Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 28

December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only Once - MisoraStudios - Jam Entry

First Ludum Jam entry, spent the last 4 days learning Unity to participate this time.

View MisoraStudios's journal. | View all entries by MisoraStudios

Ratings

Coolness52%
#279Fun(Jam)2.81
#325Humor(Jam)2.13
#355Mood(Jam)2.67
#376Graphics(Jam)2.80
#400Audio(Jam)2.26
#423Overall(Jam)2.70
#524Theme(Jam)1.84
#535Innovation(Jam)1.84

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Completed the game with score 18. Not bad! I think you could have used another platform in the "Please wait..." part, because it feels but nonsensical to just make the player wait for very slow platform.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:31am

Controls were fairly good, which is a good thing for a platformer.

It was odd to have to wait for the platform. It would be nice if it either moved faster, or the camera was pulled back so more of the level is revealed in the frame.

rojo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:41am

Not bad for a first run in with Unity! I liked the graphics, too. As others have said it's not ideal to wait for a slow platform...maybe it would be better to have it start moving after the player steps on it.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:42pm

not bad for a first try !
Does the hero just float or did he have black legs ?
I suggest to avoid putting a same color on your main character and in your background for a good visibility.

vikingpotato says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Level design needs to be more streamlined, a good game nonetheless considering something made in 48 hours.

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Nice game.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:29am

oh well

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:32am

:D good job

Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:42am

Well that was entertaining! :D Good job on your first jam and nice that you train for the game. The game was kind of difficult at the start but the i became a pro xD that was a fun game! Great work :D almost scream at my screen when i almost fall before the flag D: xD

_zulli says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:12am

Good job! :) waiting for the moving platform was a little boring but that's ok :P Mechanics are good and graphics are nice too. Did well for a first try :D


If you have time please rate my game :)

y2bd says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:20am

The main character was cute!

What do you think of Unity after this experience? Plan to use it again for 2d games?

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:30am

only complaint is waiting for the platform. Otherwise, good job!

MisoraStudios says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:33am

@y2bd I haven't familiarized myself with the 2D tools yet for unity 4.3, since I haven't found too many tutorials that deal with the new tools yet. Definitely plan on learning the 2D tools and creating 2D games, but in the long term I want to make 3D games with unity that work with the Oculus Rift.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:43am

I was not sure if the cute guy have leg or not maybe because they are black. The moving platform could be a little faster. There was a nice feeling in your entry I tried it 12-15 times and made it to the end.

zequack says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:57am

I didn't really get the relevance to the theme ?... :/

Anyway I liked the graphics and mood, and the gameplay was responsive :) Congrats on your first LD !

mcapraro says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:09am

Congrats on your first entry (my first time too). keep it up! this is well put together for a first time!

Blooperly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 8:17am

Great platforming physics. A little slow, but good!

aeveis says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:56am

Nice start!

Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Good game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]