December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cookie Hunter 1.2.7

by robodylan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I am just 14 and still learning, but this is definitely my best so far.

Goal: Find the cookie crumb before time runs out.

Controls:
A = Left
D = Right
W = Up
S = Down

You can ride up and down cookie dough falls.


Everything was written and drawn from scratch.
The Graphics
The Physics engine
The Cookie Gen
The Scrolling Platform

I really should of used some 3D libraries like Pybox2d, but the game turned great.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1479Coolness28%

Comments

madlee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:42am

The web link appears to be broken :(

lesspix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:42am

issue with the web link too...

robodylan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:55am

I'll just remove it.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:06pm

You should get py2exe or something and make an executable of this.

alcorrius says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:10pm

'Web' don't work. 'Windows' contain Python file. I don't want install Pygame to play your game.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:36pm

No one is going to install that Python shit. Fix it.

Sim says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:46pm

It worked for me because I have Pygame, but this needs to be turned into an exe using something like py2exe or very few people can play it.

I seemed to fall and eventually stop, failing to pick up anything at all though :/

asimilon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:08pm

i need to install pygame? :/

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Couldn't run the Linux version. It returns a syntax error in Start.py line 56. I'm running Manjaro Linux

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Had problem to run it too :(

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Hi just to let you know, when I ran it, I had to amend the Bg1.png to bg1.png to get it to work, your code is trying to load lowercase filenames, but they have a capital letter. Good work though!

Zuige says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:11pm

You should have binaries for this.

01rafael says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Have no clues how to run Start.py file

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]