December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Disgruntled Employee

by Jmcrafty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey Jammers

I wanted to make a full game for this compo. I managed to get 10 levels and pretty interesting gameplay, so I'm proud of that!

You are Eugene. You are fed up with your dead-end office job and consider taking your miserable life with the gun in your cubicle desk. Suddenly you are interrupted by your boss who informs you that you will be working through the weekend and your birthday. Obviously you decide to save the single bullet for that greedy bastard, as you ascend the corporate prison to your fate.

Only works on PCs so far. Sorry bout that. Enjoy! (For non-Windows users try software called Wine: Thanks to caranha for that tip!)

Z-punch or pick up item
X-switch between gun and hands
Arrow Keys-Movement and aiming
Esc-Quit to title and again to close the game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#90Humor3.48
#113Graphics3.85
#210Mood3.24
#218Audio3.06
#230Overall3.36
#263Theme3.30
#436Fun2.94
#605Innovation2.75

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:04am

Engaging storyline, non-buggy mechanics. Things work well.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:18am

Was funny and fun, I had to force close the exe but other than that good game.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:22am

Well done, it was a good time. Great Job!

deathray says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:30am

I had to force it close also, the game didn't end on me. It's twisted, but works well. No real challenge, just pure mayhem

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:43am

Fun to pick up the items and run around the levels. However when I got to the "boss" I pressed Z to continue the instructions and it used my only bullet :( Awesome graphics and sound!

jmcrafty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:43am

Sorry for the force close all. If you press the escape key a couple times it should close for you.

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:49am

You can certainly feel Eugene pain here :D
The control a bit clunky and I can't tell whether other people will attack or run from you. Otherwise, I love the title screen (with the 'Z to return to work') and the art style.

I got these error on the floor right before the last floor:
ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event
for object obj_guy:

Error in code at line 51:
if point_distance(x,y,instance_nearest(x,y,obj_ammo).x,instance_nearest(x,y,obj_ammo).y) < 16 {
^
at position 59: Unknown variable x

Also, I can't exit the game afterward, maybe related to error above?

jmcrafty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:13am

Thanks for the bug report, that could be was what was causing the game to break. Made a couple tweaks, should be good.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:56am

Quite amusing. :D

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:14am

It would have been nicer if there was a run button since moving was quite slow. Great dialogue system though! Really worked well I thought.

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:36am

excellent!

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:50am

(Played with Wine, worked without a glitch :-))

Hey thanks for the game, I enjoyed it! I liked that you don't really have to kill any of the other workers - they just run away. You beef is only with the boss.

There was one bug of note. The first time I entered the boss room, I switched to the gun. Then the dialog started, and I had to press "Z" to forward the dialog, but it also meant that my gun fired at the end before I was ready :-(

Cheers, and thanks for the game!

jmcrafty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Fixed the early shooting bug for the boss fight, you can beat him up without the gun too! thanks for your patience

sykotomy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:14am

Wow, this was a fun play. I'll probably be playing this some more. The mechanics were flawless. The art was awesome. The fact that you could throw things was unexpected but freaking awesome. Well done!

clearlyspam23 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:46am

I enjoyed this game. The audio was really fitting and well done, and the gameplay was pretty interesting. The only thing that bugged me was that, it seemed like it was impossible to lose before the boss. Overall, good job!

shatley123 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:38am

amazing

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:38am

"HaHa! Capitalism wins again!" Indeed. Cool settings and a solid game.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Sorry, but this game boring as Hell.
But good and fun storyline =)

the says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:19am

It will be great to see his colleagues more aggressive and with implementation of path finding algorithm. Otherwise, graphics and audio are awesome.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:29pm

As an office worker, I know his pain.

Damn but this is good! Great graphics, great audio, and the dialogue is hilarious. Probably one of the most polished entries of this LD. My only nitpick is that the AI of the other office workers is a bit dumb. (Also, it would be great to have even more things to use as impromptu weaponry, but that would just be an additional goody; the game is perfectly good as it stands.)

I haven't beaten it yet, but I'll probably come back to it. Can't let the job creators win.

Articulated says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Very fun game and good use of the theme. The art style is crisp and clean, and the sfx and music fit the game well. It was a good length and did not get dull before it ended, and even managed a nice little story, which given the time constraints is great. Nice job! :D

kibertoad says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:58pm

really nice presentation, great music, but somehow I prefer to kill targets that fight back. also it would look much better in a larger window.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:18am

Loved the mechanic of picking up and throwing objects. I felt kind of weird playing this game due to the theme though. I suppose that's what you expected. Great job!

Kane says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:22am

Excellent and fun little game ! Thanks for the enjoyement :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]