December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

GRAIL

by pLaw - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The classical quest for the holy grail. But this time you only get one button and only one direction to go.

There is no going back. Take your steps wisely.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#14Graphics4.40
#16Theme4.10
#16Overall4.04
#103Fun3.55
#104Mood3.51
#127Innovation3.56
#216Audio3.07
#469Humor2.30

Comments

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:36am

I really like the artstyle and cconcept, but it ends up being a little "trial & error" due to innfrequent checkpoints.

madmaw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51am

I really like this, will be coming back to it

madmaw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02am

It's the dark souls of one touch gaming!

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26am

Art is really nice. good implementation of a single input

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:31am

this is a really great entry! well done on the game play, and the graphics are just really awesome. i love the monochromatic approach, and i love the animation too. well done all around

pLaw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:04am

Seems like my host took down the game due to too high traffic. I'll have to post it somwhere else. There will be an update...

pLaw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29am

Ok, I uploaded the game on Newgrounds as a fallback. Should be fine now.
Thanks for all your feedback. I deeply appreciate it.

ViliX says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:54am

I love the graphic effect!

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57am

Awesome! The art style, animations, gameplay, everything is great. And good implementation of one button controls.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:00am

Nice art work.

Lustdante says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:31am

Dang, there isn't anything this game is missing.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:32am

Great graphics and interesting gameplay, if rather difficult. Excellent implementation of the theme! I can't tell you how unnerving it is to walk towards a pit having to trust that my character will jump for me. Fun stuff!

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:33am

love the look!

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:34am

Really liked the idea. Made it to the second checkpoint!

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:41am

Wow. That's a really impressive volume of work for 48 hours. Nice use of the theme and I LOVE the visuals. Like a modern game boy :)

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Enjoyed it =)
Theme is really respected!

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Excellent palette and gameplay: one of the best games I tried! You should make a mobile version: touch to advance ;)

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Really nice, liking the art style a lot!

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Art is great for this, sounds get a little loud and repetitive, But it helps set the mood somewhat.
I think game mechanics wise, it gets annoying having to restart so far back every time, as it does require trial and error.
But it is a decent game, And honestly a great concept, brings me right back to the old Prince of persia games.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Such an awesome game! reminds me of the oddworld games a good thing), I liked the platforming and timing aspects. Don't get what the others are complaining about the checkpoints, its a short game so if you had checkpoints every screen it would be way too easy. No annoying music, just sound cues which help a lot with the timing of the jumps. The graphics are amazing aswell, very clean and stylized. Probably m favourite game of the competition so fare. Well done!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Really really nice animations. And AMAZING that you added checkpoints. I would have not finished the game if I had to start from scratch every time. Overall a really good game.

Died 25 timtes in the process, though...

Doubstract says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:42pm

one of the bests!

NuSan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Truly excellent, graphics and gameplay remind me of Prince of Persia or Dragon's Lair. Animation is great and i love the simple immerssive sound. I wonder if you can go pass the boulder, because i didnt see how ... Keep the good work

pLaw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:28pm

You can go pass the boulder. You just need to attack the first skeleton right before it turns at the ledge and then jump directly to the second skeleton to stab it from behind. This way you outrun the boulder. But you have to close the first gate in order to be safe while opening the second one.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Firstly, graphics are absolutely gorgeous, love the contrasting colours! Splash screen is especially beautiful. Secondly, the difficulty reminds me of Another World. Thirdly, get use of the theme. Love it A LOT.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Not bad, man. Very interesting one-direction mechanic =)

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:33pm

I've mentioned this in my top 6 games on LD28 so far:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/17/my-top-six-ld28-games-so-far/

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Looks and plays great. Fine use of the theme! It is a little trial and error, but for anyone who's spent hundreds of hours in Sen's Fortress it just feels like home. Great work!

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Nice graphics, gives me a nostalgic retro feeling.

Strangelander says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Very cool.
I fell down the first gap in the horizontal laser/blade room, didn't die, had to refresh page, start from beginning.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Dude, this is amazing. My favorite game so far!

DBRalir says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Really great game. It fits the theme well. Perhaps some branching paths would add some replay value.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Really good game, reminded me of the tv show Knightmare. Would love to see this continued!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Wow this is an amazing take on the theme in its most simplest form you have made something challenging and fun to play. Well done!

NuSan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Ok, i made it to the end, great ending animation by the way. I realy liked the final trap ^^, thank for this game !

murilo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Holy crap, everything is awesome! except for the length which is not your fault :) Took me 30 tries!

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:41pm

The art and animation is fantastic. I found myself enjoying the punishing nature of the game more towards the end once I felt more competent. I died 27 times.

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:01pm

That was brutal but really fun. Played single touch games to death on touch devices but never come across this approach. Great job! Would love to play a longer mobile version of this.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:33pm

The mix of 3D animation and 2D tiles is unexpectedly good. It seems like you designed fluid 2D animations like prince of persia. Even with only one button you suceeded in making fun fighting sequence, the skeleton behaviour is very neat.
Infact the audio too remind me prince of persia with the tac-tac-tac of mechanism :) This is where the nostalgic feeling is coming from...

burgerdare says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:44pm

way too few checkpoints

diegocbarboza says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:14am

Great interpretation of the theme! The gameplay is really interesting. Nice work! I just think you should add a checkpoint in the beginning of every room.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:50am

one of the best LD games I played. super nice graphics. The character walk cycle is well done.

I died 40 times in the process :p

lekochen says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:34am

Very nice one button game!

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Excellent! Probably the best entry I played so far, it reminds me of the old Prince of Persia games, and I'm really glad I actually finished it :) You have a typo right at the end 'timtes' should be 'times', right? I think, under the rules, you are allowed to fix it.

Faust says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Really nice art and concept, excellent hard core action game.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:26pm

I got pretty frustrated with the checkpoints being every few levels, but altogether it's a beautiful game, with great art, audio, gameplay, and concept :D

Czepta says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Really great game and a difficult challenge. The art style is great and the puzzles well crafted.

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Very nicely done art and smooth animation. An incredible amount of work for 48 hours!

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:02pm

This is so awesome, really beautiful art style and colour pallet, I love it when people do 2D games in Unity. Rated highly. :)

Anoarith says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Awesome game ! Very clever level design guy.

ezolotko says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:07am

Cool, but too hard.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Amazing

Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:20pm

one of the best so far. amazing in every way, except maybe a little to much trial & error at some points, especially those that has to do with unforeseeable attacks.

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 1:45am

Very nice! It was challenging, but not to the point of making me want to give up on it.

mmickyman says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:44am

Art style and animations are great.

NightDreamer says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:11pm

It's so nice!!! :)
It reminds me of games on the Amiga. ;)
And it's a lot of fun due to the fact, that there's only one button and no "way back" :D

shard123 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Great concept and awesome execution, animations and sound especially.

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:39am

Wow! These are really nice graphics! Great take on the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]