December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Purpose

by deepnight - Jam Entry

You have only one purpose.
One that implies sacrifices.
One that implies betrayals.

Use ARROWS to move, R to restart level, SPACE to switch character.

------

Unfortunately, I couldn't participate the LD28 48h compo. So I decided to submit a small entry under the jam compo. This game was made in about 7 hours.

Because of the situation, I couldn't record a timelapse this time, sorry about that.

My wife, Marine, encouraged me, she gave me many advices and a lot of kind support. Thank you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#39Mood(Jam)3.80
#42Overall(Jam)3.80
#57Fun(Jam)3.61
#59Graphics(Jam)4.25
#67Innovation(Jam)3.49
#122Theme(Jam)3.27
#255Humor(Jam)2.39
#475Audio(Jam)1.39
#1456Coolness30%

Comments

bsowers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:12am

Really loved this entry. Visuals were beautiful. Gameplay was simple, but there were a lot of challenges and "aha" moments.

Sakuyan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:32am

That's a good chunk of content in just 7 hours, really love the pixel rendering as usual

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:49am

Nice switching mechanic. Reminds me of "Thomas was Alone".

kill0u says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:50am

Yeah t'as réussi à faire quelque chose au final \o/
J'test ça dans la matinée :P

bluemanshoe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:02am

I like the mechanic. Very impressive for only 7 hours. Enjoyed the aesthetic as well.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:30am

Good game, man!
Graphics beauty as usual =)
Gameplay interesting at this time.

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:54am

Impressive game for only 7hrs of work. Would've been great to have some simple background music to really emphasize the mood. Game looked gorgeous though.

ashen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:01am

Really nice graphical style. The tree growing was great. Very playable too with some cleverly designed puzzles. I enjoyed it.

feiss says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:15am

7 hours! amazing as usual. And there are some great ideas in it :) congrats!

nSun says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:10am

Nice game, but sad fate for squares.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Unfinished, but still a very good entry, as always with you.
This entry really deserves a post-compo version. And a little music too, I guess.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Wow, animations are stunning. I crave for some good music to go with the great visuals. Gameplay is simple but effective. My only minor complaint is that the platforming is a little imprecise.

Volute says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:44pm

I love the dark/light contrast on the visuals, really makes the mood :) Very poetic entry.

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Can only imagine what you would of accomplished in a full 48hours... jeez! Great job Deepnight! That pixel shading style always makes your games stand out from the crowd too :)
Fun switching controls, pretty tree-growth animation. It's nice how it illuminates and leaves bursts out of it.

lsdlive says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Beautiful pixel art.

grozamorei says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:22am

best theme interpretation I've seen so far. your art style and graphics engine great as always, but clever solution for the theme is the real gem. 10/10. I wish I had ideas as good.

Lythom says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:19am

I had about 7 hours too to achieve my game, but it's in no way comparable to the quality you have there in term of graphics and gameplay. Great job, thanks for the game =)

Jan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:17am

Very impressive work for only 7 hours and interpretation of the theme is spot-on. Just wow!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:19am

The lack of sound and sort of stiff control system is a problem for me but overall a nice effort. Good job!

veiadoida says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:45pm

impressive use of the theme and such amazing art! only 7 hours? you are my hero.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:55pm

This game is great, next step is the 0h gamejam. Anyway 7h is enough for you, it gives more chance to the others :P I dont want to see how perfect you can make this if we let you enough time to open labchirp or Bfxr

The gameplay is neat and this tree animation is gorgeous it looks like some mix between pixel art animation and motion tweens.
And this "time going seems to pass slowly when no one care about you..." I'm so surprised you took time to design philosphical-artsy stuff like this in just 7h.
Impressive.

Carduus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:07pm

yeah impressive, nothing else to say ;) yeah maybe one day you'll abandon your emboss filter: in my opinion you don't need that anymore to "sign" your creations (maybe am wrong but it's how i see it :)
You have to go deep in narative stuff in your games, you're good at that !

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Visuals were great. Platforming was interesting and it felt pretty polished. Especially for 7 hours!!! That is insane. Good job!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Really impressive! Nice idea and touching mood! Reminds me a bit about "A Company of myself". Good metaphor which fits the mechanic! Congrats! Wish I could play that with sound to complete the feeling!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:15am

Really loved this one, the light effects, the challenge and the mood overall. Best of luck, hope you add more to this! :)

Masadow says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Really impressive what you've did in only 7 hours ! Bravo :O

lubos says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Beautiful art style as always. Impressive for such a short time. One of my favorites.

FrederickK says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Man, absolutely amazing, as usual.
How you can do so much in so little time?
Awesome job!

Fogs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Loved it!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Graphics and style are fantastic as always! i got stuck on the first or second room with 3 guys. Jump felt a little floaty, maybe needs more gravity? Fantastic work for 7 hours... I'm going back to try again. Great job.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Went back and finished it and it's amazing ;) Glad I saw all the levels.

GFM says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:59pm

It's a pity that you couldn't take part of the compo. Even with the reduced time, this game is really well done, fun, and looks gorgeous! I would like to play more of it some day! =D

Also, it kind of reminded me of "Company of myself"...

Hope you have more time next compo. =D

sadiquo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Nice concept, sad that it is no finish :(

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:28pm

A very nice little adventure with a fun mechanic. The jump seemed a bit underpowered. The graphics were awesome.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Shiny. Cool idea. Very nice graphics.

Unept says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Beautiful game. Smart puzzles. Touching idea, giving life to the tree. Glad you were able to get something in for the Jam at least!

