December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOG1D

by everythingstaken - Jam Entry

You only get one dimension. Use the up and down arrow keys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Theme(Jam)3.67
#89Innovation(Jam)3.40
#281Overall(Jam)3.07
#369Fun(Jam)2.60
#1479Coolness28%

Comments

Bribz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:04am

Very difficult. Hard to see where everything is (HD Monitor).

stvr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:06am

A really great and super-minimalist game. I, unfortunately, could not get past the second (third?) level at all.

lilinx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:17am

I like this one, it's a nice interpretation of the theme, and your levels are well designed, but this is too hard for my eyes, especially on my bright screen. Since we're playing in one dimension have you considered allowing us to play with a 100%-width sprite? (I don't know if it would look).
I sure like the intro as well, when you shrink then expand the line. Less is more.

It reminds me a bit of linescape http://azurenimbus.com/

tchem says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:41am

I loved it!!!!!! Awesome gameplay and idea, unique and original.

acerunox says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Really nice game! It's also very hard.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Whoa! After playing this game, I totally have the ghosted effect on my vision for staring so intently at that white line!

Loved the design challenge, but would have preferred it to be easier to get through. Sounds could also have kept it to the idea while helping communicate more of what's happening for the player.

Rothens says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:38pm

This is too hard for me. But nice one :)

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Nice interpretation of the theme!

kibertoad says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:28am

cool twist, but couldn't you make the line more visible? it get heavy on the eyes.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]