December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

CROSSBORE

by somepx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CROSSBORE - action game for Ludum Dare 28
Help Paige fight the Pupling, defeat the evil Queenpup!

ARROWS: Move
Space : Shoot (charge) / Kick
You Only Get One Arrow!

Engine: Construct2
Editor: GIMP, Pickle
SFX : Bfxr
Music : Bosca Ceoil

by @i_palmentieri

***///***///***///***
Game is insanely hard: if you find it frustrating, please enjoy this OFF-COMPO version -> www.palmentieri.it/somepx/crosseasy/

It's a special, bugfixed, easier release. Remember, this is totally apart from compo version - please refer to the original version for votes! ;)

I included the second source for educational purposes: see what/how it's changed! XBOX Pad support added.

Let's Play video by @OfficialSW380 [follow him!]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#127Fun3.49
#212Overall3.38
#215Theme3.41
#232Humor2.98
#235Graphics3.49
#271Audio2.95
#347Mood2.98
#632Innovation2.71

Comments

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Best I've played yet :D Tis a shame you can't shoot up and down though.

Managed to get to the boss before being taken out really quickly, will be giving it a few more goes that's fore sure!

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:37am

Thanks! Be careful, Queenpup can be very mean! ;)

Moist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:53am

Oh God, I love everything about this game. It just needs more random special attacks. Quality work, sir!

ApoorvaJ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:56am

Excellent, fluid gameplay. Difficulty ramps up quickly, though.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:08am

Really nicely made. Smooth and fun mechanics. One thing i'd say is that the enemies can be a little hard. Other than that, nice work.

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:18am

Thanks! It's quite hard, that's for sure. You should try some weird techniques (only kicks, pushes...). Try to get to the queen: there's a nice surprise waitin' for ya! ;)

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:25am

Going through the games one by one yours is the best so far overall!

Pretty challenging though.

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:26am

Pretty good! Hard telling when you are getting damage, though? Is that just me?

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:27am

nice work - well done on cross-platform support. i really liked that the audio and music was all there. this game kicked my butt - i couldn't get to the boss, and i really wanted to, and i tried about 10 times before work haha! had to make myself stop...for now.

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:32am

Really nice, maybe the well rounded entry I4ve played so far.

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:41am

Thanks capnramses, don't get yourself fired tho! ;)
Try to get to the boss, push and kick those tiny puplings - you have to kill 100 of 'em!

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:41am

@supremefist - that's no 'damage': one blow and you're dead! Quite hard. I know D:

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:47pm

It's a lot of fun! Sometimes I have a two or more arrows)

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Yeah, that's a bug indeed ;) I'll fix it post-compo

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Really cool!! Sadly though I suck at it :D Loved the art and music/sound. Oddly enough, I had 2 arrows for some reason xD

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:51pm

A kill counter would be a plus.

Beside that, it is a very fun game ! A bit hard but the whole idea and realization is perfect ! Very very strong entry !

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:56pm

I think I may have had more problems with the game than others, going by the comments, It looked a little blurry, which may be due to the web version, and the sound was deafening when I fired the crossbow.
It looks like a neat little game though with consistent design and thematic gameplay.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Good game! Controls could benefit from having WASD as well but otherwise great!

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Thanks @Coblynau - I planned to support Xbox pad 4 Win but (you get it) no time to do it...

gingerBill says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Very good controls and gameplay. Only problem is that the instruction text being white was hard to read on my monitor.

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16pm

@Tsumei - sorry for tech problems: are you using Chrome/Firefox? Thanks everybody for your kind words!

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16pm

@gingerBill thanks for the tip: I'll go for a sprite font next time!

Edd Morgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Pretty hard, but not hard enough to make me give up. Had fun!

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Thanks Edd :D
Did you slain the Queenpup?

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Yo man, what is wrong with you? Those enemies were both CUTE AND CREEPY. It's nice to see that good games like this one can be made in Construct 2!

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Thanks @alvarop, I guess! :D
Yeah, C2 is a great engine - really improved in latest releases!

lubos says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Fun! Although I pretty much suck. Loving the art style.

Lustdante says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:15pm

I applied my standard MMORPG strategy until Queenpup came up behind me while I was picking up the arrow :/

The only flaw for this game is the control. It's certainly playable, but I don't think you have 100% fluid control that just feels right. Other than that it's strong entry!

McFunkypants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Great work! Smooth and exciting!

