December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Adventures of Yogo

by Lazdo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

//The windows download is a JAR file (No installation required) ~8mb

The adventures of Yogo is a simple, but challenging platformer in which you have to complete the game on one life. Dieing causes the game to reset your progress from the beginning.

As an extra level of difficulty, all levels must be completed within one minute, or you fail.

The game was made in Java, the graphics in Photoshop.
Hope you enjoy :)

/////////////////// CONTROLS \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\
Left and right arrow keys to move
Spacebar to jump
q for melee attack
w for ranged attack
e to glide(slower fall speed)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#245Audio3.00
#302Graphics3.31
#354Overall3.18
#455Fun2.92
#495Mood2.76
#566Humor2.09
#771Theme2.39
#868Innovation2.24

Comments

cudabear says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:06am

Very solid platformer. I enjoyed the fluid control and was able to quickly get antiquated with how to play. I had no idea you could glide on my first run, though.

What really made me mad about it was the fact that the game restarts upon death/running out of time. I didn't manage to beat the third level because of this.

The theme application was a little weak; especially coming off of a ludum dare themed "10 seconds". Still, it is acceptable.

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:20am

Great little game! The jumping mechanic is really smooth and gives you good control. The main character is nicely done and suits the rest of the game. Good music. The timer makes some of the levels hard but not too bad. I like having the melee and arrow attacks.

ekun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:35am

Nice game, solid mechanics.

I feel like the level design couldv'e used a little more work though, some of the jumps were frustrating because of blocks directly over the jump ledge.

Good job!

sknoslo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:52am

The JAR works fine on Linux too, just so you know. One of my biggest pet peeves in platformers is when the character stops moving horizontally while in the air if the keys are let go, but once I got over that, I enjoyed it! The controls, specifically pressing space to jump and e to glide, was kind of weird ergonomically. Good work though!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:57am

Solid platform engine, very nice :)
Level design is a tad weak, but cool nonetheless

Kruithne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:18am

Nice art, nice sound; all together a nice little game. One of the better platformers in LD#28

Garrick says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:23am

Really nice artwork and music!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:46am

Collision boxes are way off, which makes this pretty frustrating to play. Level design is a bit weak too, like others said. Other than that nice job.

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:59am

Platforming is very tight! I also really liked the midi music. The graphics could use some polishing though, and the theme usage, although punishing, is a bit boring.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:10am

Somehow I can't get used to it.. Bounding boxes of objects (maybe just of hero?) are just too big and they prevent smooth moving imho. Maybe adding some speed would make some job too.. But I liked the music :-)

Benjamin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:27am

I was stuck in lvl 2 because of this jump where my head hit a platform. There's a weird bug letting you fire multiple arrows without cooldown and sometime I get stuck on loading black screen of the level 1B When I restart.

For controls you could have get rid of this E key by just letting the player hold jump (spacebar) while jumping to slow down.

I wish I could reach other levels to fight ennemies, dont know why I can't pass this level 1B, maybe I miss something.

SoumyaXeored says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:32am

Great platformer! However, the game crashes if I lose a few times and when I finish a level, the clock still goes on. Great game btw!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:52am

Use of the theme as a punishment without a payoff, reward or sense of accomplishment doesn't feel like a strong tie. The platforming itself is solid, though the game froze at the end of the third level.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Nice controls, and nice plateformer. I enjoyed it well, even if the simple graphics feared me at the beginning :) They're finally easy to watch !

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:21pm

The player movement could be faster, apart from that I enjoyed it!

ZYXer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Nice game with cute graphics. I really like it. The time constraint makes the game nearly unbeatable. You did a great job on the tutorial for the controls: simple and intuitiv.

(FYI the game crashed three times while loading a level)

Broxxar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:14am

This is pretty good, but some things about it I really didn't like. The floating mechanic was just bizarre, and the jump that shows you to press the 'e' key doesn't even require you to use float, so I didn't even figure out at that point that it did anything. Would have been much nicer to make holding space be the float.

The theme being tacked on as "only get one minute" was really weak, honestly it makes the game punishing and you'd have had a better game without it.

Still, controls aside from 'e' were solid, and the art style was light and cartoony so nice job there.

euske says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:43pm

The game was well made, and I liked the last twist. A bit of more original element could greatly improve the experience. The music was a bit loud to me.

MrBlade says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Good game, solid sounds, nice physics, good art. I agree that the level design could use some work. I often didn't know where to go.

Czepta says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Fun game. Character moves a little slow but the design is nice and clean. I like being able to slow down your descent. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]