December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Listen

by Donutttt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You press space to control the game.

You can see how it fits the theme when you play the game a second time.


------------------------------------------------------------


I used Gamemaker Studio to make the game.

I made some of the sprites in Paint.net, the others I just made in Gamemaker.

The clock sound is from bfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#65Theme3.77
#153Mood3.38
#344Innovation3.13
#446Humor2.33
#702Overall2.76
#718Audio1.79
#835Graphics2.19
#976Fun1.86

Comments

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Got the message. Nice approach of the theme.

okmmjyygv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Still better storyline than Twilight :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Good concept. Graphics get across the theme well, its about the story more than the graphics I guess. When restarting for the second time it just flashes up quickly before closing wondering if it was meant to happen or not which is a bit confusing. Get's the point across clearly though while sticking to the theme.

bodsey says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52pm

I wouldn't say it's technically fun, but it's definitely quite a strong take on the theme.

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Interesting not-game. :)

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26pm

@Ocarina of Lime - Yes, the inability to restart is intentional, though perhaps I didn't do it well enough. There are a range of stories to hear, and they are selected randomly. But you can only listen to one story.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Confused to start with but then I got it. :)

etabubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Good point, well delivered. Good use of the theme and an important message. Well done.

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:19pm

best use of the theme i've seen so far, congratulations on this piece of art. 5/5, would recommend.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:56pm

bahaha, whatttttttt, yes! Nice.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Not to bad it was a little good all over.

Zenkerdus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:53pm

That "restart message" was inspiring. I'm intrigued by games that does this "outside game" thing, like Metal Gear Solid & X-Men (genesis/mega drive).
That sound was comfortable (honestly)

Sim says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Simple idea but well executed. My biggest issue is that the clock sounds more like an uncomfortable pop than a tick.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Thanks for all the comments, it means a lot. I know what you mean about the sound. I must admit is was a last second addition (yeah pun) and I haven't got much experience with sound. Thanks for the feedback!

kunzbe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:19am

Refreshing different approach. But no game? or am I missing something?

henrykun says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Nice graphics and story!

lilinx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Ho wow actually after reading your comment about the several stories I'm really impressed by the idea behind this

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Very nice... simple and sad. The best moment is really to open it again to see the empty bed. Well done!

diegocbarboza says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Very intersting concept! Congrats!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Sorry can't play, mac

jomomomo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

Donutttt says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Ah, wish I could have made a Mac version. And a Linux version for that matter. Can only apologise. Next time I'll use something that can run on all operating systems...

davisan says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Nice concept and brilliant idea!

Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Wow nice! This was awesome!

PaulSB says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Hmm... yes, interesting. I like that there is some meaning being put across here. It's not obvious there are other stories you can get; I wonder if the loss of what you miss could be incorporated somehow.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:58am

Excellent use of the theme. The sound is minimal but that's perfect. No need for a soundtrack, only that heartbeat sound. Perfect. I like when game, instead of letting a playing interact with everything, take the lead and tell a story in a unique way. Great work !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]