

by tak - Jam Entry

adventure crab mountain method is an experimental food chain game

you're a crab, and there are more than a few things that aren't crabs. check that out!

THE MAC VERSION is now playable :P sorry about that

just a few tips on what you can do:
- you pick up certain items by walking on them.
- you can check what items you have by cycling thru them with the up-arrow key
- you can drop whatever item you have selected with the down arrow key
- certain animals react to other animals
- certain animals react to certain items
- it's possible to kill all animals

-

game by tak
music & sfx by mc hepher

-

dedicated to funbyjohn's ghost

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1516Coolness26%

Comments

angelk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:14am

I can't stress enough how awesome this art style is. Very nice job on the art. I unfortunately couldn't figure out the game play, but I'll give it another shot if you can post some more detailed info on how to play it?

tak says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:30am

i added a few tips to the description!

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:31am

I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE THIS GAME. It's weird at first and then once it clicks... oh man... you're on this mad exploration dash to figure out all the little secrets.

It looks. So. Fucking. Good.
And it sounds great, too. More than great, actually.

I'm not totally sold on the theme connection so maybe you need to explain it better to me or something... but that's my only gripe. I managed to map the controls to X-Padder and had a blast running around snipping things and poisoning all kinds of crazy creatures.

AWESOME GAME!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:22am

Good entry! I like the visuals but I can't understand what I need to do actually. I only kill few snails and one big creature.

Ditto says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:31pm

I have no idea what I am doing, but I am loving every second of it, will come back to this. A lot. <3

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Oh my god I killed a snail.
Oh my god oh my god oh my god.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:45am

great game people.. i watched at the clock and i played it now for about an hour^^ great design and execution!

FrederickK says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:34am

Didn't get what it is the relation with the theme but... this is so beautiful and relaxing... definitely deserve much more comments!
Good job!

PS: Just a random note, at the screenshots, the crab looks like an angry face. o.0

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:01am

Art style, mind=blown. That, combined with the audio gives it an amazing atmosphere. I had no idea what to do though apart from tun around and attack/pick up random things, but I loved it!

Magdev says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:41am

omg so cool

rubna says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:52pm

This is just so cool! Would be cool if you explored it further maybe! I've always been a sucker for games with ecosystems and stuff like that :D

Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:18pm

I had no idea what I was doing, but I loved the game! I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/ph4Rui-mL0k

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:29pm

This is a beautiful piece of work. Seriously love the art and music. Had a Proteus feel to it, but with crabs (which makes it better ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]