December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stranded

by Jeasonfire - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Stranded - Try to survive for 1 minute while monsters from the sea try to eat you!

Controls:
WASD/Arrow keys: Movement
C: Try to craft something (while you have wood & stones, it makes a fire)
Space: Attack & mine & cut trees & light trees on fire
ESC in lose/win screen: Go back to main menu

I was kinda in a hurry and forgot to implement the score system.

NOTE: You need Java 7 to run this. (I think so at least, tell me if it runs on 6)

Check out the timelapses (day 1 & 2 in different videos) here: http://www.youtube.com/jeasonfire

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#365Fun3.05
#491Overall3.00
#516Humor2.20
#545Theme2.79
#610Innovation2.74
#623Audio2.22
#641Mood2.56
#651Graphics2.63
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Cant play, help!


Exception: java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: base/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

person124 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:05am

That was fun. I like it. When I had ten seconds left I stopped killing the monsters and started to run away from them.... I have like 50+ on the screen :D Still won though!

gman1012 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:10am

Simple To Understand, But Difficult To Accomplish. i like It. my Only Gripe Is The Weird Hitboxes For Using The Axe.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:11am

Pretty nice! Almost more fun to dodge the monsters than kill them.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:43am

xD The sea monster ate me, this was interesting to play.

granut100 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Really nice gameplay! It also had a really cool concept! I was able to win when I got to the end and I used my campfire at about 10 seconds.

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:09pm

First of all, a try again button would be very good since it asked me many permissions each time I refreshed the page.

I really like this game concept. Depending on what you choose, the strategy and the game itself is completly different ! Good job here.

However, I don't understand what to do when I choose the lighter, I try to press C in front of the wood, nothing. Rock nothing. So any clue ?

Overall, pretty strong entry !

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:17pm

I like the use of the theme! Kind of that classic "if you were trapped on a desert island" question. I'm not sure it's how it was intended, but I won by using the lighter on the tree... then singing the Benny Hill theme tune for 18 seconds XD

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Can't play the game, the link seems broken:/

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:47pm

web link is down?

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:48pm

@lordjosephdeburg I think you have an old version of Java.

@Masadow Yeah, I could've told that you can press esc in the end screen to restart :'D Also, the lighter lights the tree up when you press space.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:54pm

"Server not found, Firefox can't find the server at www.jeasonfire.tk."

EatThePath says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Currently, jeasonfire.tk can't be found.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Server not found...

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Sorry guys, my domain name expired (I think) so now I don't have a website. I'll make a new one but it'll take a day or two. Meanwhile, you can download the html & jar so you can play it.

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:17pm

got an error loading the web version....

Exception: java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: base/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:46pm

@Ariake81 I think you have an old Java version. (Do you have Java 6?)

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Something surprisingly satisfying about this. Unless I am missing something it seems that if you want to stand any chance, you use the Axe. Not beat it yet, have managed to get within 3 seconds :D

ProjectSped says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:20am

Game play is really fun :D

ehtd says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:04am

I can see the menu, but I can't start the game

Katamori says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:06am

Funny small goodie. Even though I don't have much to do, it still deserves a solid 3 overall!

drnick says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:59am

Very fun, yet the controls are a little confusing

errorage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Interesting game, pretty good, especially considering you made it in java, which doesn't have high level support for games, only low level stuff like lwjgl and such.

AlexFili says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:06am

A bit too easy and the pistol is very overpowered. Overall though good effort and nice use of pixel graphics

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]