December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Soup Tyrant

by braindx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the Soup Tyrant. People come from all over to line up and taste your world famous soup. Your goal is to serve as many customers as possible. Don't let the line get too long! But here's the catch:

YOUR CUSTOMERS ONLY GET ONE BOWL OF SOUP

Everyone knows the rule, but some of your customers are sneaky and will get back on the line instead of leaving after eating. Make sure you don't serve them again!

How to Play:
When a customer approaches he will place his order. Click on the stack of bowls to pick up a bowl, click on the correct vat of soup to fill the bowl, and then click on the customer to give it to him.

If a customer gets back in line, wait until he orders, and then click the "YOU ONLY GET ONE" sign to deal with him appropriately.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#71Theme3.75
#72Humor3.59
#366Overall3.17
#426Mood2.88
#522Innovation2.88
#549Fun2.79
#588Graphics2.75
#600Audio2.30
#998Coolness48%

Comments

Rikkter Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:52am

I really liked this one very good idea and funny. Good job!

jayemjee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:53am

Very clever idea! So hard to keep track when your customers all look the same.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:53am

I really like this! Really funny when you catch someone out. Nicely polished too, Really good job!

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:00am

Probably the best LD28 game I've seen so far. A creative take on the theme -- instead of assuming "you" is the player, "you" is each NPC, resulting in a creative new gameplay mechanic. Instead of the constraint acting upon the player, the player is charged with enacting the constraint.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:05am

Very nice concept! Made me chuckle xD

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53am

Good use of the theme, and funny as well. Despite the repetitive nature, it's pretty fun! Good job!

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Outstanding! Awesome take on the theme. Easy to play, humorous, very fun. Great job.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:20am

Great job!

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Well, I got 63 customers helped before game over, I'm satisfied :). PS. Did you actually work at a soup kitchen before? It's so damn accurate :D, (except for the 1 Ton weight crushing them).

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:01pm

:D that was fun!:)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]