December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

No Drag in Space

by lincore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game you control a space ship and have to collect eight fuel canisters in order to escape the level through a nearby warp gate before time runs up. You must carefully adjust your velocity to keep in control of your ship, because there is no drag in space.

The game currently features seven levels, and I am relatively certain level #6 is unbeatable in its current state. Challenge accepted?

If you make it to the end please let me know!

Meta:
This is my first Ludum Dare entry and my first project in years that has reached a decently playable state. I hope you have some fun with it, I sure had while making it (minus the last six hours of sheer panic, tiredness and stupid bugs).

Linux instructions:
The zip file contains two binaries for 32 and 64 bit systems, that can be run after making them executable:
> unzip ~/Downloads/NoDragInSpace_linux.zip
> chmod +x NoDragInSpace_linux.x86
> ./NoDragInSpace_linux.x86

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#391Overall3.14
#519Graphics2.89
#528Audio2.44
#536Fun2.81
#643Innovation2.68
#713Mood2.45
#728Theme2.46

Comments

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58am

Very cool little game. Felt completely polished and well made!

The level with the rotating boxes was awesome and added something new to the mix.

chicknstu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:41am

The controls felt pretty good, Although I couldn't get past level 3! I made it once,but then the time ran out as it was going through the exiting animation! (I'm rubbish)

lincore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:45am

@chicknstu:
Oh, thats my mistake. I thought I stopped the timer when you enter the gate, but oh well, didn't test the fix :~)
Thanks for your feedback!

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Nice game, the only problem I had is with the timer that doesn't stop when you reach the warp gate :P

Raphy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Hard to control at first but then you kindda get used to it. Nice concept, and some nice levels ! Oh and sometimes i got lost in space and lost because of that.

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Really good game! Nicely captured the feeling of no drag!

PlugNPlay says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:21pm

A good game with some minor bugs (timer continues after reaching the warpgate, the upper gravity well in the "GravityTraps" Level moves away from its black hole thingy).
Aside from the bugs, it feels pretty solid for 48h.

cwkx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:51pm

I love 2D space games. This was fun with pretty visuals :) Great work!

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:35pm

You put a lot of thought into this. Nice one!

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Nice!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Not bad it was unique nice job though :D

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:25pm

It's reqlly polished! :-) Plus, I like the title! XD
it was quite hard to control the ship though! Not so intuitive unfortunately!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:42pm

I would think that it could be easy to make procedurally generated levels..?

Joror says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Good nice physics racer! Ok difficulty ramp too.

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Very nice! Love this :). Felt small and polished. Just the right amount of content for a Jam :). Also, thank god for indestructible ships ;).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]