December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Blue Marble

by Nighley - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Walk through the history of the human race and force inventions to help the growth of intellect, the industry and future technology.
You can decide the fate of the human race and figure out if we can make it to the stars or perish.
You Get Only One chance to make it right!

The negative effects (Plague, Food Shortage...) are sadly not colored differently and definitely need better explaining. They kill off a percentage of the population and reduce the growth. If they happen too often it will set the growth to negative value and thus humans die off.

Written in pure Java, no libraries but one huge mess ;p

Images for the font are done in ASESprite. Programmed with eclipse. The earth and the clouds are randomly generated using Perlin Noise and some coloring magic. The rendering engine is a simple BufferedImage upscaled and using BufferStrategy for double/triple buffering.

Tested with Java 7 on Windows 8 (x64).
Make sure you extract the whole zip and either run run.cmd or run.sh depending on your OS.
Get Java here: http://java.com/en/download/index.jsp

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#202Innovation3.39
#248Theme3.33
#317Graphics3.28
#326Mood3.00
#331Overall3.21
#365Humor2.56
#557Fun2.78
#1358Coolness36%

Comments

Sebastian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:02am

Yay, I did it ;)
Cool idea, and with more time I think you could make this into something really interesting where your choices have subtler and more varied influences on humanity.

PlugNPlay says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:45am

Interesting and fun concept. I also liked the humorous invention descriptions.
At first i had problems recognizing the loss condition and the effects of the humanity events (e.g. Plague and Food Shortage) because of my focus on the inventions.

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Nice idea, well implemented!

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Those descriptions were definitely the best part! Would love to see an expansion on this idea.

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Fun and interesting. as mentioned it would have been easier to see what was going on if maybe the effects were colored different or something. also sometimes a loss would come almost instantly and i had no clue what caused it.

Arkazon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Nice idea and I like the descriptions.

I won first time having invented everything so I didn't really see the effects until reading the rest of the comments here though! Could certainly use a little work to make what's going on a little more readable.

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Wow, this is really challenging! Sometimes a little bit tough to make a decision in such a short time. This often leads to not very wise decisions which make me lose very fast :( But overall a nice game!

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:27pm

I'd like to play it, but I couldn't figure out how to run it.. :^(

nyytroh says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Yes, I beat it! Really good concept for a game made in 48h. It's basically the opposite of Pandemic 2: you take care of the human race.

01rafael says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Well, I'm not sure that I've understand everything. But, game looks so great!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Woooow!!!! Nice! Well done! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]