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Thank you for your comments: I'll release a post-compo version with fixes and gameplay tweaks! A special 'Grazie' to @McFunkypants almighty! ;)

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:41pm

I really like the mechanics and the pixel art, i played it for 30 min straight but sometimes i die some very frustrating deaths.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:54pm

I love it, really cool concept tough I've already found about three games with the only one projectile thing tough yours is the best so far. You really got chances to win!

01010111 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Really tough, I was always being surrounded by zombies no matter how much I spammed the attack button!

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Game got a lot easier when I figured out you could just walk into the enemies to kill them. I'm not sure what the point of the stomp is, but it messed me up several times. Pretty fun and addicting game though. Good job!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:56pm

I appreciate that you can only shoot left and right, that combined with the constant chasing by enemies makes it impossible to constantly be doing damage (you have to make the dangerous trek across the field every once in a while). Love the enemy art, though the coin noise gets a little obnoxious after awhile. Well done.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:37am

This is pretty cool!
wish I had more control over how and when I shoot the arrow, though.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:34am

Nice little game, though a little annoying I couldn't shoot up or down.

somepx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:38am

"Game got a lot easier when I figured out you could just walk into the enemies to kill them" - arrow is a lie! :P

kookoon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Really cool pixel game! Loved the various attacking animations. :D
The game also matches a lot with the theme- Too hard for me though, even though I abused a glitch by spamming spacebar still took me 20ish tries to hit queen with an arrow but died anyway shortly after.

somepx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:17pm

@kookoon thank you for playing! Game is a lot easier actually if you drop the arrow & start kicking and pushing puplings! ;)

d__adee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Fun! It gets harder after a while. But I think I want to use the kick more than the crossbow. :P

Also, you can shoot two arrows? :O

somepx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:18pm

@d___adee err... magical arrow? :P

Jan Marcano says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Awesome! Kinda restricted on shooting directions, but good still. It's really really hard. You should reduce the character hitbox a bit though, sometimes I felt like I could go between two puplings only to die :c

Hope you expand this game post-LD :)

Jan Marcano says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Oh, and she seems to trip on dead bodies. I don't know if that's on purpose

Jan Marcano says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:17pm

HOW THE HELL AM I SUPPOSED TO OUTRUN THE QUEEN?!


Oh, btw, I found the second arrow as well. The glitch happens when you kill a pupling. Two explosions appeared and then there were two corpses with an arrow each.

somepx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:17pm

@Jan_Marcano thanks for playing! I'm making a "CROSSBORE II", totally revamped version with two (different chara) players, Xbox pad control and gameplay tweaks - I'll release it post compo. She stomps on dead puplings, she must have some issues! ;)

Ah - as I always say - the arrow is a lie! :D Kill the queen by pushing puplings towards her! Again, thanks for your interest

Eniko says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:36am

I think I'm very bad at this game. D: I managed to get to the boss once by evading and luring the mobs into clumps, but the boss runs faster than I could move so I just died.

A little less mobs would be good, I think. Otherwise the concept of having to use the same arrow over and over is pretty neat, especially with being able to kick to get along while it's gone. Paige seemed to get stuck on corpses a lot. O_o

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:18am

@Enichan Yeah. She strange :P

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Thanks everybody for playing: if you find the game hard, please try this special off-compo version http://www.palmentieri.it/somepx/crosseasy/

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Nice gameplay but haaaard.

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:59pm

@jdpalmer - hard indeed. You could try the easy version! ;)

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Tough but fun game. The hit boxes felt off with some of my many deaths. Nice work!

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Thanks @ThatGuy! :D

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Nice gameplay, don't worry about difficulty and the comments about it. The games used to be this hard, maybe even harder in the past. Gameplay is very addictive, I played it for 20 minutes straight. Considering how fast it is, this is really nice. Well done!

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Thanks @windwalkerranger, I'm old-school too, games MUST be hard in my opinion! However, I made an easy version, totally indipendent from the OFFICIAL entry, I repeat.

moop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Fun to play and the graphics are nice.

madflame991 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Nice game, I noticed that the "one arrow" concept was quite popular this LD. There is one thing that's bothering me though - I sometimes shoot my arrow and several arrows seem to appear on the ground. When I pick them up, I still can't shoot more than one, so what's up with that?

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:05pm

@madflame991 - that was a bug, sorry! :)
Should be fixed in CROSSEASY, but don't take that into account for jam purposes!!

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Cool game! :) I think that the kick flicking off the whole screen is good but at least on my pc it was not very smooth.
I've liked the graphics and gameplay! Pretty fluid! Nice job :D

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Thanks @_zulli! Glad you liked it

Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:44am

Fun game nice graphics, quite hard. I like the boss.

mortus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Very fun and dynamic game! I don't think it's too hard also, by the way. It's about the right amount of difficulty for me. Wouldn't call it a casual gameplay though.

