December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Direction

by smnbackwards - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a penguin on an iceberg. Knock the snowmen off your iceberg by tilting the ice. You can change the tilt by rotating in One-Direction. Also snowballs. Don't fall in the water and watch out for the holes and the wind.

Goal:
Knock the snowmen off without falling off or in the holes, by tilting the iceberg or hitting them with snowballs.

Controls:
Space to rotate the iceberg, Mouse 1 to throw snowballs

First LD, first time using Unity, turned out to be a lot more fun than I expected, even if my game feels slightly underwhelming. Next time I wont try topdown art.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#344Fun3.09
#475Innovation2.95
#512Humor2.21
#570Theme2.73
#616Overall2.86
#628Audio2.21
#677Mood2.50
#713Graphics2.50
#1516Coolness26%

Comments

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:41pm

The way the iceberg rotates is very confusing to the eyes, a smooth transition would've been better. Background music also.
It's a good concept though, and if you can not get confused by the jerky 90 degree rotation its pretty fun c:

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Love the snowballs and sounds :D Also fits the theme really well!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Very nice, got a score of 2200 :P

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:49am

I really like the idea, quite original! I got 1100

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:49am

I agree with Flyinping5, it is a bit jerky.

Blooperly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:59am

Fun little game, and it works well! Good job.

_zulli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Great idea! I would make the rotation softer but the game is fun to play! Great job! :)

If you have time, rate my game too! I would really appreciate it! :D (Mine is about penguins too, but they explode) :P

bsowers says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Good concept. I would've like to see a gradual rotation for the ice instead of 90 degree snap - think it could've made the game more dynamic and less confusing.

eskivor says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:26am

You should move the place of the score, at the bootom left, it's not very visible when we play.

diegomachado says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Very original idea, I really liked it! As some folks already said, the smooth rotation of the iceberg would be more awesome!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Interesting gameplay mechanic, shame there's no audio.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]