December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only One: A Gentleman's Game

by DrPrettyPatty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Let's settle things the gentlemanly way! The idea is that you only use one hand in a slap-off with your rival, and, derivatively, you use only the left mouse button as a control.

I made this with Unity3D, GIMP, Audacity, and FL Studio, and somehow managed to do it around working for 8 hours on Saturday :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#48Humor3.75
#172Graphics3.67
#249Mood3.16
#281Audio2.93
#431Theme3.00
#491Overall3.00
#511Innovation2.90
#716Fun2.53

Comments

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:08am

Awesome art, music, feel, and concept. The gameplay is simple, but enough to give me a solid giggle, and play through it three times. The insults are great.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:11am

Quite well made chap! The gameplay is extremely simple but the graphics and "gentlemanly" mood make up for it.

ViliX says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:34am

Good idea

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:36am

I don't know what happened exactly, but this game still make me laugh.

notajetski says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:37am

the tutorial text at the beginning was a little overwhelming, but after 2 or 3 rounds I really got the hang of it. Good show, old chap!

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:54am

"Only One" cannot be described, it must simply be experienced.

It took a moment for me to recognize the barrage of slaps coming my way - a more distinct slapping sound would have served me well.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:14am

Haha! We both have games where gentlemen are slapping eachother! Good show old chap!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:01pm

The idea is great but the game mechanic could have used some more love I think.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Thanks for the comments everyone! @primaerfunktion: Yeah, I had originally planned to play around with dragging to set an angle and power of the slap, and having things fly off his face (monocle, top hat, fake moustache) but ended up running out of time. Thanks for the criticism!

kbake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:20am

I feel classier after playing! I enjoyed reading the insults as well, good show!

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Interesting take on the theme. :)

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Nice art :{

A game befitting a true gentleman indeed haha

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Well I say! That was quite amusing good sir. A fine piece of art, if only a little infantile. Yet, these boyish divertissment are good for the juveniles among us!

(Nice job ;))

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Very funny. Nice art.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]