December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Loose Cannon

by burgerdare - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First Ludum Dare Entry, very happy with how it came out. Please leave any and all feedback you can.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#178Fun3.39
#201Theme3.44
#248Innovation3.28
#282Overall3.28
#324Humor2.67
#384Mood2.93
#537Graphics2.86
#540Audio2.41

Comments

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:13am

Would love to play, but alas I only have a mac...

arkeus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:15am

Neat, though the positioning of the cannons was kind of weird. I was also frustrated by the delay of repositioning the cannon, but I suppose that's all part of the game. :)

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:19am

Started off looking really off-theme, but once the theme finally showed it's face I was very pleasantly surprised.

I told myself I wouldn't give more than 1 star in innovation to anyone who did a one-weapon/one-life/one-bullet game, but this was a VERY creative and well executed take on one-weapon IMO.

Lazdo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:23am

I really liked how you incorporated the theme, really original. The clip at the beginning was also entertaining. However, the game lacked some form of music :( Solid effort nonetheless

MrBlade says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:23am

Nice work! Good graphics. Changing the spot that you set the cannon was confusing. UI was easy to use and well laid out. Keep it up.

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:26am

I like this game. Good job for your first time.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:27am

Good idea ! Didn't see that big bullet coming, now stuck with one cannon.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:53am

Nice way to integrate the tutorial. Gameplay was more diverse than anticipated. Pretty good overall!

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:20am

Really enjoyable and great first entry!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35am

Hahaha, very cool!

GM buddies!

Lustdante says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57am

Totally gives the new meaning to 'loose cannon'. Great!

WebFreak001 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Wonderful! I loved it!

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Nice job. Gameplay is quick and addictive.

Edd Morgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16pm

I liked it - kinda hard to control, but its fun when you get into the rhythm of repositioning the cannons.

mruno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:25pm

It would have been nice to have some music, but other than that, a very nice game. Repositioning of cannons was a bit annoying and the game got very tough towards the end, good work though!

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Fun game. pretty difficult at first until you get the controls down. Really good first time.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:56pm

HS: 5850 ... I went negative a few times XD. Honestly though the mechanic where you have limited resources and have to move them accordingly based off where the threat is coming from is really fun (especially with multi-player). gj! ... I didnt like how I couldnt shoot straight up though. Add a [2] cannon maybe?

the says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Good theme interpretation, nice idea.

Fogs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Very fun game! Congrats!

Waynetron says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:28pm

I think mouse aiming with keyboard movement would have been more fun to control. The controls and the repositioning lag frustrated me more than anything. I guess therein lies the challenge, to implement the theme in a way that opens up new gameplay options and adds to the genre rather than detract.

I did like the variety of enemy types. And the difficulty progression felt pretty good. Although a health bar / way to die would have been nice.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Nice idea! :D
Really funny!

LexGarza says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:02am

Just the controls to move the cannon it would be nice to make them more friendly, nice game though.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:02pm

can't play, mac

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Not bad at all. I enjoyed that once I figured out how to move the cannon. Quite a bit of variety in the enemies.

pjchardt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Really interesting take on this type of game. Really enjoyed the mechanic, although the asymmetrical slots for canon placement seemed awkward since enemies seemed to come from everywhere.

aeveis says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:31am

nice idea! my high score was 39255. was that red bullets or blood coming from the sea creatures? Overall was pretty fun, liked the different rowboats and see creatures trying to kill me.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]