Kaslai says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:52pm

This reminded me a bit of seppukuties in the core mechanic, but it was different enough to be immensely enjoyable. The graphics were also very nice.

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:31am

Cool game, the puzzles and text were quite clever. Really impressive for only 7 hours of work.

yosh says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:19am

This is an incredible achievement... 7 hours right? That just blows my mind :)
Even though the concept has nothing particularly new, the story telling was here to raise the bar. Not forgetting the very polished graphics... this style of yours never deceive me!

Too bad it's unfinished... good job!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:25am

Very very nice graphics, and game! I loved the whole concept! Looks very nice, and in 7 hours. Job well done

kutullu says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:29am

Great game, I like the art style. Gameplay reminds me of "Another Perpective" more than a little bit. Nice execution! :)
Cheers, Marcus

cappelnord says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:03am

very nice, awesome visuals und unique game mechanic.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:09am

Great graphics! Really clever game play. Great job!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:48am

One purpose, now that's a very good use of the theme. And the enhanced pixel gfx are really, really good. The mechanic, switching among the..uh..characters..and time passing slowly for the unselected ones is innovative indeed. And dynamic background, with those particles floating around, and the tree- those looked really cool. A very good entry in all ways, just wish there could have been some moody track. Really impressive for a game made in 7 hours.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:01am

Terrific graphics and gameplay. It's really awesome to finish it in such a short time.

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:51am

Nice done with cool graphics and effect. I like the puzzle elements since I am not a big fan of platformers. Good interpretation of the 'only one' theme

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:55am

A nice graphical tone and a quality mood. I can't get past the level with the first three greenies, though. I stack them on top of eachother but still can't make jump past the lava chasm. Especially nice for 7 hr work. Well done!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:22pm

I loved the innovative mechanics and the awesome pixel art in the game. Wished there was more!

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Apart from mentioning the 7 hour miracle (great job), the game looks really good. I liked the narrative, especially the justification for slow-passing time. Wish I could learn about your glow effect and filters from your source code...

brogrammers says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Impressing art, and very nice concept. Sadly you didn't find enough time to finish it :(

rxi says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Lovely, especially considering you managed to pull it off in only 7hours!

I really enjoyed the general aesthetic, the glow and particles looked fantastic and the animation of the tree growing was unexpected and looked amazing.

The gameplay was enjoyable and though a concept I've seen before, it was executed really nicely. The narrative helped to give it some depth and along with the visuals, helped to set a mood.

Though it's a bit of a shame you didn't get a chance to add sound and music, the overall experience was still engaging and enjoyable. Nice work!

drludos says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Woaw, Excellent game, beautiful graphics (5/5 mood!) and very clever gameplay idea - simple to control, hard to solve!
I can't believe you made such a great game in 7h only...

Vous etes vraiment le meilleur! ;)

nzgiije says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Great!!!

Mago says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:47pm

It wasn't much but I love it!

Erkberg says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Really nice visuals and gameplay. Totally reminded me of a certain rectangle called Thomas. Good job, espacially considering the small amount of time.

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Wow. Simply wow. If you did this in 7h, what would this game have become if you had spent 48 or 72 hours on it. AWESOME graphics, unique gameplay, a strong message. Please do finish it!

After rating about 60 games, this one is my new favourite. 5 stars on everything except audio and humor, because it has neither.

I speechless!

rezoner says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Yes

raarlac says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:31am

stunning

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Well done. The collision didn't feel great, but given your shrunken time-frame this is still amazing work. Good graphics, interesting puzzles, nice sentiments. :)

ittlebit says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Very pretty art and graphics. Loved the simple mechanics and the how the puzzle concepts grew from their. Nice ramp up of ideas. Great work!

huhwhozat says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Wow deepnight, you impress me again! And this was only in 7h! Looks like a great start, please to finish!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Great style, and inventive gameplay.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:33am

As usual a lovely entry deepnight. Your usual lovely visuals, and a surprisingly deep mechanic with the slow time.

Very good.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:47am

An amazing game, and the puzzle design is really great. The only issue I've encountered is that controls were a bit stiff.

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:09pm

It's incredible! I loved it. That's graphics is awesome.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:00am

Great job as always!~

Threef says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:50pm

On level when you introduced switching, I was raping my 'friend' from back before I've seen "Press SPACE" text. He was so sad, and I was so... :D

Elforama says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Very good looking and fun game. Reminds me of my own submission a little, but yours is way more polished! Great job.

Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:56am

As you already know, this is adorable. Kudos as always, you never cease to amaze me <3

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Wow.
.
.
I'm impressed.

eskivor says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:58am

It's really funny to see the avatars falling in the lava with a great smile

Jeremias says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:37am

This smile face while dying :D
Impressive, especially the graphics, for 7 hours!

Muciojad says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Great game, is one of best which I could play! Amazing mechanic, amazing graphics, overall amazing game ;)

Managore says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:43pm

The tree sprouting and growing is absolutely gorgeous! Really great work given the time constraint.

aviktorov says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Wow, 7 hours, really? Nice graphics and mechanics, but true nature of this game is the story!

Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:03am

Some of those puzzles were really interesting to tackle. I love games that play with the speed of time. Excellent level of polish here, and I think the mechanic has plenty of possibilities for an extended puzzle platformer.

The tree animation is rill, rill pretty.

-mildmojo

local minimum says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:39am

Superb little puzzle game with a great mood and nice increase of difficulty combined with hints allowing you to understand how to use the mechanics. Got to the last level but didn't finish it. Either it required more timing skills or I didn't understand how I was supposed to complete it. Obvious thing to improve would be to add audio. Maybe some more sadness to the blocks that are not in use or sacrifice themselves. In total a great game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]