December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

She Only Has One Day

by sjames_93 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

SPACE to Jump

A 2D platform runner using some really nice vector graphics that give the illusion of depth.

Starts easy to let you get a feel of the jumping, then progressively gets harder !

If anyone's interested in more games by me, then theirs another one here that I created a few months ago:
www.mechbugs.biz (takes while to load the game though)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#242Graphics3.46
#420Humor2.41
#521Theme2.82
#652Audio2.12
#756Mood2.38
#824Fun2.36
#881Overall2.48
#998Innovation1.48

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Hi james I cant see the download link, will rate when I can play

sjames_93 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Added in the link, forgot to put http:// :(

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Love the art and the day-night cycle! Plus the comic strip style into is awesome.

hnjslater says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:49pm

404 :-(

Ashedragon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Pretty good. I love the character animation.

runvs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:51pm

The Intro is nice! I was not sure what was the sun and what was the moon. A Jumping Sound would have been nice :)
Great work!

f7f5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52pm

I loved those backgrounds! But the gameplay needed some more work.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52pm

I played through it. The game needs more variety. A long time in the game, there is no challenge at all. There is so much ground between two gaps, that you often just can hold down space as long as you want. So you could make more gaps an increase the speed with the time!

Mirroar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Neat, cogratulations on submitting a game. It starts of rather slow but actually gets kind of difficult towards the end. I slipped on my first try and beat it on the second. It could use a bit more diversity, I think.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Very repetitive, unfortunately.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Really great graphics! I liked the drumbeat too, though a couple of jump sounds effect would have been nice. However, this game could do with some checkpoints! At first I only got about halfway through the day, then on my second attempt I got through all of the day and about 95% of the night when I accidentally double-jumped in mid air somehow and botched the landing - I wanted to see the story resolve, but I really didn't want to do all those jumps again from the very beginning! Overall though, great job :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Great work, definitely need to add more elements to the level though. Love the art style!

David Colson says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Nice game, controls feel nice and it looks really good, its just a bit repetitive, but nice work!

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Loved the game, very addictive yet repetitive, and amazing graphics. Good Job Sir.

Tanser says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Nice art. Everything is good just maybe the jump can be a bit too high. :)

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:41am

Nice day night cycle!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:44pm

I liked the artwork; I think you should work on the characters to resemble the original south park / felt style so they match the background more.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:10am

Little bit repetitive, although the jump mechanism seems ok. :-)

udo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:57am

Doesn't run for me on OS X Mavericks, seems like a version conflict: Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: core/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Music is pretty cool, and so is the game. Cool thing jumps look like you are on the moon.

euske says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Sorry, my antivirus software said that OpenAL32.dll contains Trojan:Win32/Repplock. Could you run a virus scanner and reupload it?

tobbez says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:22pm

I liked the game but I had huge problems with lag that almost made the game unplayable.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:53pm

The implementation of the theme, one day-never thought I'd see that in a runner. The day-night cycles, the art style and the music's cool. The jumping felt a bit strange, though. And this really needed some checkpoints, I got so close but failed :S

Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:59am

Nice artworks !

occash says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Nice-nice music and very cool story! thank you for such good mood!

Niavlys says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Very nice graphics, the game is kind of repetitive but rather well done (day-night cycle is nice!). It was also too easy in the beginning and too hard in the end. It would be better with a more responsive jumping mechanic. Good job though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]