December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Distracted Detective

by veiadoida - Jam Entry

It's your job to clean the city of all criminal. Pretty hard, eh?

In this game you can recall the old days when a DOS screen and a point 'n click game entertained everyone.

Be amazed with 4 *incredible* crime scenes and a long way to the top.

Be a detective somewhat distracted, somewhat obsessive who can analyze only one item at a time. Sometimes you will succeed, sometimes you will not (i hope).
But do not let that shake you. We know that deep down you are a great detective.

Now get out of here and kick some ... oh, you know... arrest some bad people.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#51Theme(Jam)3.63
#53Mood(Jam)3.70
#79Graphics(Jam)4.11
#108Audio(Jam)3.41
#125Overall(Jam)3.43
#156Humor(Jam)2.86
#208Innovation(Jam)3.03
#228Fun(Jam)2.97

Comments

Bcadren says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Really nice graphics...and interesting use of the theme. It's really hard to tell when you 'won' a scene though...and I'd be curious to know how much of the art is original versus appropriated since this is a Jam entry...

veiadoida says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Yeah, we couldn't finish the transitions between cases, unfortunatly, but all the art is original. Our artist worked very hard on this one and that's one big advantage of pixel art: you can scale it. He is very happy with your comment, by the way.

Senevri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:37pm

A nice investigative game, with an interesting take. Most annoying thing was waiting for the start menu to fade in.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Really cool. The concept was really interesting, made you want to think hard before you made a decision. Also the music was funky. Really nice work!

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Wasn't quite sure if I was getting them right or not. The interface was very well done and the cases were fun. Nice game!

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Lovely graphics and sound the only thing I'd like to see is more closure on the cases. Great game!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:53pm

AWESOME game! Makes you think a lot before making a decision! And the pixel art is just too good!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:27pm

The music is really nice, great work!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Im a sucker for these types of games. Great investigation style game! well done.

MALHCat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Very nice job.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:48pm

I like that music and retro pixels:) Good game!

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:53pm

music was excellent. the premise and implementation were pretty good too. i wish it had been a little clearer if I guessed right or wrong. <.< very well done!

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Really nice game. Gameplay unlike any of the other entries I've played, solid graphics and music, pretty cool use of the theme.

Only complaints would making the menu fade in faster so you can replay more quickly and give more feedback on the outcome so you don't have to rely on your changing rating to see if you succeeded.

Good stuff.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:59pm

I love the application of the theme. It's not clear how well I did, although apparently I am mediocre. :)

postmodestie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:12pm

You incriminate someone and all you get is a change in ranking? That won't wash .. just one sentence would have been enough! Nice anyway!

veiadoida says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Thank you for the feedback, guys. Yes, we wish to have done this transitions between scenes... some sort of stamp of "solved" and "unsolved" and the fade in menu should happen only once, but we run out of time, unfortunatly. Maybe the next time we will do better :)

loxo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Great game, I like the nice graphics and the music. Changing clues and suspects would have been nice, to increase the replay value. And maybe some animations to bring some life in the scenes.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:33am

Brilliant.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:27am

Really solid! This is much cleaner than I expected it to be, and it's a very unique take on the genre.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Not sure why, but it reminds be of Papers Please, but maybe it's just me

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Great old fashioned game, keep it up!

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Very nice idea and very nice pixel art. The music vas a bit repetitive and it would be nice to see what kind of impact our arrest has (did we apprehend the real criminal?).

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Wow, really enjoyed that one. Especially liked the background music and overral concept. Well done!

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:47am

Nice concept, excellent graphics and music. But I feel the "pick one thing only" design is pretty restrictive, since I can go back and forth the room.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:09am

I liked the "oldschoolishness" and interesting take on the theme )

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:27am

I felt like a bit of a bastard arresting a guy just because his wallet was on the floor... Oh well...

Looked great, but needs feedback on if you got it right or not.

occash says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Nice grapchics and sounds! great idea!
But I don't understand what to do when i check smth...
overall it's a good concept)))

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]