December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Space Game

by SerialVelocity - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Space Game (A [___] Game) is more of a proof of concept than a fully fledged game. Taking the "You Only Have One" theme, I decided to create a rogue-like game. I've always wanted to create a bullet-hell shoot-em-up so decided to use this opportunity to work on it.

The title is a play on the space theme of the game and the shoot button (space). Basically, I'm awful at naming games.

The game mode you enter is a simple survival mode, where every second 100 points is added to your score. As the score increases the number of enemies spawning becomes higher and occasionally a large ship with multiple gun batteries will spawn.

This is my first ever entry to Ludum Dare so as a result my time management wasn't great and I didn't have time to add sounds or music - but in the future this can all be added in due course.

You have two different ships to choose from, each with its own special attack. Each ship has a target indicator which will allow the ship to lock its weapon onto enemies which enter the target indicator zone. Pressing space will fire at all locked on targets.

A second special ability is bullet time, where holding shift will slow time down to 25% of normal speed which allows to dodge complex arrangements of bullets, but beware as this only works for a limited time and will need to completely recharge if fully depleted.

Looking at the source code you can see it's pretty sloppy but it works and that's all that matters. :P

Controls:
<wasd> for movement
<space> shoot bullets/special weapon
<shift> bullet time

I hope you enjoy!

------------------------------

Updates:
14:01 16/12/2013 - Fixed a bug where enemies would persist after death.
13:37 02/01/2014 - Fixed the missing bullet bug. Bullet entities were being deleted when they should simply be de-spawned at the end of a game, as they are cached and reused for efficiency.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#120Graphics3.83
#145Fun3.45
#222Overall3.37
#282Mood3.10
#730Innovation2.53
#858Theme2.18

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Love the ship design and their abilities. Got all the way to the boss with a score of 19080! Sadly died to it :P

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:50pm

I love it one of the funniest game's I've played so far! Fantastic work dude!!

David Colson says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Great execution, the graphics are nice and the controls feel right. Also I love bullet time.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:56pm

another opengameart.org user I see. Fun gameplay and the bullet time works well (and is essential for success!).

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:40am

Nice stuff, You had a very intresting game.

PlayHabit says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:15pm

I love bullet time! Simple and fun.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:17pm

ahh...a classic arcade styled shooter. That lock-on part is pretty cool!

X-0r says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Oh yes, locking on enemies to blast them with rayguns =)
Almost beat the final boss, it only had one or maybe two cannons left... I might try is again in a while :)
The shift-key isn't too easy to reach for bullet-time (says the guy, who's game uses shift to activate shields^^) but it's an awesome ability to dodge!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Got to the boss with 39k points, put a good fight up to him, dodging bullets in bullet time, but his armor was too good for mu gunz. I was like the flash of lightning, jumping around in the darkness of the clouds, but the swarm of bullets gave me no way. I was cornered and killed. Overall nice, just wished there were some powerups. And sounds :)

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Good old arcade game. Good job

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Hah, a much more fully featured shooter than mine! The shift control for bullet time took just a bit of getting used to, but once I did it was smooth sailing. Great work!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Good space game :P I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/iZspNc9Kmjk

Dec 26, 2013 @ 12:53am

Thanks a lot everyone for the comments everyone!

01rafael says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:45am

Another invaders type game )

Grafter says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Good fun game! Enjoyed the bullet time!

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:09am

Bug: Once the game resets after you die, bullets no longer shoot from either the enemies or your ship.
I liked the 'lock-on' concept and I think the game would be more fun and unique if you removed the other means of shooting entirely. I don't know how you intended the theme to be interpreted in your game, I take it that it's supposed to be you only get one ship? I liked the attention to detail you put into your graphics. Audio and some vfx would give this game more punch.

Jan 2, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Thanks for the constructive crit and feedback, I've fixed the bug and updated the executable.

Raphy says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:57am

Nice graphics and nice old school shoot-em-up !
The bullet time is a great idea but I think it's kindda too slow ? Don't really know how to put it, but I think it can be exploited in a better way, I had trouble using it properly. (no bugs, I just found it less playable when I used it)

epb9000 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:42am

Only 62560 points. :/ Got to kill the big guy twice in one play-through though. That was pretty awesome. Some sound would be nice, and enemy patterns were a touch repetitive.

Moosefly says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:12am

Audio and a scrolling background would've improved the game a lot, but considering the time limit, it's an impressive package.

The gameplay was pretty solid, but as you must already know, more content would've been great.

The Bullet Time ability didn't really feel right to me either. I'm also accustomed to much smaller hitboxes in my SHMUPS :P.

Good job on your first Ludum Dare project!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]