December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only get one! (match)

by Fenixin - Jam Entry

PLEASE NOTE: You can resize the screen using 'ctrl-s' and quit using 'q'

Macario is a qualified pyrotechnic responsible for fireworks, but he is so hopeless he keeps losing his matchboxes. Luckily enough, he always manages to keep one single match. Help him get his job done and travel with him around the globe. Use arrows to walk, jump, and crouch. Press down to light the fireworks in each level before the flame goes off. Mind the mobs, falling, or running too fast, as that will make the fire get consumed faster!

BUGFIX:
There is a new version that solves some 'Typo' or 'unbeatable' problems as the rules say . We have fixed:
- The lives not resetting.
- A really ugly hang that happened if you left the mouse over the game screen.
- Music not looping.
- The last level was simply impossible, fixed that.

NOTES:
- You can quit the game using the key 'q' ONLY while playing... yeah, that's kind of a bug.
- You can resize the screen using Ctrl-s. This isn't very well implemented and will make the comics and title screen look weird, but you will be able to see the whole screen while playing.

KNOWN BUGS:
- Completing a level just before the match burn out will count as a lost game.
- Resizing the screen will make the comics and the title screen look weird

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#125Theme(Jam)3.26
#129Humor(Jam)3.02
#139Audio(Jam)3.31
#159Fun(Jam)3.17
#188Overall(Jam)3.26
#196Graphics(Jam)3.46
#201Mood(Jam)3.08
#392Innovation(Jam)2.51

Comments

Sink says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:40am

This game is really great! The graphics are very nice and remind me of Mario Bros. Also the music is nice and arcady. Really cool areas to go to and nice difficulty curve. The only gripe I have is that he backgrounds can be a bit busy making it hard to see but other then that everything is great!

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:08am

It's a great looking game, and fun too! Can't help to feel a bit nostalgic (good ol' mario games).
I couldn't get passed level 1 though, not sure what you're supposed to do with those barrels. (EDIT: I'll have to try again, didn't know you could crouch to light those up)

harsanalif says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Nostalgic looking game. A bit too hard & classic for my taste, but it fun short time nonetheless :)

Tanser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:30pm

There seems to be problem with the resolution but anyway it is nice game.

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:34pm

I really like this! Control is a little too slippery, though.

Muciojad says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Good thing. I like this low-quality graphics. But sometimes when I run the game I can't press any key, and the window is too big for my screen and I can see only part of this. Screen could be resizable, because some peoples can't play (I had this problem last LD with my game) ;) Anyway, congrats for finish and good job!

Ditto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Very challenging, in a good way, i love the cute walking little coffee cups ^^ Good game!

Gungnir says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:42pm

You nailed the single screen arcade charm perfectly, in every sense. Even those typical lo-fi photo backdrops. Controls are dead on, and a great level of challenge. Nice effort getting in all those national cliches too. Ingenious life/energy bar.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Really quite fun! The main problem is that on some levels the background is too distracting, making the platforms difficult to see.

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Hey! Thanks for the nice feedback!

The screen is resizable, but it wasn't really working at the end of the jam, so we didn't mention it. Didn't think of people with small screen resolution!

You can resize the screen using 'Ctrl-s'. Resizing will make the title screen and comic screens look weird but will look perfect while playing. I have added a comment about this in the game description.

TomboFry says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Concept is absolutely amazing, but your lives don't reset to 3 once you die the first time, and the items on the screen are quite hard to see in some cases (ie. in Australia the boomerangs were hard to see).
The arcade style was brilliant though!

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:26pm

@TomboFry, Thanks! It's a bit buggy, yeah. We will probably realse a mor polished post-jam version with more stuff.

kutullu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Don't really like the jumping, it feels a little bit off. But the game is quite good nontheless, I like graphics and sound. The gameplay feels like something from the 80s... and I mean that in a good way. Thumbs up! :)

Cheers, Marcus

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Developers here: yes, you know, it's Ludum Dare. We are working in a fix release for the bugs, right know yes, lives don't reset and you can hang up the title screen if you pass the mouse around the game screen.

The backgrounds were made in the last hours, so, yes, palettes are not optimized. Stay tuned for the post comp version, we will work to produce a great arcade experience that fix those problems, movement, colors, and gameplay in general. Regards.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:20pm

I can't see the lower part of the level because of my resolution, but the game looks really good.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:24pm

For lack of a better explaination, this one is the most game like entry I've played so far, so well done :D

Again, can't put it into words, but it just feels right, kind of like a DOS shareware game or something

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Awesome game!
There seems to be some bug with the lives (maybe just the number shown) if you restart after loosing.
Nice graphics, nice sound, nice story, so:
Great work!

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Thanks everyone for the feedback!

@StMatn, you are right! We have just uploaded a bugfix doing some 'Typo' bugfixing as the rules say. We have fixed:
- The lives not resetting
- A really ugly hang that happened if you left the mouse over the game screen.
- Music not looping.
- The last level was simply impossible, fixed that.

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:15am

love the graphics and style of gameplay. Though the resolution seems a tad too high. I can't play it well on my laptop which maxes out at 1366x768

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:36am

Nice graphic and music style, good work on the different art per stage and fun and challenging gameplay!

Fenixin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:55am

@dremelofdeath, Thanks! You can change the screen size with 'ctrl-s'

udinjelek says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:06am

I love the graphic, give me a nostalgic moment, anyway it couldn't appear well in my Computer. I'm using Win 7 64 bit :(

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:42am

Nige game I love the gameplay :D

Enneract says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Great game. The visuals and audio were amazing :)

seantheartist says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:23pm

I liked the theme a lot and the music was pretty sweet. I like the idea of going through an obstacle coarse with 1 match!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Cool nostalgic concept. Great work

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Nice game, quite a challange.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Well-done in terms of art and music, really captures that arcade-charm!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:33am

Looks like Mario!

AmmoreChicks says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:36am

Very relaxing, good pixel art, sweet retro-style. I saw you made it with pygame. Good game!

Fenixin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:01pm

@AmmoreChicks, yes, we used pygame. We will release the code (and the game) in the pygame web sooner or later. The code needs some cleaning...

murilo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:36pm

It loads the menu. when I click the 'vs AI' it hangs forever :(

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:58pm

I like poor Macario! But the jump is a bit funky for my taste. Also, I'm a greedy bastard and try to get all coins, which is extremely difficult even on the first level! Graphics are cooll and sounds not bad.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:08am

Pretty high difficulty from the start, I think the high gravity pull on that jump made it a bit hard for me, I though it controlled really well otherwise.

On some objects, like the birds, it's really hard to tell that you're losing time when touching them.

Good graphics and fun music.

jonask says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:31pm

This game gave me a warm feeling :)

Benjamin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Great work, remind me the arcade game "Pang" where you also visit famous places. This kind of themes where pretty famous back in the 90's arcade. I love the way you took time to change every monster skin on each level. You should have put an outline on those boomerangs : brown sprites on red bg is almost invisible.

I went to the ??? but can't pass it. I only had one life left :)

jprogman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:25am

I'm a little concerned on the flying enemies. If they fly to random spots, I might get unlucky and have them keep guarding the fireworks until I ran out of time. I'm not sure if the enemies move randomly or not. Nice retro arcade game overall! It just need some further polishing and tweaking.

anvoz says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Great game! The graphics and music were really good. But the background of Paris stage was quite annoying.

I really want to discover all levels to see new places and monsters but the game was quite hard for me. Perhaps you should make it easier so more people will have chance to reach the last level.

I got to stage 4 - Sydney, 50270 points.

Techblogogy says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Nice and fun game. Amazing!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]