December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Golf Quest

by rojo - Jam Entry

Kill monsters, collect loot - by golf! Beware, though - you only have one life.

I made this game solo, and tried to keep in the spirit of the compo.

If you would like to see this type of game expanded upon, please consider Greenlighting it on Steam!

http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=204635252

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#157Innovation(Jam)3.21
#298Humor(Jam)2.23
#338Audio(Jam)2.61
#437Graphics(Jam)2.54
#438Overall(Jam)2.66
#464Mood(Jam)2.22
#488Fun(Jam)2.14
#509Theme(Jam)1.94

Comments

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Ultimately a bit frustrating as a method for moving a character around, but a nice concept nonetheless, so kudos!

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:24am

It's a very cool concept, but the implementation is very clunky. Moving around was not fun, and I'm not sure I like the life system in this. I think it might be cooler if when you take a hit you take a penalty to the # of swings or something. Starting over from scratch felt terrible.

The game is just really, really slow - so, it needs something to make it more exciting IMO. But it is a cool concept!

rojo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:02am

@john_conder9 - Yeah the one hit death thing was my attempt at fitting with the theme, and I agree it's not a great fit for this game.

joekinley says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:42am

This is an awesome and really interesting idea. But it is frustratingly difficult to play the game. Unfortunately, because it might be fun with a bit more polish and a bit more mechanics.

I really like the idea. Also the graphics were pretty cool. It looks nice and immersive.

MaTX says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:56am

The game itself is not bad, "only one life" is a little bit overused in this jam.
Anyway if polished can become a fun game!

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:57am

I really enjoyed this, and I didn't that find moving the character in this manner was annoying at all, it just takes a couple of minutes to learn then all is fine!

I did clip a few stray pixels (down and right from the key platform) which sent the ball flying in an odd direction, and when trying to kill the slime in the far top-left I was, again, one platform down and right but even though I was facing left my Clever Staff often sent the ball either straight up or to the right (behind me)!! That was frustrating because I couldn't understand what was happening or how I could do something differently to avoid it.

Overall a really great game, the mix of wizards and golf is fun too :)

zequack says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:41am

the "one life or you die" is really frustrating, it doesn't add much to the interest of the game, and seems just added for the sake of entering the game in the ludum dare.

Otherwise it's really nice ! controls feel a bit weird at fist but you get usd to them quickly, the concept is really cool, and the art and sound are rather nice ! (love the bgm)

So that's a nice game, yep.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:19am

Very cool idea. I didn't think it was frustrating at all, actually very fun to play, even if a little slow paced. Maybe it would be cool to have a third staff of some kind, just for variety.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Nice concept ! Well played.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:18pm

It was a bit hit and miss :) I took hundreds of shots, with no real feeling of control, but I kept aimlessly swinging.

I found a glitch where if the wizard is in the bottom right corner the wizard is drawn traveling diagonally downwards. You can continue to play as normal though.

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:06pm

innovative concept. I liked the idea, I just wish it was executed a little better. I found it so frustratingly difficult to get the ball where I wanted it to go.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Nice game concept. Needs a little finishing thought.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Really cool and creativ idea. I suck as a golf wizard but after a while I managed to hit some enemies^^

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:08pm

The same everyone is saying, I guess: different, but not really fun like it is.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:46am

It's buggy, unfinished and not very funny, but that's only at the moment: I think the idea has a lot of potential (Wizards playing golf? Come on give me 3)

chardish says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:51pm

The level design basically guarantees you get killed by the third slime right away.

jprogman says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:12am

While I like the whole idea of making a standard Golf game into a fantasy adventure, I find the game too frustrating very quickly. One mistake would have you spend too much time trying to get back to where you were.
One suggestion would be to add checkpoints or make some parts of the course one-way. If you find a way to work out the difficulty to make the game more funner, you may have a more decent project.

ashen says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Wizard playing golf! Bizarre idea but it actually works and this is a fun game. Well done!

xrm0 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Interesting concept, but not fun to play. The camera controls seem (to me) a bit akward, should be reversed.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]