December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Soul

by edrache - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You will see souls of people that are in clinical death.
They can live again or they can go to heaven or hell.
You will decide, but you can choose only ONE soul.
This is a very short not-game, but still someone wins or loses and not You. Not this time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#46Mood3.78
#49Innovation3.83
#105Theme3.65
#142Graphics3.76
#222Overall3.37
#447Audio2.63
#685Humor1.83
#819Fun2.37

Comments

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:55pm

This is a cute and inspiring game. Congrats!

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:09pm

That's an original idea, the succession of choice. Good job!

Juno Nguyen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:41am

Perhaps I should be locked from playing again once I have made my choice?

Moist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:42am

It's nice to see a LD game which presents the player with a moral dillema. Very original!

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:47am

Neat idea, nice graphics. There's some interesting concepts in this one.

darkblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:48am

The idea is good, the realisation not so much. In the webgl version I had difficulty to read the adjectives, and couldn't read them more than once. Audio is well suited.

alcorrius says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:50am

I really liked it! Good job! Graphics, theme, mood are great. But if you add some beautiful music it would be amazing, I think so))

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:57am

Interesting games... moral dilemma indeed... :)

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:53am

One of the very best ones I've rated here so far. Great atmosphere, awesome graphics and a very interesting premise.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Very Limbo-esque, but with an extra touch of colour! :) Nice idea!

0x0961h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Very... very strong game. Atmosphere is absolutely great.

PaulRdi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Nice Idea! Awsome Graphics! Awsome Sound! Awsome Asthetic!
---> Awsome Game :D

Anton_D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Very original idea! However a little bug in Opera: if you click "decide again" then the game stops working.

Reicher says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Really like the idea, look and feel!
I could only send people to heaven? Heaven have a rapist now=/

edrache says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Thank you so much for your comments. Trust me I wasn't except that kind of feedback :) I started this "game" after realizing that my first concept was too much complicated for 48h jam. You can test it here:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/97775/ludumdare28/old/index.html

I wanted to add music, but I spent about hour on trying to create some and I failed, so I record my voice and used it.
I know that interface is a little crappy, but I had no time to repair it.

ExtreLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:48pm

You're right, it is not the game. But it's a very atmospheric thing! Great graphic design, good sound.

Threef says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:27pm

That's nice, but I would like to see if I've choosen good. ;)

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Wow, this is a very good concept. It looks more like an art installation than a game. I would love to see something like this in a big screen, in a city, where you could just "play" this as you walk past it. Beautiful, too. One of my favorites!

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Was hard to read the traits of the ghosts. I liked the randomization though.

Lustdante says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Very haunting game! LD needs more experiments like this.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Really cool take on the theme - It would be really nice if each person could only play it once.

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Really interesting. It would be cool if we could see what kinds of souls have been sent to heaven or hell by other people.

ChaseC says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Very good job incorporating the theme.

ittlebit says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Original idea, Visually cohesive and elegant play. Nice Work!

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:10pm

I am the decider!

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Yes, once this is done, being able to bring all the results together to see what kind of souls are being sent to where would be cool! Maybe some kind of infographic :)

Anyway, great graphics and mood!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Fun game that somewhat forces you to look at yourself as you choose what should happen to these souls. Short but sweet, good job!

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:58pm

I really like that you have a running tally of everyone's decisions. I'm surprised that the LD community is letting that many people into heaven. ;)

The mood on this is fantastic, the audio and visuals really work incredibly well. Great experimental game.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Cool premise and great graphics! Short, but sweet!

edrache says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Thank you again for your feedback.

I know that more information about sent souls would be great, but I have to say that my programming skills (and lack of time to find this in the internet :)) failed making it happen and this information is not sending to server :(

About result of your choices I am surprised that you prefer to kill soul (yes, sending it to heaven or hell is killing) than send it back to life :)

dementor561 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:05pm

its cool but i cant figure it out

Thein says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:12am

It's a clever idea, and I really liked seeing the global counters. A very short and sweet experience!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:17am

Chilling. I like how none of the souls I encountered were perfectly good or perfectly bad.

bitserum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:33am

Nice entry, good mood. I was having a quote in my head from Dr. Who while setting souls free "EVERYBODY LIVES!" :)

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:23pm

I like this a lot.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Solid graphical style but I would have like to have been able to click the souls again to make sure that I was picking the right one.

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Graphics are nice and the concept could be cool, but I am not sure if I am having any effect or not. You say I can choose only one but I did it twice... bug?

edrache says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:03pm

@TinyMoonStudios: I am sorry, but you have only one chance to know something about soul. There are many many souls waiting for decision, there is no time...

Don't ask me why. I've just made this connection between two worlds. I don't decide how it works...

:)

edrache says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:07pm

@MaTX: you can choose only one soul to take it to heaven, hell or back to life. Then "game" ends. You can play again but it is another game. Maybe I could block playing more than once, maybe it would be better or worse. I made this decision and I can't change it now :)

Ludipe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:25pm

I like this not-game, it's an interesting concept with hard ethical decisions. I'd like to see deeper stats, like how many people picked each person, how many sent him back to life, how many sent them to hell,etc.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Im too nice to send anyone to hell. lol
Goog job, and thanks for the game!

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Interesting concept. The only problem I had with it is that I couldn't read well the souls' descriptions. Good job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:54pm

very moody ..like the art style ..good job :)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:35am

This is a brilliant touching game, I love it!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:57am

Reading the 4-5 characteristics for each soul all at once was hard, combined with the fact that you couldn't see them again. It would've been nice if you could show some different typed out story of each soul after they were sent to heaven/hell, to add to the replay value. But great aesthetics. Enjoyed it.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:41pm

interesting concept. i wonder how people would decide if they didn't see the current statistics first. It would be nice to be able to go back and review a soul more than once. great graphics and audio. nicely done.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:26am

Very good use of the theme. You've got my vote.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:02am

It's an interesting concept. Could be used to study about moral values ​​of the people. Nice graphics!

van noctar says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Innovate! Good job!

Redskizzers says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:54am

Accidentally sent a violent kidnapping murderer to heaven because I thought it said he was kidnapped and murdered. Whoops.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Nice atmosphere, I like the idea, I was really not expecting this. Great work !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]