December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Last One

by robhor - Jam Entry

Here's my entry for the game jam.

This is my first time participating in Ludum Dare and my first time using Unity.

You are on a mission to rescue the last one of a species.
And you're given only one weapon to fight with.

Controls:
A/D or Left/Right Keys to move left and right
Mouse to aim & shoot
Space to jump
M to mute/unmute sounds

In later levels:
1 and 2 to give orders
Alt to mount/unmount your ride


Art by my brother Thomas Horvath (@tomcii).

Edit 17.12.2013: Fixed a bug that made playing the game on the Windows Standalone barely possible

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#24Fun(Jam)3.87
#71Overall(Jam)3.66
#80Theme(Jam)3.47
#101Humor(Jam)3.17
#214Innovation(Jam)3.00
#220Mood(Jam)3.00
#272Graphics(Jam)3.20
#378Audio(Jam)2.41

Comments

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:56pm

This game is one of the best games ever! I really enjoyed playing this game too much. Keep making games like this :)

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Fun narrative however the controls were a little hard to figure out which made the game artificially hard at certain points. Good work with art and design tho. Well done

CarbonCoder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Great graphics! Awesome idea!

cappelnord says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:36pm

This was more fun than I expected! Good variety in mechanics. Controls/graphics were a bit wonky though. Overall very good job, especially for your first ludum dare entry :)

Fervir says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Reminds me of Abe's Oddesey.
Cool game.
Dangerous apples.
I liked the animations.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Really fun and just the right length

Katamori says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Decent graphics, great story, nice concept. Missed additional uses of giving order.

4 overall, I love it.

robhor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:49pm

@Katamori I would have loved to create some more levels and puzzles, but I just didn't have the time :)

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Pretty neat level design - nice and easy with a good level of challenge, new challenges introduced at a good pace to the player.

I can't seem to mount my ride, however :(]

I liked the use of the one apple as a weapon.

Good work.

ismyhc says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:06am

Very cool! I would tune the physics a bit so the player doesn't drift so much

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:51am

My favorite game right now. The difficulty was very well tuned and felt pretty nice to me. Thanks for making this game!

Aaants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Loved it!

Skas says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:07am

Reminded me of Abe's Odyssey with how the level puzzles were structured. That was awesome.

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Haha, that was an amazing game! Don't let the graphics fool you! Great puzzles and very witty! Good thing I'm a wizard when my only weapon is an apple... ;)

Oh, and I'm not sure if I was supposed to kill the king at the end or not, but it felt good doing it :D.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Except for the fact that I hate games that use both keyboard and mouse as controls, this game is pretty solid and fun to play! It reminds me of Another World.

bsowers says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:01am

Really enjoyed this, though the controls were sometimes a bit frustratingly loose. Chandelier room was my favorite.

_zulli says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Great game! Really really fun! :O Ive laughed hard at apple being the wizard's weapon. Really really good game. :)


If you have time please consider rating my game! I would really appreciate it :)

glovecat says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:31pm

This game is awesome!!! It's one of the best games that I seen in this LD :D I enjoyed it so much.

van noctar says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:28am

Very good game! The first adventure game i see :D I like controls and story :D

01rafael says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Awesome!!!! I like so much this game! ))))
great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]