December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Just. One. Second.

by kbake - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare (first game jam too), so I wanted to do something fairly simple. I spent most of my time working on it today, wish I had put more into it before. Overall, it was fun and I learned a lot so I'll try to make this a recurring thing!

I used C++ with SFML 2.0 (http://sfml-dev.org/), OpenMPT (http://openmpt.org/), Soundation (http://soundation.com/), and Bfxr (http://www.bfxr.net/).

Basically, click on the button within a second. As you go, the button gets smaller. What do you get? Ummm...bragging rights? Post your best score in the comments if you want, I didn't get to implement the leaderboards.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#170Audio3.19
#283Theme3.26
#389Fun3.00
#525Humor2.18
#588Mood2.63
#710Overall2.75
#847Innovation2.29
#963Graphics1.74

Comments

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:48am

missing MSVCP110D.dll to play your game

ColeSlawGames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:49am

Aaaaaagggghh! I got to round 49. My inner OCD is screaming at me...

On to a few things about your game. Here's what I liked:
1. The music was kickin', and never really got old for me.

2. The fact that the button got smaller every time made it challenging enough to compel me to keep playing. Another thing that kept me playing was the fact that the game was constantly moving forward (there was hardly a break in between)

3. The clock in the background was perfect in terms of representing your game visually. Making it the centerpiece turned a fairly simple game into a fun, almost intense time-kill.

Now then, here's a few things I didn't like...
1. The voice started to get on my nerves toward the end. It wasn't COMPLETELY annoying, but hearing "Get Ready" over and over was a bit grating.

2. The button continues to get smaller even after you lose, so it was still tiny when the game reset to round 1.

All-in-all, I enjoyed the time I spent with the game. While simple, it provided me with a good amount of entertainment. Good job!

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55am

error not a valid win32 application

Bogden says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:06am

Couldn't run. Missing a DLL

mungoman1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:11am

This was a ton of fun, and quite difficult eventually.

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:13am

missing openal32.dll

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:21am

Thanks for the feedback everyone; I've updated the files to attempt to address the issues!

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:24am

missing a dll error :(

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:13am

Closes as soon as I open it. Running on Windows 8.

arkeus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:32am

Worked fine for me on windows 8. Two things that stood out are that the difficulty seemed to ramp up slowly and there was a lot of time spent waiting between rounds. Solid, though.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Doesn't work for me: Window flashes up and closes instantly. Started from a command prompt to see if there's an error message but there is none. Windows 7 64bit. If you need more info or want me to test another build feel free to email me: timtipgames at gmail.com

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Unfortunately I can't play, your "Windows" link just gives me a blank page.

TheCze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:18pm

survived 53 rounds. Nice game!

Zenkerdus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Around round 10 or so the game just closed. Played longer than i planned!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:51pm

It opens and closes immediately after displaying one frame for me unfortunately :( (Windows 7 x86)

syl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:17pm

round 19. but after first launch it seems that it needs several clicks and spacebars to not exit at the menu.. ?

Zekyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:54am

Is a bit unestable, but I could play some levels and is really frustrating when the button is small, however I like it!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:32am

Didn't have any issues running the game on my windows 8.1 machine. I did find that maximizing the window made pressing the buttons impossible. A bit frustrating because I kept over-shooting and hiding the window by clicking on my browser, haha. Played for around 25 rounds or so, shockingly addictive.

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:32am

Nice one, good music. Game concept is a bit simple though.

lilinx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:50am

closes right after opening
running under windows8

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:56am

Regarding your comment on my game (One Life): Do you recall which line repeated itself, and/or what the sentence was that didn't go with your choice? I'll need to fix those for the post-compo version (Alternately, if don't remember those specifically, but do remember the path you took or at least the ending you got, that will help me locate the possible errors)

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:06am

I got a missing MSVCP110D.dll error when I tried to play your game. I noticed one or two others who had the same error, so you might need to include that .dll also, but I couldn't get the game to play even after I added that .dll to the directory. Now I just get a "application was unable to start correctly" error. Gonna see if I can just compile it from source to play.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:12am

Im having troubles opening it. Im running on windows 8 too so maybe thats part of the problem.

kbake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:26am

@SnoringFrog, I just posted a comment on your game's page. Don't worry too hard about getting mine to run, there's nothing to it. Though you shouldn't be getting the MSVCP110D.dll error, did you download v1.0.1?

@MrTedders, what problems are you having? Is it coming up with a message or closing immediately? I'm on Windows 8 as well, but who knows, it could very well be.

To everyone else, I'm trying to figure out what the issue is and I apologize for it not working properly! If you don't have Visual Studio on your computer, something that might work is trying to download the Visual Studio redistributable here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679, but I'm just guessing! Thanks for your patience.

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:31am

Can't start it on Windows 8 64-bit.

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:32am

Yes, I did have version 1.0.1.

And if you're on twitter, I'm @SnoringFrog. Otherwise, just email the stuff about my game to dokppyht@sharklasers.com (temporary email address, so if you don't see this within about an hour I won't get whatever you send)

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:44am

Haha love the voice. I actually ended up getting it to work on my end. There wasn't any problem i just forgot to unzip one of the files. Very hard, im bad at these kinds of games so i only got to around 7-9ish on average.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Not sure why, but the application shuts down after a few seconds, if I'm fast I can get through the menus and play it for a bit.

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:41am

sorry man: I'm getting the same error as others where it closes as soon as it starts up: that's.... that's not part of the game right?

kbake says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:55am

I wish it was...hmm, maybe "You only get one millisecond?" :P I'm still looking into it, but I've been trying to take time to check out other peoples' games too.

Kane says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:32am

Nice reflex game, level 38 reached ! Thanks for the fun :)

Geti says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:01am

same DLL error as a lot of people above

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Can't play, mac

angelk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:09am

Mine starts and then exits immediately, no error message :/ It plays the sound for a split second so it's probably not the audio libs.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:05am

Can't play. Opens and immediately closes.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Surprisingly awesome for such a simple concept. You made a simple idea as fun as it can ever be, great job!
Though I had issues starting the game on Windows 8 since the menu always closed but that is not your fault, W8 is Bill Gates's crime.

mr.isaer says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:44pm

missing MSVCP110D.dll

mmickyman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:54am

I have the same missing .dll as others... Some googling tells me it could be about the Visual Studio mode of compiling, and that dll is one debug's dll of Visual Studio.

Btw, having the audio in WAV format gives a heavy file to download :/

steamgirl says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Nice one on your first entry! And in C++ nonetheless! I got to 17, but I got bored at that point so stopped. It's actually surprisingly fun though - the feedback really works. Also got a bit of an adrenaline rush from it. :D

Would have been nice if there were two dots after level 10, or maybe something else to vary the game up a bit. Anyway, good job!

kbake says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone, I've been busy and unable to work on this.

@eemmbbeerr, what exactly was the issue you were having with the menu? I'm also on Windows 8, so I find it odd others have had a hard time running the game. It could be that I'm developing it on Windows 8 that's messing it up...not sure though.

@mmickyman, thanks for looking into it; I found the same information. I find it really odd that people are getting the debug dll when the newest version was built under the "Release" build (though the optimizations were turned off). The WAV thing was something I didn't even think about, what would a better option be? OGG?

@steamgirl, I had a lot of ideas for possible additions to make it tougher/crazier, but most of the first day was spent away from the computer and I didn't have enough time to implement them. I'll be working on it and adding fun new things to it soon, so thanks for the idea!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]