December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Wall of Fingers

by LTPATS - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Outrun a wall of creepy fingers.

Pick up masks to gain abilities: Green allows you to fly, Purple lets you run faster, jump higher, and wall jump.

You have only one life to beat five levels.

You can only pick one mask per level.

Controls:
~arrows or wad keys to move
~N to mute sound
~M to mute music
~P to pause
~~R to restart game
~~Q to quit to menu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#233Fun3.28
#245Audio3.00
#322Mood3.02
#375Humor2.53
#436Graphics3.05
#436Overall3.08
#685Innovation2.61
#788Theme2.36

Comments

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:06am

Really cool! Fun to play, and a lot of polish given the time. Not sure how the theme applies (you only get one mask?), but eh, it was fun!

Tao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:26am

Kept me playing for a good 20 minutes. Would have kept on playing but real life calls.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:45am

Great! Why is there a wall of fingers? :D

eckcz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:46am

It was fun. I loved the wall.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:10am

Fun game, that wall of fingers is kinda creepy though =p Though, while I was having fun, I noticed my fps dropping like crazy as I played, making it very difficult to time the jumps properly. Overall it's a well made game, good job!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:34pm

This 1 life on a stage is brutal dude. And it's kind of a downside of this game, because nobody likes to start from the begining every time....

Otherwise, this is an awesome game. Nice effect when you die/start level.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:54pm

It was a lot of fun! Unfortunately, there were some serious lag and jitter issues that eventually forced me to stop playing.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:28pm

this was fun! I really like the art style and the transitions are awesome!

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Creepy but funny concept. Nice level design! It was good that you introduced features exactly when they were needed (the jumpy things, the masks). The difficulty ramp was also nicely done. I detected a bug: not sure what triggered it but I chose the purple mask (walljump one) in the third level and fell down the level. I could still walk left and right even though my character was underneath the level, and the wall of fingers just passed by.

Zemmi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:43pm

That was sweet, so many things I liked. Character sprite, wicked; audio, twisted (jump sound was the best); and that end of game face will happily haunt my memories.

Although not so keen on the one life to beat the whole game deal, only being able to pick one power-up per level was awesome. I'd really like to see this game with more power-up variety since the Levitation Cat mask was god-king levels of superior.

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Really liked the atmosphere. Had a great nightmarish quality to it that really worked with the graphics and frantic music.

LTPATS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Thanks for all the awesome feedback so far! Sorry about the random lag / weird glitches that seem to be popping up :/. I was hoping lag wouldn't be an issue since it ran around 60fps on my several-year-old compy, but I've been getting comments on lag for a few of my games after I've published them (would the browser effect that at all?). I'm hoping that my performance optimization abilities will get better over time!

Integershift says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:50am

It was fun, but it was pretty hard.

glovecat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:53am

great! I love the character's animation but I almost hate the wall :D going to try again...

mystakin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:27am

Audio helps make this game tense; it really sells the atmosphere. Game was fun, but the one life stipulation is a major hindrance.

Managore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:19am

I realize it was your take on the theme, but starting the game from the very beginning makes it fairly frustrating.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:51am

I like the world, strange and interesting, goes well with the music.

jomomomo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Good balance of difficulty... had a coupe of close calls on the way out!

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Quite fun and kind of creepy (which is a good thing). No lag issues from me

goyal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:34am

Nice man! got to the third level. nice use of powers. I liked the green mask better. well done!

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Creepy in a good way. I saw an ad in the first screen? Strange!

Static 64 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Not bad, but very difficult. It was entertaining though, and frustratingly made want to keep going.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:56pm

The blue teeth that bounce you into the air could be more abundant, but nicely executed and the fingers did their job well. Couldn't make it to the green face. :(

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:40am

Fun game but did I miss something or is the green mask just overall superior to the purple mask?

magicdweedoo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:55am

this is coooL!

yosh says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:01am

This game has the weirdest audio ever... but it actually blends pretty well in this even weirder atmosphere!
The fact we have only one life is probably what justify the theme I guess... it's a bit too bad because the game gets quickly frustrating as soon as you lose at the second level for instance.
One more thing, it wasn't obvious to me how to use the purple mask, maybe some practice level would be nice to get the player started :)

Anyhow, it's a great achievement. As many said, very polished and nice pixel art & visual effects. Good job!

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:36pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A9Qhmj2MefY
My first impressions on the game :)

Several says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:24am

Lovely game title. Good job designing the levels to introduce the new elements (bouncies, each mask, the mask choice) bit by bit.

Lag was an issue, and the green mask seemed to make the game much easier. Having to restart from the beginning is a little tiring--the tutorial bits actually kind of work against you here--but given the five-level length of the game, it's not really so bad. The levels feel sparse. This is perfectly normal for 48 hours, but I would like to see more strange things, as I think that's the game's biggest draw.

netmute says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Fun little unforgivingly hard platformer ;)

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:40am

That was the creepiest game I've ever played. That said, I really liked it. The audio was very befitting, and the transition when you died was great. I also really liked the art.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Unique game! The gameplay, grpahics and music are really original, I had a lot of fun playing it! :D

rnlf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:09am

Like playing on drugs. Creepy as hell, especially with the music.

Oh, second level is too easy, took me only 20 times until I beat it. Pfft. Couldn't beat the third one though.

Leoche says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Fun to play :p

lorniebear says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Great game! But why does he have so many fingers?

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:48pm

This is a very late entry to Ludum Dare 14 - Advancing Wall of Doom. Fun though.

Resni says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Really responded to the music and general aesthetic vibe of it, it's great!

murilo says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Why is there a wall of giant fingers? heheheh nice! Solid entry. But I gave up on the third level since you have to restart from the very beginning when you fail. Nice game overall!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]