December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Handle with care

by Cawrtz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You found a crystal key ! But it doesn't look very resistant... Watch your step :)

Don't give up too quickly, there are quite challenging levels ;)

** [IMPORTANT] **
If you get stuck with the long jumps : you need to release "UP" when you're doing a double jump with SPACE.
I'm very sad that a lot of people seem to give up at that level. 90% of the interest of the game is after that level (mobs & more cool levels)...

You also need to press SPACE to make a high jump, time it at the very end of the jump.

Sorry about that, that was a huge mistake :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#19Theme4.07
#77Overall3.71
#103Fun3.55
#151Innovation3.51
#158Graphics3.71
#264Humor2.88
#295Mood3.08
#427Audio2.66

Comments

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:16pm

I love this game! The concept is really original, the art is simple, but lovely and quite funny, and the levels are soo difficult! oO
The jump is a bit weird sometimes, but it's not that annoying.
Anyway, awesome game! :D

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Really awesome gameplay, definitely an innovative use of a key / item!

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Very nice game! One of the few that really nailed the theme so great job!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Enjoyed this a lot! I think your use of the theme is really excellent, keys are so often seen as throwaway in games, this make it something extremely precious! Very much enjoyed the graphics and animation. I found it hard though, and quite often jumped on landing when I didn't want to - probably just me ;) Thanks!

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:05pm

I quite like it, very difficult. I feel like the jump is a separate action to moving though Because the speed is different, it feels faster and more efficient to jump..
Completely playable of course, but that put my jumps off a few times as I didn't expect it.

Love the graphics, like the theme, But I didn't get any audio, the audio mute button leads me to think there should've been.

multikorv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Nice job!

multikorv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Really enjoyed the gameplay and the level build up. Really great stuff!

grifdail says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Very fun and original, but the game is awefully hard for a noob like me.

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Good game. Very difficult but i like that =)

Korwegian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:08pm

I like it!

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Nice use of the theme and very cute main character. I got stuck on the long jumping section, not entirely sure how the space bar jump action is intended to be used.

Cawrtz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:11pm

I made a mistake with my level design. You need to release "UP" when you're doing a double jump with SPACE.

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Wasn't expecting to get so emotionally attached to a key. :D The jumping mechanic was indeed a bit awkward. But a still a nice game! :)

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:53pm

I like the game! It's a clever idea. I just find the jump very complicated. I can't pass the level with the archers and bombs in which you have to reach a door on the left. There's a jump that is impossible? Anyway, good game :-)

embero says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:05am

Very cool.
Controls are a little glitchy, Space doesn't get triggered when holding 2 Arrow-Keys at the same time so it's really hard to perform a double jump.

bluemanshoe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Awesome art style and mechanics. He's so sad when it breaks :(

mutilator says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Controls took some getting used to but after you got the hang of it it was pretty good

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:28pm

I gave up. I couldn't clear one of the stages. Very hard, but good. Double jump is weird, though.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Very awesome game. Love both the gameplay and the aesthetic. Movement feels very weird though. Very slow. Feels like I am walking through water, but being launched in the air with jump. Also, I keep accidentally doing an extra jump when I land. Should have some timer to stop you from repetitively jumping by holding space.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Funny game with unique idea of handling the key! I otherwise liked it, but how the small dash worked wasn't very clear from start, and the enemies were too unpredictable, making situations like the key flying off your hands the moment you respawn, breaking the key and respawning you right again. Also I think it would have made more sense to set the checkpoints to every door instead of having separate checkpoint somewhere on the map.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:29pm

I hate platformers and I suck at them, but this one kept me interested for a fairly long time.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:13pm

These levels are amazingly difficult. good work

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Like the game, some of the later levels were very difficult. Controls were a bit slippery sometimes it feels like the game have some lag problems.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Love the concept, the jump and the enemies are a bit hard to predict. the bombs go off seemingly randomly. i'll get killed sometimes within a 10th of a second. Nice art, nice feedback on all the attacks and the key breaking, really nice.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Really nice platform puzzler. can get a bit frustrating. but if you see through that, there is a really nice game here :)

bitserum says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Hilarious, clever, good progress curve, substantial... even when it gets too hard (and "a bit" frustrating) it's still great, this is my favorite entry so far.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:39pm

FUCKING ARROWS/5

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:20pm

I loved the concept and the simple graphics, though the sound of glass breaking began to ache after failing a lot ;)

careless says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:57am

Great idea, nice graphics and simple sounds affects. Difficulty should not have gone so hard right away. Level with all the bombs and arrows I got myself and the key to the door with luck more than anything.

