December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Ludum Dare 28

by Ako - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play in your Browser (HTML5)
A simple little inspirational game, well not a game really, about putting in the effort.

One Control (Click or Touch)
One Level
One Message

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#147Theme3.54
#276Humor2.82
#330Graphics3.25
#362Mood2.95
#458Audio2.61
#841Innovation2.30
#913Overall2.43
#993Fun1.63
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Ako says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 6:44am

I decided to make something personal. Motivation to work on my own projects is a real issue for me. I’m efficient and always deadline oriented when I’m doing projects for (or with) other people, but when it’s just me…distraction and self-doubt creep in. But not this time! It may be a tiny "game", but its my tiny "game", and its DONE!!! Thank you Ludum Dare.

garrick says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:03am

Am I missing something or is it really just the clicking and then it's over?

Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:06am

perhaps not all that fun, but it has a good message.

JoeManaco says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:12am

not really a game. however, it's sweet ;)

RocketDuke says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Nice motivation to do something.

Ako says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:01pm

No Garrick, you aren't missing anything. Its about the effort. I needed motivation to try and I hope this will give it to others. Thanks everyone for making the effort! Finishing is its own reward. ;)

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:17am

*High five* My first ludum dare too. Nice message and visuals.

Mocuto says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19am

Really enjoyed this. As a person who has to balance fun with class work, extra curricular, and professional development, it can be a struggle keeping myself motivated towards making games. I think this game does a great job of reminding me that while it's good to relax and play games, playing alone doesn't really make you GO anywhere.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:20am

Nice! Though maybe after virtual you presses the computer button I should have to continue to mash my mouse button for 18 hours ;)

The only part I found a little confusing was the "One Control, One Level, One Message" screen. At first I thought I was making a choice between these three, or there would be three minigames. Doing it like a movie trailer - with each of these fading in and out one at a time - could have helped me understand this was a presentation of information, ad not something I would be interacting with.

deathray says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:20am

Not much of a game, but the artwork's not bad.

Ako says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:41am

Mocuto - Thanks so much for your kind words. I'm glad you could relate. JoeProgram, thanks for the feedback! I see know how that screen could have seemed like choices. I'll change that to a movie trailer style like you suggested (after the voting). Thanks everyone for the comments!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Congratulations on finishing your tiny game

Kyatric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Congratulations indeed.
Nice art style and nice "motivation" speech.

As you said, the most important is to finish and release something and you did it, all kudos to you !

Amateur Labs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:37pm

That was cute! Congrats.

sekaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Despite it not being a game the message is still completely valid.

zatyka says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:14am

It wasn't much of a game, but it was cool for what is

zatyka says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:16am

Whoops, hit post accidentally. Let's try this again:

It wasn't much of a game, but I don't think that's what you were going for. It's cute for what it is. I enjoyed the art style. Congratulations on participating. I hope you participate again!

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Nice message, though it could've been expanded upon. For the next LD, make something bigger. ;)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:12pm

I understand where you're coming from, but next time imagine that the LD participants are your bill-paying clients (who pay in ratings).

philhassey says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Nice, this made me smile :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]