December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The One Fork Restaurant

by drludos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game takes place in a restaurant where many customers are coming to eat, but unfortunately the restaurant has only one fork. So the customers have to share this fork in order to eat their meals, but they aren't really patient...

You move the fork from one customer to another by clicking on them. The patience of each customer (represented by the gauge below them) slowly decreases when they are waiting for the fork. Each customer must eat his whole bowl before running out of patience. Therefore, you are strongly encouraged to swap the fork before each customer finishes his meal, if you want them to stay in your restaurant.

You'll get points each time a customer complete his meal. You are allowed five "unhappy leaving customers" before encountering the game over screen.

Aim for the high-score!

---------------------

Art, code and sfx done by me.
Game created with Flash CS3, without any particular coding framework (old school flash-users, unite!).
Graphics (all vector-based) drawn directly in Flash IDE.
Sounds created with AS3sfxr.

I hope you'll enjoy it!

---------------------
Update 12/26/2013 - Android version released!

As it was suggested by some of you, you can now play the game on Android! The game is a self-signed APK, so you'll need to allow "untrusted sources" on your terminal to install it.

Also, it is made with AIR, so there is two version available:
- A "normal version", that will work everywhere, a 9Mo download.
- A "light version", that requires you to have Adobe AIR already installed on your Android terminal, but it's only a 200ko download.

N.B.: The Android version of the game is still in "beta" stage, for now you have to quit it manually (use the application manager to "kill" it after quitting, else it will still run in background) [UPDATE: bug fixed with the post-compo release (see below)]

---------------------
Update 01/07/2014 - Post-Compo version released!

I've just released An improved post-compo version of the game. It now features music, will save the highscore, you can pause the game, and a lot of polishing has been done.

Also, the Android version now work flawlessly, it will pause itself automatically whenever it loses focus, or quit itself if you switch to another app.

I also want to thank you all for your wonderful ratings and very helpful comments! (and I'm very happy to have reached the top 5 in theme category, I couldn't except that from a first participation!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#4Theme4.33
#95Humor3.44
#120Fun3.51
#159Innovation3.49
#171Overall3.47
#307Mood3.06
#335Graphics3.24
#438Audio2.64

Comments

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Nice and fun game!
Surely I'll never eat in a restaurant where you have to share the fork :P
I think that will fit perfectly as an iphone/android game :P

majorcrampas says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Neat game

Tonasz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:10pm

I totally love the idea since I saw a post about it in your journal! I laught so hard :) These simply artstyle fit the game perfect. The only thing I miss is propably difficult curve. After that thousand-something points I wasn't sure if it's getting more difficult. But till that I got a fun :) Like dsoft20 said it fits a touch screen good.

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Nice, very nice... It's so funny!

grifdail says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Nice realisation ! I like it !

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Fantastic! Having worked a time management game myself, its nice to see the core of the medium so elegantly boiled down to its simplest form. The premise is excellent, and could be easily be extended. Maybe the chef needs to use the fork to cook too, or there's also one spoon and one knife going around.

Nice work!

ZXeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:47pm

One fork? Talk about a sanitation issue! :)

This was a really great game. The challenge was awesome, the pacing was really good, and the art style was very consistent. Excellent work!

xrm0 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:59pm

I like it! Fun and it's nice that the first screen explains how to play.
The only thing I would have changed is the instructions screen, there is too much text on it.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Pretty funny idea, it gets a bit hard with 3 hungry people.

drludos says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Thanks all for playing and for your comments!

@JoeProgram: At first, I had some little variations in mind, such as the fact that some customers would require a clean fork, so you'll have to wash it before sending it to them - sanitation matters after all as ZXeno said ;).

Your comments motivates me to try to extend the game after the compo, and maybe do a mobile version too (I actually tried it on a Flash-capable Android tablet, and you're right, the game is quite a good fit).

Static 64 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:03am

Very fun, balanced, and clever. It implements the theme very well.

Elziniel says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Really nice game, great idea! Bien joué ;)

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Funny idea, the green bar is a little hard to see at times.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Does the word hygiene come to mind...

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Original and very playable with crisp, clean graphics. This would make an excellent phone / tablet game.

FMgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:01pm

I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Interesting but simple concept! I bet that fork is disgusting, though.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:32am

It's a cool inverted wack-a-mole game. Nice simple, but quite fun.

Madball says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:42pm

I played it during compo, and this time it's much more balanced. It feels challenging, but you can come out of any situation. It doesn't have a lot of stuff, but what's done is done excellent. Good job!

finefin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:06pm

hehe nice idea and fluid gameplay. well done!

