December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only one way through the darkness

by romankov - Jam Entry

! Build fixed

It's a mix of runner and logic puzzle. As a player you have to find out a trap which the darkness hides from you and successfully bypass a trap. You can see chance of your survival over you head. When you move you chances to survive are changed. Based on that you can try to find out what kind of trap is in front of you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1399Coolness33%

Comments

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Game crashes when I start it on Windows, and it does not work on web for me. :/

Doccrazy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Doesn't start: java.io.FileNotFoundException: data\sound\death.wav

NikinCZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Sorry man, something must be with my computer.
Crash report:
http://pastebin.com/zxjKAEMM

LeCherLich says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Could not run :( Web version did not start, Windows jar file failed with the following error message: http://pastebin.com/WgVuSZt6

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Looks like there is a bug in there which prevents correct execution. Web version shows
Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'b' of null
in Chrome console

midgard says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:59pm

The Web version doesnt starts :C

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Doesn't work on web or Win8 for me either

sumprunk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Web doesn't work here either (Chrome on Mac)

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Didn't start for me :(

Dynad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Doesnt start for me either (web)

romankov says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26pm

I'd updated build.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:14am

Quite difficult. Nice concept though.

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:18am

Interesting concept, but I don't really see how you can bypass traps when you run straight into them :/

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:20am

Fun, but very, very difficult.

romankov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:35pm

ChronusZ,
It seems to me that you have no chances to survive simply running straight forward. You should look at "chance of survival", move, jump, sit near a trap. analysing how your chances are changed you can find out which kind of trap is in front of you.

Harsay says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Very hard to guess which trap is on front of player but it's a very interesting idea for the game.

Zuige says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Liked the "aaarrghh…" sound effect there! Graphics style was cool as well! Gameplay could have used with a bit more of a polish. It was hard to tell what was going on due to the darkness.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:12pm

While I like the concept, I find impossible to get throught the game if I can't see one single pixel in front of me. If you could add the canche to see even a little bit what's ahead of you it might be interesting to play, but as it is right now it's just frustrating. I really like the atmosphere.

01rafael says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:45pm

I like this graphics so much! But, I didn't understand how to play ) sorry ))
However, game is awesome!

AlexFili says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:11am

Strange game, took me a while to learn what the % was for. It's like % of encountering danger. Good concept though

Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:20am

Great Job! One of the more unique games this Dare.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]