December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Bullet, One Chance

by YellowLime - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game set in the Wild West, with a little bit of point-and-click, and a little bit of shooting.
It doesn't have any sound or music.

Point and click:
Left-click

Shooting:
Hold right-click to get out of cover
Left click(out of cover): Shoot
Left click(in cover): Reload

Hitting enemies:
You can only hit them when they're not covered (and they might not die from one shot (random damage))!

Known bugs:
#1- In a dialog, if you click when not prompted, you might have overlapping/repeating dialog.
#2- Enemies might show a shooting animation just after you kill them, and stand still, but they are actually dead.
#3- After you die once, the enemies will not attack anymore. To fix this, refresh/restart.
#4- If you place the cursor right, you might hit many uncovered enemies at once (I won't count it as cheating ;y but beware bug #5)
#5- If you do the above, the game might not correctly detect when the fight is over (shooting at the dead enemies might fix this)

Please play in full-screen or full-window!

Edit: Put up an HTML download that should work for Mac users, please tell me if it does (or doesn't)!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#242Graphics3.46
#291Mood3.09
#343Humor2.61
#431Theme3.00
#539Overall2.96
#605Innovation2.75
#739Fun2.50

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Looks interesting but the osx version doesn't start! :/

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Very cool concept ! Great graphics ! I like the mood of the game. It takes me a long time to realize that i needed to use my right mouse button to rise though.

bodsey says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Looks good ! Too bad there isn't at least a bit of sound

stephan_h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Great game. I like your graphics and the gameplay. Wonderful style.
Could be a wonderful experience too if it were not buggy and had some audio.

Bugs:
- Talking to the first quest giver(?) seemed to initiate two dialogues at once which overlayed each other.
- Second play after death, the bottles in the tutorial did not take any damage.
Oh, and I did not like those bottles mixing with real enemies in the first fight. (Perhaps also a bug?)

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Aha, I found it! You asked in the chat yesterday if the screenshot was making the game look interesting. It did, and I went looking for it.

The artstyle is cool and everything looks exactly like you would expect it to in a western town. The characters I liked especially. The text progression seemed a little iffy, switching back and forth and sometimes misplacing the yes/no symbols. Even though I aimed at bottles and bandits properly it was also really hard to hit things for no apparent reason. If this is intended, adding a little "missed" or something like that would surely help.

The dialogue fit well and the theme was followed nicely.

YellowLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:21pm

@Gravedrinker thanks a bunch! Now I gotta go play yours ;^)
I did intend that sometimes a shot wouldn't kill the enemy, and I guess it can be a bit offputting, but I needed to up the difficulty without adding more enemies :p

@stephan_h I knew of both bugs, the latter one always happens
The talking bug I've also had, but don't know the exact repro conditions... I know that it doesn't happen if you wait patiently for the text :p

@Linus Lindberg Sorry! :o The program I used (Construct 2) made the ports automatically, so maybe they have it buggy... I would have added a Web version but couldn't figure out the hosting.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Excellent work ! I love the art, the use of the theme is perfect. The gameplay mechanic is really interesting. Great job !

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:36pm

If this is a Construct 2 game can't you post a Web version?

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Looks pretty but again reporting OSX version doesn't start. Console message: 17/12/2013 1:36:51.294 am Finder[171]: 8837325: Attempting to SIGCONT to pid #1158 failed, with errno=#3, or the process failed to actually start

Using OSX 10.9 on a Retina Display Mac Book Pro, if that helps in any way.

YellowLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57pm

stephan_h: the mixing of both kinds of enemies on the last battle was on purpose, for variety. But maybe it lessens the seriousness of it...

Daniel X. Moore, GravityScore: I'll upload a Web version when/if I figure out how to do it :p

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Looks good but with sound is very difficult play... :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Loved the graphic style!
I got some glitches and I couldn't figure out where to aim as the bandits don't seem to die when I shoot them, and sometimes die without me clicking anything.
But the game is awesome once those are fixed!

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:20pm

The idea of using the mouse was good. There's no sound at all and there were bugs with UI when I click on the character. Fight system is intersting.

rnlf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Quite a difficult game. After dying ten times in the first (?) fire fight, I gave up. But I like your art style and the western theme is nicely done.

Two minor points:
* It is quite exhausting to run all the way through town every time you die (but maybe that's wanted).
* One time the bandits in the house stood still for about 30 seconds, I even thought, the game had crashed. If there is some random timing interval, you might want to set a maximum value to it or something.

multikorv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Seems a bit sluggish and hard to tell if you interacted sometimes. I like the graphic style! Some sound would really bump it up a bit.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:38am

Interesting style and concept. It just lacked a little feedback, I never knew if I hit somebody, and if not, why. Because I always died without defeating any of the bandits. =/

GBolt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Funny idea, though the controls are a bit wonky.

supremefist says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:40am

Pretty good idea and graphics! Very difficult to play, however!

rxi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Had a bit of trouble at the start with the glitches, but once I came back to the description and read how to avoid them it became a bit easier... though.. still quite glitchy.

The use of theme was excellent, and the aesthetic seemed to work well, though my guy seemed to lose his arms when he walked. I liked the mechanic of the combat, it felt challenging and quite original.

I unfortunately died in the salon and wasn't able to make it past there despite doing the "side quests" before. The penalty for dying in the salon -- having to start from the very beginning -- felt a little too harsh for me to retry more than once, so I unfortunately gave up after dying the second time.

Good effort overall.

fysx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:41pm

The walking animation is very good. It could use some arm swinging, but apart from that really good timing and nice squash an stretch!

It wasn't clear to me that one could click the speech baloons. At first I thougth this would be an unfinished feature. Maybe a exclamation mark would have hinted that there is more.

Also a bitmap font would have fit the overall style.

The last fight is very tough. Unfortunately I wasn't able to win. Even with the 200 health upgrade :(

P.S.: Thanks for the reported bug in my game. Great spotting!

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Love the black and white low res pixels. Nice work on the animmation too.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]