December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Santa Claws

by skysthelimit - Jam Entry

Every full moon on a christmas eve good ole saint nick becomes.... Santa Claws!

You only get one elf to save Elf Town from the Santa Claws and his evil elves.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#8Graphics(Jam)4.66
#14Overall(Jam)4.03
#18Audio(Jam)3.97
#33Fun(Jam)3.79
#36Mood(Jam)3.82
#78Humor(Jam)3.31
#323Innovation(Jam)2.70
#471Theme(Jam)2.13

Comments

Nukaman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:52am

Nice stuff !! great 3D and all!
Good job, liked it.

ashen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:35am

Good fun running around throwing snowballs at elves. The environment was excellent, looking down on a snow covered town and forests from a mountain is great. I seemed to run for a while without any elves appearing so maybe a clearer route to follow would help. Overall a very good effort, kids would love this game!

cwkx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:12am

This is stunningly beautiful: graphics = extremely talented to do all this in such short time!! As its unity, try to release a webplayer version. Amazing job.

ossah says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:43am

Great graphics and really fun game play. Well polished game! Loved it!
The Santa was well creepy!
Cool sound and music too!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:56am

Fantastic job man... such a beautiful game, very fun to play too. Just fantastic.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Really nice audio, voice acting and environment design. :)

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Freaking fantastic!

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:11pm

The game looks fantastic. I didn't found the game very challenging, but I sure enjoyed the fight with the santa claws and the reloading system. The theme incorporation is not that original though. Job well done!

acronaut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:32pm

love it! beautiful level design, good voice acting for elf. (only seal the out-of-bounds area so players don't fall off the world and it's all good!). Love the detonation of the presents(holiday confetti). Would love to see more levels or different scenarios on where this is going.. Awesome job!

local minimum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Really quite amazing to have put this together on such short time. You really need to put up a web-version though so people will play it. Also, WASD is not very left-handed-on-laptop-friendly. You already have arrows mapped so it would be a small effort to put reload on right control or similar.

Warzone says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:50pm

I love the open-world feal to it!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Loved the Santa present explosions, great graphics, well done. :)

kevinmylo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:09am

Very Cool! 5 In all Categories! We Need To Make More Snowballs!!!!aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah :-P
Finally Caught up to the old man! hehe he got what he deserved! GJ Everyone

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:34am

Wow, for such a short timespan, this is a really good-looking game. It wasn't too clear what the candy-canes did, though (they didn't always boost my health), but apart from that it was pretty fun to play. Consider making a web build in the future too, it's extremely easy with Unity!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:05am

All this in 72 hours? Well I'll be damned! D:

Brilliant!

hadesfury says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:19am

Really beautiful ... Great job

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Nice graphics and gameplay

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Really great scenery.
The controlls are smooth. Music and Soundfx are very nice too.
It's abit difficult , I would have loved to play abit more hide and seek with santa claws, but the other evil elves constantly destroyed me ;)
Very beautiful job, kudos to your team :)

pighead10 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Fantastic game. Great fun and superb graphics and music. Just a shame you didn't pay much attention to the theme.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Probably one of (if not "the") very best games here. Fantastic job.

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Beautiful looking game! Would LOVE full gamepad support!

Hertz says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:53pm

This is a great game. Its is very polished. I like the theme of the game and I like the story of the game. The animations are awesome and the environment is breathe taking. there is no one way to beat the game and that is what makes me want to play it even more. I don't think it is a hard game to beat but it is challenging. The sounds make the game that more fun too.

glennbjr says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:51am

Beautiful looking game. Hard to play on a laptop without a mouse thou. Great job in just a short amount of time.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:56am

HAHAHAH fun, funny and cute little game here xD Great work this was awesome, the game feels smooth and the music was good and happy (: Excellent work guys :D

euske says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:09am

Arrggh, I can't beat the Santa!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]