December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape from Aleonia!

by Paradeem Team! - Jam Entry

Welp, time ran out, we only finished the first world. Here's what we finished in those three days. We will definitely be finishing this game outside of the Ludum Dare, though. Thank you for trying out our game. Let us know your final score in the comments!

Welcome to Escape from Aleonia! This is a puzzle platformer that revolves around your character only getting one jump per level! You have crash landed on an alien planet; your ship dismantled, you search the planet for the pieces of your ship, before the Aleons (wild inhabitants of planet Aleonia) can get you! While you search for your ship's parts, you must also search for gas cans to fill up your jetpack. Then you must use your fuel wisely to reach the goal and nab the piece of your rocket in the level!

Controls:
Arrow Keys - Move Left and Right/Up and Down on elevators
Z - Use your jetpack to boost yourself up
X - Shoot your stungun
R - Restart level
alt+enter - Fullscreen

Please leave comments and or feedback! Any bugs you find, let us know! We'd really appreciate it!

-fixed some bugs, graphical issues, and moved all levels into world one 12/16/2013 10:45pm pst
-last update I'll be doing unless people send me in bug reports, changed some animation handling, and fixed a couple of bugs I found 12/17/2013 1:50am pst

Thanks for trying our game!
-Paradeem Team

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Audio(Jam)4.00
#53Overall(Jam)3.76
#61Graphics(Jam)4.24
#72Fun(Jam)3.52
#84Theme(Jam)3.43
#220Mood(Jam)3.00
#277Innovation(Jam)2.81
#1283Coolness40%

Comments

angelk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:16am

Very cute, the graphics are nice and the menu system at the top and the continue screen give the game a more polished feel. Nice job!

strong99 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:30am

The menu system is indeed very nice. Overall good quality :)

cwkx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:33am

Really lovely graphics, audio and gameplay. Great entry! :)

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:48am

Nice job ! And graphics are smooth :) Liked it !

harsanalif says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:30am

Really love the graphics, gameplay, and atmosphere.
The screen a bit small, but the experience will be difference I reckon :D

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:58am

@harsanalif haha sorry! we didn't get enough time to add an options screen, we'll definitely add the ability to double, triple the screen size, and even go fullscreen in the future!

kyyrma says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:23am

A tight and polished entry. Really impressive work guys!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:23am

First up: A+ graphics and music. This game is absolutely charming. Gameplay is solid, and fits well with the theme.

Had a bit of trouble understanding some of the environment mechanics like the springboard after it seemed to be established that I only get a jump after collecting the object.

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:09am

Wonderful! That is so Game Boy. :D Love it hard!

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Very nice "tiny" game! Wouldn't of hurt to scale the movie twice the size for even larger pixel goodness, but looks great. Cute little anims too, nice touch on the yellow donkey-alien frozen animation speeding up as it approaches it's unfrozen state.
Music and SFX very fitting too. Only thing I would of liked an ending screen instead of just cycling back to the first level, but nice little complete game with score / timer /etc.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:13pm

@chamberlainpi strange, we did put in an ending screen. can you not reach it? is anyone else experiencing this problem?

elcow says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:54am

For anyone who wants to increase the screen size, alt+enter works for fullscreen.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:54am

Great graphics! Thats lovely!

Czepta says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Very polished game. Really fun and great graphics!

Joror says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Nice graphics, but a little bit too retro-difficult with just 3 lives. Old-school death choose screen was fine tho. :P

psc1997 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Great job! ;)
I like graphics and sounds !
Gameplay is good too.

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Wowowow I like this game and music and graphics

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:01am

Nice game, though it would have been great if you'd had time to make more levels.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:32am

@SnoringFrog don't worry, we're working on it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]