December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flickeroid

by rorycooke - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My take on the theme is the you only get to see one enemy per frame, so games is full of flickering sprites - that is unless you collect the amazing 3D glasses.

All work is my own apart from the music, which was provided by my brother and the photo of the spaceman which is a royalty free image from the NASA website.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#265Graphics3.41
#348Humor2.60
#403Theme3.07
#456Audio2.62
#477Mood2.79
#584Innovation2.78
#633Overall2.83
#802Fun2.39

Comments

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:18am

Interesting visuals. I just find it very easy, because the creatures always go out from the same spot.

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:28am

Too easy to just stand there and shoot into one spot.

But visually and stylistically its brilliant! And what you chose to do with the theme is really interesting aswell.

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:39am

Cool visual style. It's super difficult if you try to stay near the center of the stage, but if you go up towards the upper right corner and camp it becomes incredibly easy.

rorycooke says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:44am

Yeah you guys are right it's too easy. If I had got them to spawn from all 4 walls it would be more of a challenge.

I'm please you like the visuals :)

junt74 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:45am

HIDEO rules!
Great visual top down shooter.
"One enemy per frame" concept will be more effective if enemies have various movements.

Lizzip says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Nice graphics and music

lincore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:36am

Nice game, just a bit too easy with enemies walking in line towards the player :~) I like the drum & bass loop but you should have made it yourself.

kyyrma says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:36am

Unfortunately there is zero challenge if you just sit in one spot and keep shooting at the doorway. The visual are nice though, but it would be better if the bullet sprites would also be affected by the scanlines.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:29am

it really sucks in a way that you do not w=know what to do

rorycooke says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:59am

olafsworld98, what do you mean w=know what to do ?

Ditto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:13am

Cool concept, too bad the enemies all spawn in the same spot, making it really easy once you find a safe spot to stand in. Also, what does the 3d glasses do? : P

rorycooke says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:16am

3d glasses stop flickering, its a shame I didn't put more than one door in there :(

popogames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:29am

Nice quick paced setup, the music surely adds to that.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Super interesting concept. You should add more gates (one on each side) and vary where the enemies spawn. I didn't like that the bullets bounced -- once I figured out I could rapid-fire I died more from my bullets than any of the monsters.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Very nice visual style, music and mood. But I just stood near the enemy spawn and kill 'em all

Inso says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:17am

Too easy, great graphics.

eskivor says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Nice game but, it's easy to camp.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Really unique take on the theme, too bad the gameplay wasn't as interesting.

frogcheese says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Interesting idea, though it would be even better if all of the enemies didn't appear from the same spot. It would help to put crosshairs on the mouse position to make aiming easier, and something that I think would also be good is to have a different color for enemy bullets so they don't blend in with your own. All in all, I had some fun with it and it's definitely a take on the theme that I haven't seen anyone else think of so far :)

van noctar says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Very difficult ! But good! :D

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:06pm

It could be better if it were more challenging... As everyone said, you just keep shooting at the same spot and survive forever.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]