December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Not Alone

by TheOneWhoKnocks - Jam Entry

**RIGHT CLICK THROWS CUBE**

No one talks to you.
All the other humans are assholes that want to shoot you.
The only things you can find are lasers, pools of acid, and the kickass soundtrack by Kubbi.
You are alone.

Except for your cube.
You are not alone.

* * * *

This game was a collaboration between myself and Laurens Weyn(bit.ly/1kQhWVp). We had a lot of fun making the game, and I really hope other's can enjoy playing it. The music is by Kubbi, from his album "Sleet", which kicks ass and can be found here(http://kubbi.bandcamp.com/), which is used with permission.

The download is 19MB, and only works on Windows. Sorry!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#103Theme(Jam)3.33
#109Audio(Jam)3.40
#270Humor(Jam)2.33
#340Fun(Jam)2.67
#349Mood(Jam)2.68
#361Innovation(Jam)2.62
#367Overall(Jam)2.86
#386Graphics(Jam)2.76
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:57am

Really frustrating, I could never seem to place the cube in the right place, or sometimes I couldn't pick him up.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:05am

Could you explain what went wrong, exactly?

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:17am

First pool of acid, I put the cube in, jumped over the acid, then couldn't get the cube out.
I felt like I should be able to throw the cube, but couldn't

RadioLemon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:28am

Tt was nice puzzle platformer with some narrative twist on it. Although it was kind of annoying to grab the cube sometimes. Otherwise it was fun!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:47am

You use right click to throw the cube. I'm sorry that wasn't explained.

glovecat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:07am

The way of picking the cube it's tricky but It's possible to go far. I like this kind of retro games, but you need to improve the gameplay. I like the music.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:33am

How should I improve the gameplay?

seagaia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:28am

a lot of stuff for a jam entry - nice in that regard - music is nice but does not fit the visual aesthetic - perhaps spend more on getting the core mechanic to feel nicer. it was neat to have to jump and grab the cube but it's hard to tell where i can grab it from or where the cube's gonna go or how far etc.

koe415 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Very reminiscent of the Portal's companion cube story line. Good use of the theme, solid controls, and good puzzles.

For whatever reason, picking up the cube, especially while jumping up, seemed off and wasn't really responsive when I needed it to be. Also, I ran into a minor bug where I threw the cube at one of the enemies, causing both the guard and the cube to disappear, forcing a level restart.

A small note: It was confusing for determining whether a button needed to be held down or if it was just a one time hit button. Maybe differentiate whether the button needs to be toggled or if it just needs to be pressed once. Other than these small things, great work!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:57pm

can't play, mac

tobbez says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Sopmetimes you could not pick up the cube. Also, picking up the cube through walls and after jumping fro him seemd to remove some of the puzzles. Nice game overall.

goerp says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Nice story and great music. Very VVVVV.
For me, I found the character and cube hard to control because they would slide so much.
It made me give up sooner than it would have otherwise. Sorry.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:02pm

I liked the game I just felt if you were able to throw the cube a little further and pick it up from further away would have helped.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]