December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Jump If You Can

by PolishedPixels - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my First Entry . It is a simple platformer with a twist.

You can only jump once until you get another gold coin.

Used tools:
Eclispe
Java
LWJGL

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#256Fun3.24
#261Theme3.31
#289Overall3.27
#294Innovation3.22
#623Graphics2.69
#689Mood2.48
#750Humor1.60

Comments

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:41am

It was fun pretty fun game, good tight controls.

jayemjee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43am

Great game! You took a very simple idea and made the level designs interesting. I liked the way the levels flowed into each other. I did have a few problems; jumping mechanics were sometimes strange near the corners of blocks, and occasionally, I didn't get my jump restored at the start of a new level, making it impossible for me to continue until I let my self die.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:45am

The design is really cool! :-) And I like the minimalistic style! :D Your pixels are polished indeed, apparently! :D

CogentInvalid says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:47am

The movement was very smooth, which is a good thing given how hard this game is. The resolution was a little too high for the window to fit entirely on my screen, so sometimes I had to guess the location of jump pads at the bottom. Overall, though, it was an enjoyable game.

MrBlade says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:50am

This game reminds me of Super Hexagon. Tight controls, good mechanics. Would have liked some sounds. I feel like it can be a bit unfair when the colour changes as I often missed the power-up and I died unfairly. Anyway, good game.

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:04am

Very cool idea, I enjoyed it while it lasted. Good job!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:05am

Solid controls, nice feel to it :)
Simplistic graphics! Very nice :D

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:56am

I really liked the smooth loading between levels, where the end of one becomes the start of the next. Sometimes doing it did make it harder to read - I couldn't tell which coins I should be going for, but nothing that couldn't be fixed with just a little more time.

Managore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:03am

The last few levels were very well designed! I enjoyed it a lot.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:05am

Nice transition from one level into the next. The gold and orange coins are visually a bit high above the platform, I often thought I have to jump to get them.

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15am

Liked the twist, very nice!

hirsch says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:12pm

A really neat idea, but it would be nice to be able to scale the window as the resolution was too big for my netbook screen (1024x600). :)

lucasncv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Simple and polished, very nice.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:15am

Great controls! Very funny!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:10pm

I like the color schemes and how it switched from scrolling left to right to right to left.

ocmu says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Fun game, the last couple levels were really fun

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:39am

Great take on the theme! Really liked the gameplay.

errorage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:30pm

This is pretty freaking impressive for lwjgl. Good job.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Great concept, tight controls and very interesting mechanic. I got stuck when there are the orange squares because I needed to jump into a red square, losing my jump and getting stuck. Don't know if I'm missing something though.

mmickyman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Good "twist". Fairly polished, well done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]