December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

MediQuest

by Lolshouse Dev Team - Jam Entry

UPDATE: Windows build has been updated to combat false positives on avast! antivirus.

In MediQuest, you must go on a grand adventure to collect a strong, mystic medicine for your sickly grandmother.

In order to aid you on your quest, your grandmother has given you a resurrection stone and totem. Wherever you place the totem, you will be resurrected there if you perish. However, you only have one totem, so place it carefully as you must also plan for the return trip!

Tools: GIMP, LOVE 0.9.0, sfxr, Tiled

We used primarily art from OpenGameArt, all of which is credited in 'sources.txt' in the source file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#160Theme(Jam)3.13
#184Fun(Jam)3.11
#222Graphics(Jam)3.38
#260Audio(Jam)2.89
#275Overall(Jam)3.08
#280Mood(Jam)2.85
#318Humor(Jam)2.15
#443Innovation(Jam)2.34

Comments

ACE says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:49pm

great loved the art style and theme and the way it felt like an retro 2d game

paulopn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:29am

pretty good! everything works very well, although I can't say I personally liked the "one checkpoint" mechanic much, specially after reaching the "fire" stage... =X
Then again, it IS the theme =P

RhysD says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:29am

Great work :) The controls were pretty responsive and I started using my respawn point further along the levels as I felt more confident about my abilities.

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:34am

"Move right to read controls." Really?

cappelnord says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:45am

I think the "one checkpoint" mechanic is quite annoying in this one. I know that it's the theme but it's a pretty random decision to make, when you don't know how long the game will be. If you've done it once per level then it would be better, I think. You're tempted to restart the game, to progress your checkpoint further and further, but that's not really fun.

The game itself was fun though, controls were decent, art/sfx too.

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:53am

Platforming felt nice! There was no satisfaction in killing enemies though

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:59pm

I liked this use of the theme! Controls felt a bit stiff.

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Very nice art style! I also like the sounds.

I think the theme is not really well done.

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:40pm

I crashed upon jumping on the skeleton in the second level, however, the game is fun, no doubt. I loved the art style and the idea of the 'totem'.

kutullu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Controls feel quite good, graphics and sound are great. I don't really care for the checkpoint mechanic, because you have to know how long the game is to make the placement really meaningful.
That said, I really liked the experience, although I haven't played it to the end. :)

Cheers, Marcus

lapayo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:35pm

That game is great to play. I really like the artstyle, as well as the music.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Nice artworks. nice details. spiders are to fast for me... I'm arachnophobic ^^

bakpakin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:17am

I like the retro art, lots of content for such a short deadline

Radnen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:17am

A fun, well paced platforming game! Loved it.

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:24am

I made it to the ice level before I gave up. I'd like to finish it but man I just can't do it, it took 15 minutes to get to the ice level. I really dislike the one checkpoint mechanic. It would have been really cool per level, but per game just made it really >< Especially when there is so much that insta-gibs you.

Besides that the game was really good and fun, but killing enemies was really difficult without taking damage. I didn't quite understand what was going on there. Anyway, good job!

occash says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:08pm

I can't download it(

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Hi occash. Which version can't you download? What sort of error are you running in to?

sahoskins1 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Massive issues trying to download the Windows version. Avast anti-virus sees it as a threat and destroys it as soon as the zip is extracted.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Nice entry, good job!

murilo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:37am

Nice! Even if the controls weren't too responsive for me. The graphics are really good and so is some music in a latter level. Good job man! The checkpoint thing is a good idea too!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:49am

Thank you for all your compliments and criticism. It means a lot to us! In response to all the false positives on the Windows build, we are uploading a fresh build as we speak.

sahoskins1 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:41am

Glad I checked back to play this. A neat little platformer. After the dev fixed the issue of false positives it ran fine and happy to say no bugs to report.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:03am

Solid platformer!

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:44am

Aww this is real nice!
Looks and feels like an Amiga game.
Brings me back!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:14am

Not bad, the idea with teleporter is interesting. However, each time a skeleton in the castle's beginning kills me, the game freezes.

atombrot says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:01pm

I like the art :)

michail says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:38am

I've also experienced the problem with the game freezing after being hit by the skeleton in the castle. Nice game overall, but the graphic parts could have been put together better - I mean the trees "floating" on the ground or the background forest texture.
The use of theme is good, I liked the totem idea.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]