Stuck on level in the dark, worked out where all the platforms seem to be but got fed up and left it at that. With some work on level design and improved controls would play this!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Haha that's an interesting concept! :D I am still wondering why they made such a key though! :D

Cawrtz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:27pm

You might have your answer in the post-LD version ;)

ExtreLime says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:52pm

You know, it was really hard to play, but the concept is really great!
Also i loved the graphic design.
Good game :)

sadiquo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Finally I won in this game after lot of try :D Great game and lot of fun.

cesisco says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Really good game all round.Good job!

madflame991 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:15am

The graphics are nice and polished and I like the way you made use of the theme. (like others, I also quit after the long jump level, just because the archer level is a pain, and I didn't want to repeat the long jump one over and over again).

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Good job. Mechanic looking interesting but kinda hard.

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Very fun, a bit difficult but still quite fun.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:57am

Great thinking with the theme! You really do only get one key :( I had a lot of fun playing this game. The level design is plentiful and impeccable. I also made a game involving keys, but it's quite a different concept ;)

Anoarith says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Very nice game. I like the fact that the key is your life : you're not protecting your character but the key. Indeed the double jump is kinda weird but the rest of the game is cool :).

Faust says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Fit the theme really well, nice game.

Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:00am

AWESOME! great pixelart, cool collision, very challenging, maybe too difficult and the jumps is weird at the beggining, but really enjoy it, 10/10!

postmodestie says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Great idea and game, but the controls were intolerable from the beginning, starting with an autojump if you hold up, etc. and why do i have to release up for space etc.?
i imagine it works better with a pad..

psychonull says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:43am

Awesome idea, great graphics (specially particle effects). Nice job.
Better controls would make this game 10/10

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:32am

The big graphic for the key and its particles look really cool. And fun mechanic with the key breaking. The levels were a bit too chaotic for my taste, but I still enjoyed it.

mcapraro says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 7:07am

wow, really really hard game! but nice graphics and overall polish, congrats!

Jan 3, 2014 @ 8:29am

Your game is great, but way too hard! I've hacked my way trough the code :)

anvoz says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:18pm

I really enjoyed this game. Cute graphics and fun gameplay. I love the concept that the character was not be killed by arrows or bombs, he just had to keep the key safe. But the control with Space was really hard to use.

GFM says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Nice game. :)

It was quite fun and challenging. I only have two complaints:
1 - That goddamn "emergency exit"!! I fell on that... >_< And the previous level to that was the hardest! (though it was way easier on the second try)
2 - Bombs! Their explosion made me jump, sometimes making me miss a jump. Also, they seemed to explode randomly... if it would only flash red (for example) before exploding...

All in all, a nice fun game! :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Really great entry.. I gave up because of saving spots are in previous room and I didn't have patience to doing same level again and again to die in another and went to the previous hell one more :) But I really liked this otherwise..

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:46am

It would have been nice if it was more clear that the fireworks level was some sort of bonus level. Until digging through the source code, I assumed I just couldn't find the door there.

Additionally, two levels prior to that (the level with the door on the left where the wall is labled "nope") was impossibly hard. I managed to pass it twice, but I don't feel like I did it correctly. I just jumped around randomly till the key happened to get blown onto the platform, then kept jumping till I too ended up there.

Other than those two levels, the game was good and I liked the idea behind it.

flatgub says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:57am

Great game, made me very angry though ;~;

OtherAlexy says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Very good platformer. Interesting mechanic.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]