December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blight

by bsowers - Jam Entry

The Apocalypse has come and the Four Horsemen are doing their thing.

This is a dungeon crawler/hack 'n slash with randomly generated dungeons and a rapidly escalating difficulty curve.

Made for the "You Only Get One" theme: you only get one touch from Death before you die, you only get one weapon at a time, and you only get one minute per floor before Pestilence harms you.

Supports keyboard (direction keys + Space) & XBox controllers (analog stick + A).

Features 4 different weapons & 5 different enemy types.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#119Audio(Jam)3.38
#130Mood(Jam)3.33
#145Overall(Jam)3.38
#153Fun(Jam)3.19
#206Theme(Jam)2.96
#319Graphics(Jam)3.04
#358Humor(Jam)2.03
#366Innovation(Jam)2.61

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:06am

I liked the large number of enemies and weapons

taocayo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:44am

The last level (I'm assuming 5?) is tough. Liked the feel of the controls. The bow may be a bit overpowered in comparison with the other weapons. Nice AI.

blasmena says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:48am

THIS IS VERY GOOD! gameplay is very smooth, sound effects are awesome! very satisfying to kill things. Loved the weapons. Some polished art on top of this code and it would be perfect!

Zekyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:53am

Funny game, it become very hard when you pass certain number of levels and I really like it. Maybe the implementation of the theme hasn't very innovating but the theme wasn't the panacea precisely.

van noctar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:08am

Like sounds and Zelda ambiance. Funny

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:41am

The sound of the sword slashing should be tuned to a lower volume - the higher pitch is slightly painful.

The little guy running around is cute.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:43am

pretty difficult! but i liked it. i liked the variety of weapons

Ryusui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:47am

Very atmospheric. Are the dungeons purely random?

Sakuyan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:47am

Pretty cool gameplay, I think the game could've been better with constant-fire attacking while holding button down. Otherwise, good work.

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:55am

great work on this game, reminded me of that old arcade game Gauntlet, which is a good thing i'd say :)

bsowers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:23am

You guys that like the SFX are crazy. ;-) I made the sword swing sound by rubbing two butter knives together, and the arrow sound by scratching my table.

@taocayo - There is no last level, actually. Game keeps going until you die.
@JaymeeMak - Fair enough.
@Ryusui - Yes, the dungeons are purely random.

Thanks for playing!

seagaia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:35am

good base for a bigger game i think----!

mystakin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:14am

A fun, addicting game. The enemy variety is what really hooks me, and the fact that death is so powerful adds a degree of tension whenever he's close.

LukuluK says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:55pm

The mood of this game is really good, controls are pleasant.
GG for the random generation of the levels, and the monsters behaviour !
I would just have liked a less difficult maze challenge.

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Great work in a short time. Obviously reminds of Spelunky.

At first I thought the dead bodies were somehow where other players snuffed it. That would be cool, though impossible in a procgen dungeon.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:52pm

I really enjoy the atmosphere even though its quite tragic. The fog is neat. I am pretty sure that the sword swing effect is the sound of scissors :D I like how death is always a threat and can't be killed but can be delayed creating a sort of metaphor for going on.

vinull says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:26am

Reminded me of Gauntlet - neat little game. The music is very well done!

ashen says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Very smooth feeling movement and fighting. Music adds greatly to a mournful mood. Nice random level generation, well done!

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Just reached level 5 :)

The mood is incredibly, with both the music and the introduction giving you the creeps. Then the procedural generated levels (or at least random starting positions) add variation to the game, which is something my own lacked.

There are five kinds of enemies and as many weapons (sword, bow, scales, death's scythe... am I missing any? XD) but to be honest, I found most of them frustrating: for example, spamming the bow is awesome, but sadly you can't strafe, so it becomes useless quite fast. The sword doesn't do much damage even though you have to get close. The scythe moves around in a pattern which I found quite unhelpful, and while it's away you lose your only weapon. The scales were my preferred weapon :)

The quantity of enemies is cool, but the game lacks any kind of healing, so it gets rough real quick, and fleeing is sometimes not an option when there's an enemy on the way. So yeah, it's a good game but lacks a bit of QA, which is to be expected of a LD of course :)

Great job!

Snuti says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:13am

Nice game, it became very challenging after a few levels, which made it interesting. Loved the attack animation and the atmospheric music really added that extra touch to the game :)

Lacutis says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Liked the variety of weapons and enemies. The random dungeons was nice but it was easy to get cornered by death.
Nice entry and use of the theme.

Anachron says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Spooky! Nice Gauntlet-style game. Started to get pretty hard around level 4-5 but I never stopped believing. Then I died, but had fun doing so, so good work!

somepx says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:10am

Very good! I'm a killing machine w/ the bow ;)
A bgm would have set the mood and boost the gameplay experience, however, good job!

Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:00am

Nice game with wonderful music!

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:12pm

A very nice fairly-complete-game-for-LD feeling with great AI and good levels. Lots of small stuff like arrows going through walls and things but nothing detracting from the playability of the thing; something I always seem to overlook in my own entries.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Very Gauntlety, with nice twists. The atmosphere could be more sinister, as it is the apocalypse and all, as suggested by the music ;)

anvoz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 4:08pm

The game was really well made. I love the graphics style. Really cool set of weapons and monsters.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Simple, cool little dungeon game :) Well done! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) youtu.be/O9M3TIYW4UU

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]