December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Protogun

by Solluxx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

By: Samuel Turnage
Check out my main project @lockstockb on twitter! :)

*--------------------------------------------
*YOU CAN MOVE UP AND DOWN ALSO! TRY IT OUT :D
*--------------------------------------------
Move using [WASD]
Aim with mouse

Line up your shots to kill the redcoat executives without harming innocents.

10 levels

Have fun!

*--------------------------------------------
UPDATE
Oh man the response to Protogun was fantastic. I got better scores than I could have ever hoped for. Thank you all so much. This was such a fun project, and I can't wait for April!

I have also added a Linux build for those interested :) have fun. Credit to @belak51 for the port :D
*--------------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall4.18
Fun4.23
Theme4.38
Coolness67%
#6Graphics4.50
#42Innovation3.92
#118Mood3.46
#164Audio3.21
#294Humor2.77

Comments

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:39am

Great use of the theme; wonder if a santa naughty nice list edition would work too. ;)

Tim Kaldor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Nice pixelart, responsive controls, fast retry loop, [insert criticism here].

Robinerd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Wow, the pixel art is fantastic! Good job :)

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:55pm

This game is fun, beautiful and well built. I would pay for this if it had more levels and a skip level button!

pusheax says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Wow! Very nice progretion curve. Theme is also spot on. Music is like digital Meshuggah which is good. Clouds are amazing.

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Really awesome concept and game mechanic, and gorgeous art direction. Technical issues though, lots of lag on my system! But ignoring that this game is really fun to play - though I found it gets quite difficult quick!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Really amazing graphics, controls and use of theme. Pretty unique too (I don't remember playing any game like this). While short, this is one of the better games I've played so far. Really good job!

kratorspore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:07pm

The best entry I've played thus far. Great, theme use, graphics and gameplay. Well done!!!

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Wow! The pixel art is so great and the use of the theme too. Very funny game... :)

suoraviiva says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Really nice graphics and the game idea is awesome! I got hooked for a good while, it gets quite tricky to line up shots.

My only complaint really is that the player is greeted by a wall of text in the start and the font is quite hard to read.

Great job!

lincore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Very creative gameplay and great pixel art. I had to quit on level 7 I think or else my brain would have exploded... damn attack droids...

PyroSneak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Good Game, had fun with it. graphics were nice and so is the music.

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Truly amazing! Everything fits: graphic, sounds, music (Bosca Ceoil?), gameplay. An excellent entry!

gnerkus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:03pm

This is one of the most creative applications of the theme. I really liked the fact that I had to line up my one shot.

The graphics are neat and quite adequate. The music was a little too low but I could hear the awesome sound effects perfectly (especially the shot).

The controls were really smooth; the game is very easy to pick up and play. Thanks!

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Awesome pixel graphics and absolutely great gameplay aswell. There really is nothing negative to say you made a very well polished awesome game in 48 hours. Great job!

Solluxx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Thank you all so much! I can't wait till next LD :)

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:05pm

I liked it! Simple put intuitive mechanics.

Cell says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Really cool!
The pixels are pretty cool too :)

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:11am

Nice game! Def had fun playing through *all* the levels. and nice mom shout out XD! gotta luv the moms! GJ!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Nice Game . I finish all level

nyrrrr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:26am

I really love it :) Too bad you only had 48 hours. Would have liked to play some more levels ;)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:32am

Awesome game!

CNIAngel says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:01am

Great game. The pixel art was well done and the music was catchy. The gameplay was challenging and I enjoyed lining up the shot.

Sestren says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:45am

The music and sound effects were decent, the idea was well-executed, and it was fun to play! Really cool entry all around.

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:56am

I really love the concept! Great idea!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Lagged at times for me, took away some of the experience. :/
But otherwise, great fun and very nice use of the theme!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Best game I have tested so far in the one ammo category entry.

But I had a lot of problems with control : french keyboard can't wasd ( we zqsd ), so as usual I wanted to change my language preference but for some reasons the game app freeze some windows component and I had to play with my keyboard setting all messed up.

The second problem is SHIFT to back ENTER to continue. After many tries you'll tend to keep one of your finger on shift and when you finally success what will happen...? reflex retry :D It happens to me several times.

acerunox says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Great game, nice use of theme and pixel art is awesome! :)

GingerMess says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Probably my favourite submission so far. Excellent little game!

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:55pm

To start with, the name is nicely conceived! The game itself ramps up the difficulty quickly so it presents a great challenge. Great looking and has an awesome aesthetic. Nice!

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:22am

Loved the aesthetics and a really unique mechanic. I probably could've done without the droids, maybe, but maybe just because they kept killing me :P

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:57am

Great difficulty curve, the game has so few elements and alone they're all very simple but it really gets challenging fast! Love the mood too, though I think someone mentioned the controls already -- kept retrying by accident :p

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Really nice use of the theme. The retro pixel art is also a very nice match.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Finally got to my PC and ... it was WORTH THE WAIT! This is a brilliant game, one of the best this LD. The complete package, feels really solidly built and put together with clear exposition and a nice premise. But .. IT IS FUN! It really was satisfying getting that killer shot (especially on Level 8 - that was hard!) and the quick restart times add to the dynamic feel. The graphics, of course, are outstanding. Great work! Perhaps some online scores could take this forward? You could take this a long way I think, nice one ;)

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:52pm

I love this game. Really addictive, 5/5

d__adee says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 2:36pm

It was fun! I like the idea and the gameplay. Pretty clever, good job!

drludos says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Nice little Game! I like the idea, it's quite original, and not that easy to complete the level. The humor and art style is fun too! Great job!

My only complaint would be with WASD: as a non-QWERTY keyboard user, it would be fine to be also able to use the arrow keys to move :)!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]