I tried easy version... Nah, too easy, I'd even say boring. And I wasn't even using the arrow! Couldn't beat the boss without the arrow though. I'm not sure if it's even possible, is it?

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Great entry, man - really enjoyed it. I like tough games, so I didn't bother with the off-compo version ;) Some of the deaths felt a little cheap (hit box size, maybe) but overall, really excellent!

Sertkaya says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:19pm

One of the best games for ludum dare! Btw there is a bug. If you push space button twice for shooting arrow it will produces two arrows. So you can simply clone the arrows.

somepx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:26pm

@Sertkaya yes, that bug was squashed in the 'easy' release. But that doesn't count after all

Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Cute art.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:59am

Really amazing quality in such a short span of time. Great stuff!

somepx says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:35am

Thanks @Venks! I really enjoyed your entry ;)

lilinx says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:57am

very difficult! I enjoyed this

GagaPete says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Hitting the space key over and over again - fells like Paige Norris :D Great game!

somepx says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:09am

ahahah Paige Norris - awesome mate! :'D

kyyrma says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:45am

Enjoyed this one a lot! It's simple yet really elegant, and I love the retro aesthetic and difficulty.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Somehow I've got more than one arrow sometimes :-D Still it doesn't helped me a lot.. :-D But cool entry, maybe just the soudns are too noisy and uncomfortably 'attacking'.. at least for my headphones..

Photon says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:20pm

What are those things, lol?

Not the first person I've seen use the one arrow thing, but this is still pretty creative. Feels like an old arcade game! Good job, even with the difficulty!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Her Kung Fu is strong. Much stronger than that pop gun she starts with.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Like it but i totally disagreed with the constant screen-shaking..

zebi24 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Very fun and very difficult. Graphics and sounds are pretty awesome too. Well done!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Well rounded, but hard indeed.

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:38pm

I like this game! Special and very cool :D

mamoniem says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:35am

Nice game. The sound was little noisy. and the collectables was a bit hidden in the green color. But I was able to get !
What makes me really enjoy, is the camera movement, attacks, and death :D

somepx says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:07am

@mamoniem MANY deaths, I suppose :D Thanks!! Glad you like it

goteambob says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Good game :)

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Absolutely love the animations and enemies, they are superb! Your title fonts are lovely too, and the controls feel really good. Some more sounds would have brought the world to life a bit more I think, also putting a black border around your white text would have helped it stand out imho… It was pretty darn hard though as others have mentioned ;)

dekart says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Very challenging and the dynamics is very good. I like it.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:19am

Beautiful graphics ! I love the pixel art ! The gameplay is interesting, it's a cool game :)

Husky says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:14am

It's cute and fun!
I thought I need more random buff.

zatyka says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Lots of fun. good job. One of the few "only get one <insert weapon here>" games I though used the theme nicely (as opposed to shoe horning it in). Loved the graphics.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Fun game! Much variety.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Striking that neat balance of cute and sinister. Rapid fire double barrel x-box for the mash! Kung-fu is strong.

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:59pm

as declared, it is really hard... wish there was ability to shoot in other directions...

pkenney says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Love the way the kick flings you forward.. I found the kick pretty effective, started throwing my arrow away at the start. But then, I didn't beat it.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:59am

Whoa, awesome game!
Just lacked some vertical attacking, other than that it's perfect xD

somepx says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Thanks @Diptoman, really enjoyed your entry too! ;)

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:42pm

The game works fine, but I can't figure why I'm dying.
It really needs some life/energy visualization, it will definitively improve the gameplay.

GFM says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:20pm

This was really fun! I was able to get to the Queenpup twice... only to be beaten twice. XD
It's not quite as hard to get to her when you figure out how the game works... but defeating her is another story. (shes too fast to apply only the same strategy >_<)

Snuti says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Really nice game, would have been nice to shoot up and down or aim with the mouse but really enjoyed playing it. Nice job :)

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:36pm

well done :)
Really like it. Graphcis, mechanics, all good. Fun to play.

anvoz says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Really nice artwork. It's quite hard but I really enjoyed this.

I didn't know why I died some times. Still haven't found the way to kill the boss yet :)

zeal says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Very cool game, one of this compo's best I've tried so far in my opinion. I don't know if it was due to a bug but I happened to have two arrows that I could shoot and collect from dead bodies. Anyway, great game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]