December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One: TOWER DEFENSE

by tklovert - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You Only Get One: TOWER DEFENSE is a tower defense game with a twist... You only get ONE tower. You can, however, move this tower and upgrade it with money gained from killing enemies.

The game picks up a LOT around level 10 and the levels slowly get faster as the game goes on.

Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#125Theme3.59
#458Audio2.61
#550Innovation2.83
#597Humor2.00
#728Fun2.52
#802Overall2.62
#817Mood2.26
#959Graphics1.79

Comments

Croze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:19am

I just felt like I was sitting there clicking the tower every round, once you have the right timing you really can't lose.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35am

Urghhhhhh, I want to play this so badddd, but I'm on a mac? Is there any chance that you're going to port this? (Porting is allowed even after the 48 hours)

lucars83 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:40am

Hitting the enemy just felt too random.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:41am

Great take on the theme and a nice idea for game play. The game itself ended up being a little repetitive in the end. Nice work though.

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:53am

Very cool idea for the theme! I do agree with the other comments that once you get an idea of the timing, you don't really need to move anymore and just end up focusing on clicking.

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:25am

Yeah that was kind of a problem. The game picks up a WHOLE lot around level 10 once the enemies start taking more hits. Also, as levels go by there are also more enemies and they spawn faster, but the slow start leaves a lot to be desired.

I probably should have made the game only 25 levels instead of 50, but it's tough without any real time to spend on testing. Oh well :).

Garrick says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:48am

The game mechanics don't make a whole lot of sense. It's faster to re-place your tower rather than waiting for it to fire again, and you can just click on the current spot and it will fire again. The bullets could use tracking of some sort. Pretty boring after a while.

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:05am

Sorry you didn't like it! It says in the beginning that you can click the tower again once the timer is done to shoot again (which is totally a feature and not a bug... yeahh).

Cezel_ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:14am

Best theme idea i've seen so far.

cBit says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:15am

This game is quite difficult at the later levels, but it's still fun, especially when you get a badass upgraded tower. Sometimes the directions that the tower fired in seemed a bit bad, but apart from that it was a pretty good game! I can see how it could get a bit repetitive after a while, but I'm not really sure how that could be fixed given the theme.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:15am

This is a fantastic idea, and I think with more work it could be a fantastic game. Letting players click the tower every so often to fire again makes it more active, which is cool, but aiming is difficult.

Lustdante says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:58am

I think you created a new genre here!

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:56pm

A little bit tedious but the basic tower defense mechanics were well implemented. I wish I had more granular control over tower placement

syl says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:48pm

only one tower in a tower defense is a nice idea, directions were asymetric and make it difficult

Cash says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:14pm

I liked it but you should put a background,without the game feels empty

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Fun take on tower defense, certainly one of the stronger entries. More content would've been enjoyable: particularly more upgrades.

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:07am

I was able to make it to level 20 by never upgrading my direction. I found that most of the time, direction upgrades severely decreased the amount of the path I could cover with bullets, even though they did add additional bullets.

Masadow says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Same idea as mine :) However, we are idling a lot, it would be great if we can use our mouse to collect money from monsters, using spell or whatever.

Also, this direction upgrade does not worth anything since you don't have any control of it. You should have kept the axis direction so we can still be able to aim ;)

tklovert says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:00am

Masadow, that's a great idea with collecting money instead of idling. I wish I'd thought of that when I was making mine.

Oh well.

I think we both had the best idea hands down :P. Looking forward to your submission next year.

glovecat says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Nice game but direction upgrade makes it a little bit hard :S

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]