December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Others Have Many

by MarioY19 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In a world where Others Have Many, You Only Get One...

You play as One Pixel. The only pixel to get only one pixel. Overcome by grief and isolation, he begins to attack his multi-pixel brethren. Taking him to strange new lands where he finds more pixels with other pixels.
Will he ever find another lone pixel like him?
Besides those random red ones of-course...
... and those big grey ones at the back, those don't count.

A small,semi-randomly generated pixel collect-them-up.
Collect increasing numbers of pixels while dodging increasing numbers of red pixels.

Edit: So, I think I did quite well for my first game, nevermind my first entry.
Here's a link to the updated game which fixes some problems people were having and finishes some of the features that, due to bugs, had to be scrapped.
https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0BwNC_m3yl4r5cENBWjNYYjhoNzQ&usp=sharing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#285Audio2.92
#489Mood2.77
#511Theme2.83
#611Graphics2.71
#633Overall2.83
#663Fun2.63
#668Humor1.87
#746Innovation2.50
#965Coolness49%

Comments

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:40pm

A fun control system, especially when you get the hang of it. Good effort.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Solid audio, nice atmosphere, well executed gameplay.

rnlf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Hm. This is the second Unity game I can't seem to get started on Linux. I saw others, that came packaged with an actual executable that I was able to start. You should either provide such an executable or instructions on how to start it. Will gladly try it then, because it looks nice.

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:57pm

It's hard to steer well with those controls. I overshot my mark many times and had to stop to rotate so that I could point the right direction.

I like the aesthetic, simple and nice. Well done

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Dashing feels fun and there is good audio feedback. The controls are difficult to learn but rewarding when mastered

MarioY19 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:10pm

@rnlf: I'm sorry, I am unfamiliar in Linux and assumed Unity would create the necessary files to run it. Does the Web player not work in linux?

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:08am

Not much depth, but very cute! The combination of unconventional controls and a "character" with no clear direction indicator can make it frustrating though.

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:23am

Little hard to control, but still fun and a neat take on the theme.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Pretty nice game! Loved the controls, escpecially because aiming is difficult :D

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:48pm

The idea is really cool, but that was really tough to control. Maybe have a target cursor and use mouse for aiming? Simple but effective visuals. Maybe could've used some more "flashiness", like pretty pixel explosions and score popups.

tobbez says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Seems like I always get a score of 2. Game could use some more depth but what is does is working fine.

ziomorti says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Nice controls (love asteroids-like game), maybe not so fun at last. Good entry anyway!

ossah says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Good stuff! Liked the concept. Was really fun to play.
Sound and art were perfect and atmospheric. Loved the fright I got when the little red pixels started chasing me!

Nice addition of particle effects too.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:13pm

At first it felt more like driving a forklift than flying... after the first couple of tries, I just always held down the thruster. This gave it more of a snake feel and actually made it more fun (you have to do that anyway when the red guy comes). On some of the levels I got the big white block in the middle but nothing else to do (maybe the pickups spawned underneath it?) -- had to just suicide.

Azzar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:17pm

I like the controls. It's challenging, which makes the game more intresting. And trying to get these red bastards off my tail is really fun.
It's a bit frustrating to start over every time you die, but still a nice game.

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Nice re-invention of snake. Would be nice if you could shoot enemies too.

01rafael says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Great entry!
But every time when I try to coucht little white square I wasn't enjoy this game so much )

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]