Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 28

December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lost in Universe - Doubstract - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I worked about 35 hours on it, enjoy :)
(Sorry, but menu screen still not done)

There can be some bugs, i am super sleepy right now.
If you will find any bugs, please write in comments or PM


-Doubstract

View Doubstract's journal. | View all entries by Doubstract

Ratings

Coolness94%
#544Graphics2.84
#734Humor1.68
#765Audio1.40
#792Innovation2.43
#822Mood2.25
#918Fun2.11
#919Overall2.42
#962Theme1.83

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Really confusing. Hard to tell if I wasn't understanding things because of lack of instruction or due to menu issues. Some guidance would be nice because conceptually this looks cool.

NikinCZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:21pm

When I get destroyed on 1st mission (and that happens very often), I need hook for next mission, but I have to wait very long time for money.
PS: No sounds

tommakesgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Getting "Invalid or Corrupt .jar file", so can't play :-(.

Windows 7 64-bit, Java updated appropriately.

Doubstract says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Sorry for that, you can get different mission in other stations

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:26pm

There is a hell of a lot here. Upgrades?! Money!? different fuels. This feels really fleshed out and accomplished. Clearly you weren't messing around.

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:28pm

nice concept, the upgrades a bit expensive tho, as it's almost impossible to find the station without dying 20 times, waiting to buy fuel and stuff.

okmmjyygv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Really nice graphics.

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:35pm

The concept/idea were good, but i couldnt catch the controls very well, kinda hard but i like it!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:39pm

i literally had no idea what i was doing but i liked the gfx :)

Doubstract says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Thanks, i just had no time to explain goal :)

Spit Tex says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Don't really understand what to do, maybe I'm just stupid, also if your going to have mouse wheel as a control please also include another way to control as some of us are unfortunate enough to have a laptop

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:54pm

I don't understand any of it, but I have to admit, there's a lot of content and effort in here. That's probably the greatest pitfall here too.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:55pm

I don't understand how to play..?! Looks very nice, but how can I get new fuel? :|

Doubstract says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:00pm

You can buy fuel in stations

Doubstract says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:01pm

And i just find bug, when you buying fuel, you have to choose normal fuel

Red Mike says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Quite complicated, but fun nonetheless.

gilborn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Liked the physics, always cool when impulse is used in space...

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:42pm

There's so much going on onscreen and it's pretty confusing. Once I figured out the fuel, this Upgrade frame kept popping up and I couldn't figure out why.. Without sounds I also wasn't sure at first how to get Upgrades or what to do.
After getting to know the game it's pretty fun, still really unfinished though. Keep it up!

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Was having trouble understanding what to do. I think there was probably a really cool game to play, but I got stuck on the upgrade buying menu and couldn't figure out how to get rid of it.

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Quite confusing.

Seems like there is a whole lot of stuff in game and very many options. But I couldn't figure out what I actually have to do in the game.

The UI is pretty confusing and unintuitive (information overload and stuff all over the place) and so is whatever your mission is.

But I applaud you for making what seems to be a very big game in this time. Flight physics were solid. Graphics were solid. Loads of content. Just confusing though.

Doccrazy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Very hard and confusing, but nice concept. Some tutorial would be good.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Nice graphics! Must repeat what the others said that controls were a tad hard and information was very limited. Felt that the game had some potential though, a more moody version of Elite? Good luck!

jprogman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:37am

Interesting concept of turning a classic arcade game "Asteroid" and turn it into an adventure. However, it's annoying that I lose health when I'm shopping and even when I'm not doing anything. Does high temperatures make me lose health?

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:23am

Wasn't sure what to do. But it looks cool :)

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:58am

I don't get it either, but good job. I can see there is content. I just can't get it.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Space has never felt so grand.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]