December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Onestrike the assassin

by eerongal - Jam Entry

***********NOTE: HEADPHONES ARE RECOMMENDED.*************

Controls:
WASD - Move

Space/Mouse1 - Open door, assassinate, restart level, next level

Right click - Toggle Sight/Sound mode

Middle click - Teleport




In this game, you must locate and assassinate your target. You only have one chance, and you can only rely on one individual sense at a time, sight or sound. Use sight to avoid guards, and listen for your target (he has a cold, conveniently!). On levels where you get it, you are allowed one teleport action.

Made using a combination of Unity, Gimp, Audacity, and pixie dust.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#68Innovation(Jam)3.48
#192Theme(Jam)3.04
#226Humor(Jam)2.50
#332Audio(Jam)2.64
#360Overall(Jam)2.88
#407Mood(Jam)2.50
#410Fun(Jam)2.48
#492Graphics(Jam)2.20
#965Coolness49%

Comments

incobalt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:56pm

I managed to actually succeed once, but it was really difficult even with headphones. The sound doesn't seem to change position in my ears, just get louder when I'm closer. For example, I was hearing the coughing coming from the left when I was on the left edge and all the people were to the right.

eerongal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:05am

Yeah, unfortunately, i wasn't able to get the positional sound working quite right, and instead it's based on the camera's position. If the guy is on the left, it will always be on the left, for example.

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:15am

Quite hard, but very nice concept. I loved !

Move127 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:15am

Interesting Idea, but I couldn't hear a cough at all. I probably should have been wearing headphones.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:29am

This was intresting it was hard but I finally found him after a while nice game. Assassin's Creed feel.

tchem says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:58am

Interesting idea, nice graphics. Please continue with this game !

ahnt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:00am

Maybe its because I didn't have headphones and was playing on a lap top but everyone i clicked gave me a game over and the sound was a little much

Mechatodzilla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:52am

Nailed it on my first try. The concept and mechanics are cool. Sound was funny but could be a little less cluttered if you end up doing anything more with it. I had fun.

dekart says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Unfortunately, I didn't understand how to play it. Probably a simple tutorial or at least a description would help.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Super cool game! But even with headphones the sound didn't get any louder or farther away or something.. it always came from the left, which really threw me off. But such a good idea, keep it up!

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:30pm

This was really difficult. I only managed to get the right target once by luck.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:22am

Nice game! But its quite hard!

bsowers says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:38am

Nice idea. Even though I never managed to succeed... sound never really changed for me.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:13am

This game is way too hard for me, haha, but it's great, tho'.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:27am

Strega:
I couldn't find the target. There was so much audio noise I couldn't tell anyone apart. Maybe if they only started talking if you moved close enough to a person. Interesting concept though.

(This is a team account)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]