December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Weapon of Choice

by Cbeed - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one... weapon.
Go and kill as much creatures as you can.

---------
Problems?
---------
If the jar refuses to run try running the jar from command line with parameters:
java -jar [path to jar] [ResolutionWidth] [ResolutionHeight][fullscreen: true/false]

It may happen that you default resolution gets wrongly detected.
I already included a "run windowed script" for mac/unix users.

-----
Source
-----

Github repo: https://github.com/Cbeed/youonlygetone

----------
"Disclaimers"
----------
Just to make it clear that nobody thinks I developed the whole engine just in 48 hours (in fact I work on it since nearly 2 years):
The "Wurfel Engine" includes the rendering and data management and was used somehow like a library.
So in this LD I made only the game specific things from scratch:
sound, music, weapons&shooting, the spinning wheel and game mechanics. You can see this in my time-lapse video: http://youtu.be/p2mCMhN_zOo

The
- player character
- two explosion assets
- shadow sprite
- and some basic blocks (water, dirt, rock, sand)
were made before LD and they are part of the open source game engine "Wurfel Engine". These totally generic assets were not created particularly for this game / LD.
If this is nevertheless a problem I can replace them by crappy placeholder graphics.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#461Audio2.60
#474Humor2.29
#588Theme2.70
#613Fun2.70
#641Mood2.56
#724Overall2.74
#841Innovation2.30
#1217Coolness44%

Comments

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Nice engine, but actual game is too slow for an action game. I didn't rated graphics though because of you disclaimer.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Cool ! Wow an iso engine, that must be hard to develop in a LD context. Congratulation ! I love the flamethrower :P and the Katana weapon is cool too, great job.

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:39pm

I have to say the rocket launcher was definitely my favorite with being able to blow up the terrain! Great job!

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Well, destructible terrain is certainly awesome^^ Cool little game =)

Cbeed says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06pm

@archaeometrician:
In fact I think 1/3 of the time were spent on the shooting functionality because: complexity = dimensions^2
I'd like to have a punch/sword animation but then I would need 8 sprites for each effect.

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:07am

Seems like the Mac version does not start?

shatley123 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:24am

this was fun

goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:28am

Same here, couldn't run on mac. It say "the application cannot be loaded". I am using OSX Mavericks.

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:35am

i'm not really sure how this related to the theme, but the poop grenades, katanas, and lizards won me over. it was kind of frustrating that there was no way to fend off the lizards once the were on your character because they move the same speed as you.

Enneract says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:43am

I like the mechanic of this game and the destructible terrain was awesome. Although I think the game needs some sort of aiming mechanic though since I got stuck a couple of times with a pile of lizards at my feet and my weapons would only fire off into the distance.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:16am

I enjoyed the concept and the way it was implemented. The way that the weapons were randomised at the beginning of each round felt kind of like a game show.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Haha well... this is an interesting range of weapons! XD

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Cool engine. Visually it Remembers me to Crusader: No Remorse (http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crusader:_No_Remorse). Nice game... Cool to use your own engine to create a with.

_zulli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:21pm

I like it! However, like someone here said the game pace is slow for an action game and the ranged weapons were bad for attacking monsters that were too close.

Great engine and cool destructible terrain!:)
Nice job!

If you have time, rate my game! I would really appreciate it. :)

Super Hamster says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:10am

The game refuses to run for me. Nothing happens when I run the application. :( I ran both windows and the jar. Also, I fixed the link to my game so if you could play it now, that would be great. Thanks! And remind me to come back if you think you know what is wrong.

Cbeed says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:49pm

I uploaded a new unbundeled .jar file so that you can run it at a custom resolution from command line if the game won't launch. It may fix it.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:30pm

A nice start - liked the lottery wheel thing to select a weapon. I didn't yet get to try the weapon pictured in the screenshot, wondering just how one would utilise it. :D

ashen says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:17am

Had fun playing this game. The flamethrower was nice and the destructible terrain from grenade blasts very good. Aiming was a bit tricky when enemies were at your feet. The random weapon selection was nicely done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]