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Great job! Really awesome use of the theme. Simple concept but it works perfectly! :))

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Ooops. I forgot to submit my ratings at first! :P now its rated :P

adamwfindlay says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Nice take on the concept! Nice and easy to pick up and play but with plenty of fun.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:59am

WOAAAAA this game is so much fun and so creative! perfect entry I loved it :D Got 1000 points *_*

Tim Kaldor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:24am

hilarious and complete, a perfect Ludum Dare entry.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:05am

At first, I thought "What kind of idea is that?", but the game turned out to be quite addictive.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:19pm

So funny game!! Great mechanics and nice game! :D

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:13pm

760 points :) Really fun mechanic and very well done! I enjoyed it a lot! Thanks!

LukuluK says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Really fun to play ! The mood is good, the challenge is interesting and the sound of eating is so cool ! The balance is good, but I was a big master at the first try ^^
Perhaps you could add big eaters or characters who wait less time that the others ! And a funny music too !

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:29am

A very interesting take on the theme. I have to say I really enjoyed it.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:38pm

A pretty cool game. Nice idea.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Fun little mini-game. I'd be so pissed if I had to eat at this place. :)

ehtd says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Very nice concept and theme, a new mechanic could greatly improve the game, since it is very fun at the start, but It becomes somewhat repetitive.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:47am

You got quite a bit of depth from such a simple mechanic. Great Job.

errorage says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Definitely one of the better games I've seen. At first you get the idea that you just have them eat in the order they come in, but soon realize this is not the optimal strategy, in fact it doesn't work well at all. Very clever, and kinda addictive.

jprogman says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:17am

Plays just like a Game & Watch handheld. Very nice work!

michail says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:49pm

What a crazy idea! Pretty cool interpretation of the theme :)

local minimum says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Got to 1270pts and if that's not much I'm gonna blame it on being sick while playing. Anyhow, a really nice game. A good introductory difficulty and progression towards harder customers. I wasn't quite understanding when or why I got new stars, but that doesn't matter much. I'm a bit skeptic about the hygiene of that establishment, but the customers seems happy (Washing the fork could of course be an added complexity for later stages).

drludos says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Thanks to all of you for your feedback!

@localminimum: The actual record for now is 1360 points, so 1270 is a pretty good score! :)

Regarding the new "stars" (lives) you'll get an extra life each time the difficulty level increase in the "latter stages" of the game (e.g. you'll get an extra life after 800 pts, another one after 1200 pts, 1600 pts and 2000 pts)

mmickyman says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Well done, cool idea, captivating simple game eheh !
My personal high score : 1400 points from 71 happy customers.

Kyatric says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Very nice entry.
It's very simple, yet super effective, perfectly in the theme, well done on the audio/graphic level, and damn "hard"/addicting gameplay.

My customers started to have "bigger bowls" apparently (going from 5 forkful to 6/7) quite soon to my taste, I would have liked a bit more progression before it happened (or maybe I started switching fork too soon before they ate it ?, not sure though, I let some customers finish their bowl just to make sure and they were definitely eating for longer than the very first ones).

Nice mood/humor though, even if, as stated in other comments, I wouldn't go to a restaurant with a single fork ^^

Well made and nice to play, all in 48 hours, congratulations !

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Fun game got a score of 1630 ^^

goerp says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Haha the screenshots look like one large diner.
I think this is a good take on the theme. Easy to understand and play.
After playing it for a while I wished you could have something more convenient in stead of a mouse and then I saw there were Android downloads too.
I had a try on my android too. And like other people said: a good game for mobile.

greytram says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Very simple but very addictive game!
Among all the contributions I've seen so far, it's one of the gameplay ideas that fit most with the LD theme!

Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Really great spin on the Diner Dash time-management game type. One of the best uses of theme I've seen in the compo. Great work!

Novodantis says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Hilarious, frustrating and highly playable

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:54am

Nice little game :-) Have you ever heard about dining philosophers problem?

pirate-rob says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:23pm

"Dude, I walked into a restaurant the other day, they only had one fork and served rice, worst date ever."

Nice, very challenging.

jimmypaulin says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Love the jolly graphics and animations. The tutorial screen is excellent and the controls were very easy to pick up. There is a well-judged difficulty ramp and a pleasing dash of strategy to be had! I suppose I would like to see a little more variety in the foodstuffs / customers (like a really fat guy or something?) but this is a really great entry

xhunterko says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:53am

This was great! Though I would not eat at this place. Not at all.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]