December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Graham Vs Lord Nebulon

by Articulated - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are Graham, part-time insurance salesman and Intergalactic Space Adventurer! Thwart the dastardly Lord Nebulon by collecting all the Orbs of Power.

Be careful, though! One slip-up and you will lose your chance! You only get one chance to prevail.

God speed, Graham.

Controls: Arrow Keys

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#386Humor2.50
#628Graphics2.68
#684Fun2.59
#737Mood2.42
#843Overall2.55
#853Theme2.19
#871Innovation2.23
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

Anachron says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Really fun zero-gravity/intertia game! Nice home-drawn graphics. Music and sfx would add to the experience :)

Cayo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Nice art theme. it reminds me of Toejam and Earl.

scoobyben says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:59pm

I like the theme/graphics, but have trouble getting very far through the levels as I suck at that style of controls :P

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:00pm

All I have in the zip file is a .gmx file. Couldn't play

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Very fun and very challenging. Controls are pretty slick in my opinion.

Zemmi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Oh how I wanted to beat this, played for a long time and had fun throughout. Yet alas I make a poor space adventurer and Nebulon remains dastardly as ever. One issue, after dying by stalactite where you can't return to the level select.

Good work, I'll definitely try to clear all the worlds in the future.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:13pm

I love games like this! You've done a nice job with the graphics, and a little bit of sound would have been good. Also, having a multi-file download which then launches a windows installer is a bit of a pain. Finally, having to click through those "you crashed, you have to go back" screens over and over again just gets frustrating!(but that's more the fault of a bad theme than of your game ... if you continue to work on this game after Ludum Dare please take out that rule - it adds nothing and is just a bit irritating! ;) )

KHANanaphone says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:41pm

The attempt to shoe-horn in the theme just made it pretty annoying.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:40pm

I enjoy gravity based games. Congrats!

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:00am

cool, lunar lander -gravity concept. really wish I had some sort of timer, or other auxiliary pressure mechanic (like lunar lander's fuel), but as is it's solid.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Good classic fun, and quite funny, well done

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Can't play, mac

tobbez says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:34am

The crashmessages get quite annoying pretty quickly. Most levels are too unforiving for the controls available, plenty of improvements are needed such as the ability to stop completly if you have low enough speed or remove the rotate and thrust mechanic and replace it with 4 direction thrusts. The entire fireplanet is pretty bad designed since getting the smallest amount of speed in the wrong direction on any of those levels will pretty much mean certain death since it is so difficult to counter it. The hitbox should not change when rotating it only add another annoying layer to the gameplay. With gameplay that is as slow as in this game restarting from the beginning of the entire planet at death is a bit much.

Also, after finally beating the fireplanet the game crashed with the following message and that was quite dissapointing.

___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of <Unknown Event>
for object obj_stalactite:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get -1.obj_nebulon_black(100016, -1)
at gml_Room_rm_mapscreen_Create
############################################################################################

romandtom says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:15pm

The game could be much funner if you wouldn't have to play from start whenever you crash...
but nice concept

Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:24am

The enjoyed the game even if i didn't get to far into it due to me being bad with the controls but it was a good game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]