December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hamlet

by derdragon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Get ready to LAMENT!!! It's Hamlet, like you've never seen him before... at least to the best of my knowledge. I had way too much fun making this and of course didn't get anywhere near finishing the whole play. I spent a lot of the last hour or so just adding a silly ending to it, but I guess it's the most complete actual ENDING I've done in an LD game so far.

The game mechanics are pretty hit-or-miss... You basically have to go to where you're expected, and either reply one way or another, or lament bitterly to yourself in the spotlight.

Everything is controlled via the mouse. Click to move, click and hold on actors to interact with them. Your ultimate goal is to be remembered... not necessarily to perform well... so keep that in mind.

I hope you enjoy it for what it is, even if it's not so much a "game" as a "toy".

Can't speak for the functionality of the web version, but I figured I'd toss it up there.

For those of you that do... thanks for trying it out!

Btw... I'm realizing that this may be a bit too confusing, so here's a general walkthrough (as far as what you're EXPECTED to do):

Scene 1 - Just don't go on stage, you're Hamlet... and you're not in this scene
Scene 2 - When Claudius asks why you're upset... just lament to him, when everyone leaves and you have the spotlight, lament to yourself, and when Horatio asks you to watch out for the ghost, reply with Yea
Scene 3 - Stay off stage.
Scene 4 - Revile the ghost when he asks how you feel, then revile Horatio, then lament once more in the spotlight

How you go about getting more notoriety is up to you :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
Innovation4.44
Graphics4.62
#11Humor4.09
#34Mood3.86
#52Overall3.79
#97Fun3.56
#329Theme3.18

Comments

Jeff Melton says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:52am

This is a great 'play' on the theme. The pixel art is top notch and the animations are great. Thanks for providing the web version!

mortus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:57pm

I couldn't wait to see the game since I've seen your progress screens. And the wait was worth it, it's as good as I hoped it will be!

derdragon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Haha, well, I'm glad you liked it. I'm assuming you played the windows exe? I saw some people play the web version today, and the spotlight ends up opaque, and blocks everything out.

dementor561 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:26pm

i cant win but i love it

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:32pm

This is mental! (in the good way!) :D
(I'm assuming there was no sound - as opposed to an issue on my side?)

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:33pm

I'm still trying to figure out the game, yet I STILL love everything about it. A little more transparency into what the player is supposed to do, and you'll have a winner!

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:33pm

I needed the walkthrough to understand it, which bring less fun obviously. The concept, however is grandiose !

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:34pm

This would be a fantastic game with a bit of development! Lot of promise here.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Incredibly cool & well done. Also, such a nice idea! Can't win but i loved it !

Mirroar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Bravo! This made certainly made me laugh. Very good looking, and very fun. I could imagine myself playing through a much longer game of this type.

lilinx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Spotlight is opaque in both web and exe versions. So I can't go further... In the exe versions I also end up with an empty scene right after the spotlight.
The animation is nice! I'd like to play more of this!

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:44pm

I'm impressed, great great art and animations and the game idea itself is creative as well (albeit very confusing at the beginning, your tips helped). Oh how I lamented...

rnlf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:46pm

OMG, the artwork! This is awesome. Also, without knowing Hamlet, I think you "modernized" the text a bit, in a way that made me actually LOL.

I think I'd kill myself before I could even hope to finish it, but that's most likely just because I don't know Hamlet (yet). I believe, I'll have to check when my local Shakespeare Company performs it.

I struggled a bit with the controls at first, but after working it out, it's fine.

rvaquero82 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:47pm

it's great pixel art :D

nkling says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:50pm

This is a really cool and unique idea. The lines were really funny, and I loved how well the other actors responded to the players actions!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:00pm

I loved every time the director came to CUT.

Brilliant entry. Very original and the art is amazing. My only point against it would be that, without the tips or previous knowledge, it's very easy to get lost. Nonetheless, congratulations for one of the best entries I've played so far :)

Vi-King Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:13pm

"My sorrow can beat up your sorrow."
Oh my God this game is amazing.

Vi-King Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:15pm

"My sorrow can beat up your sorrow."
All of the lines are perfect, and shouting random things from offstage is always funny.
Great pixel art and animations, too.

derdragon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:19am

@DustyStylus Yeah... I actually started on sound for them walking around, but had some awful bug with it repeating, sounded like grinding, and rather than spend a bunch of time fixing it, I just pulled sound out.

@lilinx Sorry to hear the transparency didn't work in the exe either... I was trying to do modulative blending with the spotlight, but ended up with some other hacky solution... which I guess doesn't work too well

@everyoneelse Thank you so much! I got off to a rough start with this, and it seems to have turned out rather well. Happy to have provided some entertainment, however brief :)

grimgraybeard says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:21am

A POX ON THEE..... STAGE NINJAS!!!
This game is so much fun.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Nice job ! .. really liked it !

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Any pot shot at Hamlet is cool especially when they are this silly

CarbonCoder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Awesome art! Really responsive web version!

netguy204 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:16am

Wonderful, absolutely wonderful. Art, animation, mechanics... really loved it.

I wouldn't have stood a chance without your walkthrough but it combined well with the on stage cues that other characters were giving me. I see how this could have stood alone.

At a more meta level: I really like this interaction concept. Really owns the idea that the player is playing the authors story in a way that most games try to hide.

Nezzhil says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:03am

Amazing execution of an amazing idea. Really funny, me and my brother couldn't stop laughting.

Cheers!

Shame that is too short, I want more! :D

Static 64 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Wow! Couldn't play the whole thing on the web, like you said, but Wow! You have to make more! This easily lends itself to expansions/sequels.

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:13am

Very fun game and a really good concept. I would've loved to play more scenes :D

bentog says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Solid entry. Graphics are impressive. The gameplay is very annoying if you don't follow the walkthrough, though.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:01am

That was amazing.

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:24pm

A great idea although a little tedious to keep repeating. The pixel art is fantastic. I loved the "walking" animations! Good job.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:18pm

The idea is so funny. It works well as a toy, but sometimes it is a bit frustrating that it just ends (why not give only bad scores?) and - more bad - starts from all over. Anyway, I really like your entry! I love the walking animation :D

_zulli says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:03am

Amazing graphics. Really really amazing! :D I love this style.
The game is a little confusing but that's ok! Add some sounds and cool voiceovers and clarify what the player has to do and this game will become just awesome.

Pitzik4 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:21am

I don't actually know how Hamlet goes, and I didn't notice the walkthrough, but I actually managed to get through it. Of course, a decent portion of my 25,000 notoriety came from shouting random things when I had a line. The graphics and dialogue are great.

robhor says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:29am

Wow, very interesting concept! :)
The art is really great too!

jprogman says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:00am

I screw up so much. It's very funny! Good work

JoeProgram says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 5:12pm

I would love it if the game started in the dressing room, giving the player time to figure out how to move, move offscreen, and practice lines, and talk to people.

wdebowicz says ...
Jan 11, 2014 @ 10:30pm

This is something I have never play before. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]